We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again... Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once again... Fantastic!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently visited the hotel during a short business trip.. Once again I have to say that Waldorf Astoria, has lived to every possible expectation. Service, location, staff, restaurants, rooms... All fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel during your business trip and that we have lived up to your expectations. We hope to welcome you back on a future trip to Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    94
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
218
691
55
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Waldorf Astoria, Amsterdam. It is a beautiful, luxurious hotel with a very friendly, feel good atmosphere. The dinner at the restaurant was delicious. A very beautiful hotel in the middle of Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Solveig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the room, atmopshere and restaurant. At Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam we always strive to deliver memorable experiences and we are happy to hear that in your case we have succeeded. We hope to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

POSITIVES
Common areas / Room / Spa - Extremely well furnished and designed. Liberal use of marble and natural stone gives a great luxury feel to the hotel. The room (for a suite) was on the small side but again the quality of the fittings and furnishings were extremely good. The Spa is beautifully designed and the staff were very helpful and pleasant, we didn’t use the pool but it looked great. Nice quiet outdoor space with garden and seating areas
Breakfast – Excellent, very good quality buffet
Concierge – Superb, Patrick was very pleasant, professional and helpful in arranging a dinner cruise for us
NEGATIVES
Reception staff attitude / diligence
Check in - On arrival we were politely shown to a desk at reception and offered cool towels. After a few minutes of tapping away on her computer the lady at reception informed me in a strangely loud (almost shouted) voice that I would have to settle the full cost of the room immediately. I politely asked if I could settle the bill at the end of the stay and was brusquely refused (I was keen to settle the bill subtly as the weekend was a treat for my girlfriend and I preferred that she didn’t know the cost), the only explanation given was that I had made the reservation through booking.com (I am still confused as to why this should preclude me from settling the bill at check out?). What followed was a humiliating few minutes in which my bemused fellow guests were given little option but to politely attempt to avert their attention elsewhere as firstly the cost of the room was shouted out for the whole reception area to hear and then the card I had provided was declared unacceptable (a standard Visa) and a demand for €400 in cash was made to cover any additional charges. Whilst inconvenient and unnecessary, this wasn’t a great problem in itself but the aggressive and condescending manner in which it was demanded was completely unacceptable and would be more appropriately employed at a debt collection agency than a five star hotel. By the time I had found a card that was acceptable, paid the entire bill, handed over four hundred euros in cash and walked sheepishly past the crowded foyer area (which had temporarily become the viewing area for our humiliation) I was beyond being impressed by the hotel itself (which as mentioned above, is of a very high standard indeed)
Check out - I approached check out foolishly believing that the reception experience couldn’t get any worse only to find that the hotel believed that my €400 deposit for additional charges minus the €270 we had spent on dinner meant that I owed them an additional €130. After some debate the receptionist conceded that in fact it was quite the opposite and agreed to return the €130 which we had not spent. We then asked for an airport transfer to be booked later in the afternoon which was agreed, we later returned to the hotel at the agreed pick up time to find that no taxi had been booked! Fortunately we were able to get a local one within twenty minutes and we weren’t too late getting to the airport but had this not been the case the oversight could have caused us real problems had we missed our flight.

Conclusion – A beautiful hotel aesthetically but the experience with the reception has convinced me not to return. Personally I would recommend the Grand which is an equally impressive looking hotel but in contrast to the Waldorf Astoria, they seem to be really pleased to see me when I come to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria during your recent visit to Amsterdam and for submitting a review regarding your stay.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our facilities like our Guerlain Spa and Librije’s Zusje restaurant. We are also glad that our Concierge staff met your expectations and organized your visit to your satisfaction.

It is with great regret that we read about your impression of the arrival and departure process, unfortunately this type of booking has special conditions that require full prepayment prior to arrival. In your case the prepayment unfortunately did not go through due to the fact that the credit cards were declined which normally cancels the reservation. As a courtesy we don’t cancel these reservations and I apologize you felt uncomfortable while the team was trying to explain and resolve the matter for you.

We will definitely share your experience with our teams and make sure we use the feedback to develop and improve each and every day.

Thank you and we sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam and have you experience the True Waldorf Service.

Warmest regards,

Robert Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have no other word than WOW. Its for me one of the best hotels in this world. Awesome location, perfect rooms, best hotel team I have ever seen. The breakfast was very healthy and awesome. The concierge team have awesome tips for restaurants and made the proper reservations. So at all I am more than happy with this hotel. If you come and visit amsterdam stay here. Even for a Waldorf the quality is much higher than expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulAmsterdam575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for sharing your review about your stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear you fantastic feedback, we will share your compliments with our concierges and the rest of the teams, it puts a smile on all of our faces. We are very honoured that you rate our team as the best hotel team you have ever seen, this is a great compliment to receive after all the hard work that is being put in. We truly hope to welcome you back at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, please reach out to us if you choose do so.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This beautiful hotel really made our vacation. The hotel is brand new and the staff are great. The rooms are very large, elegant and contemporary with nice touches like fresh flowers and beautiful vases. The hotel had a great spa and indoor pool area that included a sauna and steam room. We really enjoyed the location as well as it's just far enough away from the busy touristy areas but close enough to walk to everything. I would easily choose this destination again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hornchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of staying at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very delighted to hear that you have had a memorable experience with us and that you appreciate the fresh flowers with the spa facilities as well. Your warm words about our staff are shared with the team and they are always glad to hear that their hard work is being appreciated. We truly hope to welcome you again at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location and views with room balcony . Excellent room and guest services. Fantastic food and choice. Recommend to everyone. Great local knowledge from all staff . Facilities are first class with very high standards with what you expect from world class Waldorf chain

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for writing a review about your recent experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are honoured and delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much. The fact that you would reccomend our hotel to everyone is the biggest compliment we can recieve. We truly hope to welcome you again into Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Everything about this hotel was exceptionally memorable. The staff helped us book numerous restaurant reservations which were all perfect dining experiences. The rooms were big, elegant and modern with great views of the Herengracht canal. Definitely make a reservation to dine at the hotel's Librije Zusje- it was one of the best dining experiences I've had. The location of this hotel is also excellent...only a few steps away from the Rembrendt square. Overall- an exceptional stay!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris5588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that your stay has been memorable, since this is what we strive for with all of our guests. Your warm words have been shared with our team and they are delighted to hear that they have created an unique dining experience for you. We truly hope to welcome you again into our hotel. If would like to make a reservation please contact us so we can make your stay even more memorable.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,554 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Property: Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. Choose our Hotel to plan your next social event, featuring events rooms with unique features, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. For all kind of events, weddings, receptions, or special occasions, our dedicated events team will be glad to assist you, to make you day memorable in an exceptional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing