We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in Central Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having travelled to Amsterdam numerous times the city was desperate for a hotel of this quality. Wonderful staff, rooms were everything you would expect, and the food was memorably good. Only sticking point was the trouble we had with out A/C unit, however, they were able to rectify it within 24 hours or so. Staff seemed well trained and on par with any luxury hotel worldwide. Furthermore, the location is top-notch and within a decent walk of just about anything in Amsterdam for touring.

Room Tip: Canal View Room was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank IV12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for writing a review about your recent experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very honoured that an experienced traveller like yourself has enjoyed the hotel to its fullest. We have indeed had some troubles with the air-conditioning, luckily most of the problems have been resolved. Hopefully this has not negatively affected your stay. I have passed on your compliments to our staff members and they are always delighted to hear that their efforts have paid off.
We truly hope to welcome you again into Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Waldorf opened in May of 2014. We visited in July so the hotel was basically brand new. The hotel is well located on one of the quieter sections of the Herengracht canal. It is accessible to museums and restaurants. The hotel is beautiful with a lovely garden at the back. The owners put together six town houses in assembling the hotel. There are some quirks because of the historic nature of the houses. For instance, we had to go up one story to walk across a hallway so that we could descend two three stories to our garden room. But the room was comfortable with a very large bathroom, couch and lots of light. Hard to imagine how the room could have been any better. The staff was very cheerful and eager to assist us. The hotel is pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SLBCLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you have fully enjoyed your stay and the location and that you experienced our True Waldorf Service. Indeed the building is a bit quirky with all the different floors on different levels, but we believe this also gives the hotel its historic charm.
We truly hope to welcome you again.

Warmest Regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is gorgeous, right on the canal. It's new, but decorated in a timeless fashion. The check in staff were delightful! They were able to check us in early due to an early morning international arrival.
We had 3 rooms at this hotel for family. All rooms were very nice, clean, well appointed. The garden facing rooms are very quiet.

The concierge set up a walking tour, a drive to outside the city and a canal cruise. The walking tour with our private guide, Folkert was great! He was so knowledgable. He had a great sense of humor and he spoke perfect English. The driving outside the city was the only thing I regret doing. The places the driver took us were similar to going to a theme park. It was extremely commercial! I could have seen the same thing in Epcot center at Disney world. I asked him of we could skip the commercial spots and go to an authentic Dutch restaurant or something and head back to the city. He spoke no English. We ended up getting dropped off in another commercial spot, at a restaurant that served microwaved food. So my advice for any tours... If you don't speak Dutch ask for a guide that speaks your language.

I had 1 small hiccup with my kids room 125, the phones didn't work. I asked 4 times to have it fixed, and finally an engineer came the morning we were leaving while the kids were sleeping. That won't sway my rating. Just make sure your phones work when you get into the room, if you want to call concierge, the front desk, room service or room to room, it can be a bit annoying.

Other than that, everything was superior quality. The room service was extremely fast, house keeping was extremely responsive.

There was a young doorman, I don't remember his name, but he was very helpful with local restaurant recommendations. So, if the concierge is pre-occupied, just ask the doorman where to go. Most if them are knowledgable of the area!


Thumbs up!


Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank mj79Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the room, location and interior of the hotel. I have passed on your warm words to our front-of-house team and they are always delighted to hear such positive feedback.
We find it very unfortunate to hear that the driving tour was not up to your expectations and we have contacted the agency to see how we can change this to make the experience more memorable in a positive way. Regarding the phones, I have checked with our engineering department and they do apologize for possibly waking up your children. We appreciate your feedback, this helps us to continuously keep improving our service. We are happy to hear that this had not majorly affected your experience.
We truly hope to welcome you and your family into our hotel again.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spacious rooms, perfect and uber-stylish classic decor, great food. And of course, very central location. There we minor hickups in service (like forgetting part of an order for in-room dining) but absolutely forgivable, all staff is extremely friendly, attentive and helpful. I would come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Igor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the rooms, location and food. We find it very unfortunate that parts of your in-room dining were forgotten and your feedback will definitely help us to keep improving our service. Luckily the friendliness, attentiveness and unparalleled service of our staff helped resolve the problem, we have passed on your compliments.
We truly hope to welcome you back into our hotel again.

Warmest regard,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I am always impressed when luxury chain hotels capture the boutique hotel feel with all of the services and amenities of a five-star property. The Waldorf in Amsterdam does just that. The hotel itself is almost nondescript from the exterior. It is a number of buildings combined into one fabulous hotel. Our room was spacious, well-appointed with an unexpectedly large bathroom. We loved the atmosphere. Service was great, if a little slow. Every staff member was helpful. The location was perfect and walking distance to every attraction / museum.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PAG224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your kind review about your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience with us. Creating a lovely atmosphere involves every aspect of the hotel, the interior, the decoration, the location and most of all the staff, therefore this compliment means a lot to us and I have notified all the staff members of your kind words.
We hope to welcome you back into our hotel again. If you should like to make a booking, please reach out to us so we can make your experience even more memorable than the last one!

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam for 2 nights and the experience was great. The property was new and well kept.

We were upgraded to the Canal view room (as HHonors Gold member) and it was great! The room was new, stylish, yet with a hint of its historical root. We had complimentary desserts for both nights (could be part of the HHonors Gold benefit) and complimentary water.

The hotel staff were also very nice and friendly from check-in to check-out. We did not experience any issue during our stay and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The canal view room is very nice. Even though it's facing the street and canal, the room is stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sir,

We would kindly like to thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed the True Waldorf Experience. We love to welcome our HHonors Gold members and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the upgrade and exclusive amenities that were given.

We hope to welcome you again into our hotel.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a beautiful new hotel only very recently opened and despite staff being on the whole very friendly, the hotel is clearly stiff going through teething issues. Be wary if given a top floor level 3 room as windows are cooked closed all the time due to hotel policy, however the rooms become very warm and uncomfortable. Gardens fall under local licensing issues and no table service is permitted. otherwise very clean and new hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
3  Thank BradwellScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your review about your recent visit, we find it very unfortunate to read that you have not fully enjoyed your stay as much as we would like you to have. Indeed the windows are locked for safety reasons, thanks to your feedback we are now reviewing the process of request to open windows and we will have a better procedure for these requests in place. When it comes to service in our wonderful garden, for now we prefer for guests to enjoy the peaceful bliss of that garden.
We look forward to welcome you back and show how we improved.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#6 of 373 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £397 - £916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. Choose our Hotel to plan your next social event, featuring events rooms with unique features, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. For all kind of events, weddings, receptions, or special occasions, our dedicated events team will be glad to assist you, to make you day memorable in an exceptional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing