We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inside a brothel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yab Yum Unlocked

Yab Yum Unlocked
Ranked #164 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: VISITING YAB YUM POSSIBLE AGAIN! The world famous and former brothel Yab Yum opens its doors to a wider audience. The well-known 17th-century building with the green lantern on the 'Singel' in Amsterdam has been transformed into a fascinating concept: YAB YUM Unlocked. Recently, the genuine YAB YUM feeling is brought back to life. YAB YUM Unlocked is a wonderful exhibition and a 'Real Life Club Experience' at the same time. YAB YUM Unlocked takes you back to the years during which YAB YUM was famous all over the world. How it all came about, who visited and why was the club so popular? You'll visit the luxurious bar and famous 'caviar room', you'll see how founder Theo Heuft ever got the idea and how the club became one of the biggest status symbols for straight arrows and hoodlums alike. It also takes you behind the scenes of this well-organized company, a booming enterprise with an annual turnover of millions.
Ashford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inside a brothel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This has just been converted into a museum, but if u prefer not to read a lot and just to look around this is really different. Looks exactly as it was as a working brothel only 6 years ago. New attraction and we there on our own and had a personal tour with someone who used to work there (man!)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AshfordSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    6
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“this is worth a see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

pricey at 15 euros, but our group of 8 had the tour to ourselves, so he took time to explain everything in great detail, added a few funny stories, and told us many times that he just couldn't name drop, the celebrities and famous men he personally knew had been there, he worked there when it was open, a creepy introduction, of a mannequin with a projected face talking!! this was good, but was it good because we were on a personalised tour? I don't think there was lifts, so people with walking problems may have to find out before they go, as a lot of stairs to climb

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank spirited74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYUnlocked, Public Relations Manager at Yab Yum Unlocked, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us.
Thanks for your response and we hope to see you and your friends again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wish I could of gone here when open”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

After reading reviews of Yab Yum was desperate to go to see this intriguing place and so glad I did.

Just a warning some of the maps lead you to the back entrance but just go round the front on the canal and you can't miss the green light.

Whilst most of the bedrooms are the same and there are only a few other rooms to look at what you do see is opulent and just imagining what deals went on over the champaign and caviar makes me wish I could step back and have experienced the feel of the place when it was open. The staff are very friendly and are obviously passionate about the place and was happy to answer any questions you had.

I think it is slightly expensive but was more than happy to pay it the once to say I had been there and am wearing my Yab Yum band with pride.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYUnlocked, Public Relations Manager at Yab Yum Unlocked, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us.
Thanks for your response and we hope to see you and your friends again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good to learn the history, but a bit boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

A small museum that we almost walked past by. Yab Yum is a 5-storey high class gentleman's place, and in it it presents to you exactly those 5 storeys as is, with a guide who introduces you to the route within the building. On each floor, there is a TV recording in both Dutch and English explaining the history of Yub Yum.

A tour of the place probably takes no more than 20 minutes. But for the entrance fee, one probably tries to stay longer and try to study as many details as possible.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Faintingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting discovery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We read about Yab Yum on the tours guide and thought it was interesting to go and see it. It turned out to be a great experience and an opening to a world not many know about from the inside but have heard of.

The staff is very friendly and are ready to answer any questions.

Whether you know about yab yum or want to I recommend it! I enjoyed it quite well. Great experience!!

Helpful?
2 Thank MJEste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYUnlocked, Public Relations Manager at Yab Yum Unlocked, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us.
Thanks for your response and we hope to see you and your friends again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yab Yum Unlocked also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Yab Yum Unlocked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing