We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yab Yum Unlocked

Yab Yum Unlocked
Ranked #162 of 482 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: VISITING YAB YUM POSSIBLE AGAIN! The world famous and former brothel Yab Yum opens its doors to a wider audience. The well-known 17th-century building with the green lantern on the 'Singel' in Amsterdam has been transformed into a fascinating concept: YAB YUM Unlocked. Recently, the genuine YAB YUM feeling is brought back to life. YAB YUM Unlocked is a wonderful exhibition and a 'Real Life Club Experience' at the same time. YAB YUM Unlocked takes you back to the years during which YAB YUM was famous all over the world. How it all came about, who visited and why was the club so popular? You'll visit the luxurious bar and famous 'caviar room', you'll see how founder Theo Heuft ever got the idea and how the club became one of the biggest status symbols for straight arrows and hoodlums alike. It also takes you behind the scenes of this well-organized company, a booming enterprise with an annual turnover of millions.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Well, fellow Trip Advisors I can only say Go!!! Forget your inhibitions about 'sex workers' Get a whole new insight into the finer side of working girls in this amazing gentlemens club. Beautiful rooms, decor and opulence. The history is fascinating. Loved it and the guides are lovely and informative.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jillcornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYUnlocked, Public Relations Manager at Yab Yum Unlocked, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for your review! Good to hear that you had a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    6
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a unique place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Never been in such a beautiful Baroque building.
Beautiful chandeliers, paintings and gold leaf ceilings.
In the museum, I got a video / audio presentation on the history of the famous gentleman's club Yab Yum.

Luckily no long lines, pleasant staff and clean toilets!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYUnlocked, Public Relations Manager at Yab Yum Unlocked, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us.
Thanks for your response and we hope to see you and your friends in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Brothel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Such a brilliant place to go, Was amazed to see what this place was like and the interesting facts we found out.
Worth visiting!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jess_6933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYUnlocked, Public Relations Manager at Yab Yum Unlocked, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us.
Thanks for your response and we hope to see you and your friends in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inside a brothel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This has just been converted into a museum, but if u prefer not to read a lot and just to look around this is really different. Looks exactly as it was as a working brothel only 6 years ago. New attraction and we there on our own and had a personal tour with someone who used to work there (man!)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AshfordSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“this is worth a see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

pricey at 15 euros, but our group of 8 had the tour to ourselves, so he took time to explain everything in great detail, added a few funny stories, and told us many times that he just couldn't name drop, the celebrities and famous men he personally knew had been there, he worked there when it was open, a creepy introduction, of a mannequin with a projected face talking!! this was good, but was it good because we were on a personalised tour? I don't think there was lifts, so people with walking problems may have to find out before they go, as a lot of stairs to climb

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank spirited74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYUnlocked, Public Relations Manager at Yab Yum Unlocked, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us.
Thanks for your response and we hope to see you and your friends again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yab Yum Unlocked also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Yab Yum Unlocked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing