We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best city hotel I've been to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The best city hotel I've been to”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spacious rooms, perfect and uber-stylish classic decor, great food. And of course, very central location. There we minor hickups in service (like forgetting part of an order for in-room dining) but absolutely forgivable, all staff is extremely friendly, attentive and helpful. I would come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the rooms, location and food. We find it very unfortunate that parts of your in-room dining were forgotten and your feedback will definitely help us to keep improving our service. Luckily the friendliness, attentiveness and unparalleled service of our staff helped resolve the problem, we have passed on your compliments.
We truly hope to welcome you back into our hotel again.

Warmest regard,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    94
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
218
691
55
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I am always impressed when luxury chain hotels capture the boutique hotel feel with all of the services and amenities of a five-star property. The Waldorf in Amsterdam does just that. The hotel itself is almost nondescript from the exterior. It is a number of buildings combined into one fabulous hotel. Our room was spacious, well-appointed with an unexpectedly large bathroom. We loved the atmosphere. Service was great, if a little slow. Every staff member was helpful. The location was perfect and walking distance to every attraction / museum.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAG224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your kind review about your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience with us. Creating a lovely atmosphere involves every aspect of the hotel, the interior, the decoration, the location and most of all the staff, therefore this compliment means a lot to us and I have notified all the staff members of your kind words.
We hope to welcome you back into our hotel again. If you should like to make a booking, please reach out to us so we can make your experience even more memorable than the last one!

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam for 2 nights and the experience was great. The property was new and well kept.

We were upgraded to the Canal view room (as HHonors Gold member) and it was great! The room was new, stylish, yet with a hint of its historical root. We had complimentary desserts for both nights (could be part of the HHonors Gold benefit) and complimentary water.

The hotel staff were also very nice and friendly from check-in to check-out. We did not experience any issue during our stay and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The canal view room is very nice. Even though it's facing the street and canal, the room is stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Sir,

We would kindly like to thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed the True Waldorf Experience. We love to welcome our HHonors Gold members and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the upgrade and exclusive amenities that were given.

We hope to welcome you again into our hotel.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a beautiful new hotel only very recently opened and despite staff being on the whole very friendly, the hotel is clearly stiff going through teething issues. Be wary if given a top floor level 3 room as windows are cooked closed all the time due to hotel policy, however the rooms become very warm and uncomfortable. Gardens fall under local licensing issues and no table service is permitted. otherwise very clean and new hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
3 Thank BradwellScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your review about your recent visit, we find it very unfortunate to read that you have not fully enjoyed your stay as much as we would like you to have. Indeed the windows are locked for safety reasons, thanks to your feedback we are now reviewing the process of request to open windows and we will have a better procedure for these requests in place. When it comes to service in our wonderful garden, for now we prefer for guests to enjoy the peaceful bliss of that garden.
We look forward to welcome you back and show how we improved.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 773 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed for 4 days in the King Grand Loft room. Room is decorated very nicely and features all the necessities one could want or need. Spacious and well lit and features an extremely comfy king sized bed.

The common areas of the hotel are also very well done extremely lavish without being overly done. Overall classically contemporary in style, comfortable but discreet and, like the overall palette scheme of the property, neutral.

All the staff are very professional and seem to really enjoy being at work which is a plus for they all seem to go the extra mile to make sure your stay is as nice as possible.

Location wise it is perfect sitting on the Herengracht "The Gentlemen’s Canal" it is just a short 15 minutes’ walk to the Museumsplein.

The real treat of the hotel is its Guerlain spa and accompanying relaxation areas a real bonus after a a long day of work or sightseeing.

Bottom line I am not a real fan of Hilton properties in general but found this to be the exception to the rule... I highly recommend a stay if you can.

Room Tip: Take the time to stroll the gardens they are a real haven of tranquility in a bustling city. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEBESZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you would even recommend it. This truly means a lot to us, I have passed on your warm and kind compliments to our staff. It is the priority of our team to always deliver the True Waldorf Service, and it is always great to receive a compliment like yours.
We truly hope to welcome your back into our hotel again.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We just spend 2 nights in the Waldorf Astoria in Amsterdam and we had a wonderful stay there and the team of the hotel made it possible. Thank you so much! I got contacted in advance to see if I have any special requests for our stay and every request was fulfilled. The hotel is brand new and is installed in various old town houses which are beautifully renovated located at one of the famous canals of the city. I loved the design of the hotel which might be too simple and pure to some guests here, but it is not an old fashioned grand hotel for sure. We stayed in a suite with a great view and beautiful furniture which had a coffee machine, an iPod docking station, 3 TVs, a very confortable bed and a nice welcome donut ;) The preserved low ceiling with wooden elements with the old windows keeps the spirit of the old house alive and makes you feel like you are on holidays and not just in an hotel. The check in to the hotel was warm and efficient and I really felt a warm welcome when Karem showed me around and was available for any needs and worries throughout our stay. When we needed bikes to explore the city, the hotel organized them for us, even though the hotel was out bikes on that day. We really had a great time and wish the hotel more happy customers like us in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomassDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for highlighting your positive experiences of your stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very glad to hear that the hotel was to your liking and that you got to enjoy the historic feel of our hotel, the suite and the anticipated service. We have passed on your compliments to Karem and she was delighted to hear that you have enjoyed her service.
We all hope to welcome you back into our hotel again. Please reach out to us should you be planning you next visit so we can try to make your experience even more memorable.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great place, location and staff. Better than the Andaz staff for sure. Rooms are large, the Dutch front desk staff were very kind. A bit pricey but worth the cash. Will be back here sometime soon.
Hat's off.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joejnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the room, location and service.
We all look forward to welcoming you back for another experience.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,554 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
662 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Property: Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. Choose our Hotel to plan your next social event, featuring events rooms with unique features, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. For all kind of events, weddings, receptions, or special occasions, our dedicated events team will be glad to assist you, to make you day memorable in an exceptional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing