We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little hotel! pleasant staff!”
Review of Sarphati Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sarphati Hotel
Ranked #362 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 27 April 2006

I dont agree with the other reviews, for a two star hotel it was perfectly fine. the staff were all friendly and helpful and gave us lots of info on the city i.e things to see and do, how to get around etc. the rooms were clean, the view was fine, and the area was really nice. although it was more of a tram ride to get to the centre rather than a walk, it is in a lovely area which gives you a real sense of how the locals live. For breakfast we were given a huge basket of different kinds of bread/rolls etc and lots of different things to put on them. There was also orange juice, tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc. plenty of hot water and fresh towels everyday.We had no problems with this hotel, nothing to complain about. i thnk the reviews given so far have been unfair, and i think this hotel is fine for a two star. we had a lovely time all round.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kwitwicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2005

My wife and I booked a double room for 4 days based on the web pages and description. This hotel is definitively not to the standar of 2 stars. The room was not clean, the shower not working. All the noises pass from room to room se we were woken up by neighbors going to the bathrooms etc...

We were asked to pay all 4 nights immediately upon arrival.

The first morning, we asked to check out at 9h30 because we wanted to leave. We were told that the policy was no cancellation no refund. I argued and complained but only the last night was reimbursed. We paid 416 euros and got back 85. The manager would not talk to me and the guy in charge was mean.

This is the typical place you book on the internet and find yourself tied to a "contract" never signed.

Please go somewhere else; there are so many better places!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tgalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Eugene, Oregon
18
Reviewed 7 September 2005

We refused to stay despite their policy of charging for one night's stay -- in our case $237.79. The place is a dump, perhaps acceptable to someone with a backpack, but for a family with suitcases the lack of an elevator and the steep winding staircase up several stories was unacceptable. The wallpaper in the room was ripped off and hanging down. The room was totally permeated with cigarette smoke. The proprietor gave us the finger. This is the kind of place that creates problems for people making reservations on the internet. The designation of this place as two stars is absolutely false. This place is of similar quality to an old, old motel on a back road in the US that would cost $17.95 per night. The photographs and advertising for this hotel are absolutely misleading. We walked down the street a short distance to the Hotel Aalborg and received fine accommodations. We also stayed in the fine Hotel Bellvue in Amsterdam. The Hotel Albert is a burn and a ripoff.

Stayed: August 2005
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Rome
110
Reviewed 24 August 2005

We checked in (we had four rooms 10 pax), this was the worst two star hotel i've ever seen!!! the rooms were so dirty, dust everywhere, old newspapers and tins behind the beds, window could not be opened because it was broken. staff could not have been ruder.... breakfast almost none... as we decided to search another hotel the staff just said no.. and wanted the amount of the entire stay (which is not legal at all, they can charge only the first night) finally we staid our 5 nights paing way too much...for our disgusting rooms and bathrooms and i would never go again. worst accomodation ever... DON'T GO if have the chance to go somewhere else (suggestion by a hotelier)

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
N Ireland
115
Reviewed 8 April 2005

Room was not ready when we were checking in. The view was atrocious. No remote control. Breakfast or lack of breakfast was rediculous. (Ham and cheese Bap ****.) Hotel staff were very unhelpful. Beds were extremely uncomfortable. Tried to check out as soon as we arrived. Ask to see room before you hand over any money. Used condoms lying in the rear of building. Avoid at all costs.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#259 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#169 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,109 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#306 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 373 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#269 of 373 in Amsterdam
782 reviews
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#128 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarphati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarphati Hotel

Address: Sarphatipark 58, 1073 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Albert)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £16 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sarphati Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Sarphati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarphati Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing