We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it - Yab Yum, June 2014”
Review of Yab Yum Unlocked

Yab Yum Unlocked
Ranked #189 of 536 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: VISITING YAB YUM POSSIBLE AGAIN! The world famous and former brothel Yab Yum opens its doors to a wider audience. The well-known 17th-century building with the green lantern on the 'Singel' in Amsterdam has been transformed into a fascinating concept: YAB YUM Unlocked. Recently, the genuine YAB YUM feeling is brought back to life. YAB YUM Unlocked is a wonderful exhibition and a 'Real Life Club Experience' at the same time. YAB YUM Unlocked takes you back to the years during which YAB YUM was famous all over the world. How it all came about, who visited and why was the club so popular? You'll visit the luxurious bar and famous 'caviar room', you'll see how founder Theo Heuft ever got the idea and how the club became one of the biggest status symbols for straight arrows and hoodlums alike. It also takes you behind the scenes of this well-organized company, a booming enterprise with an annual turnover of millions.
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Yab Yum was well worth the visit, the interior is insane! Such an interesting visit, learnt so much about the brothel and opened our eyes big time. The decor and design of the place was simply incredible and to think it only closed down in 2008! It was nice that we could just help ourselves to look around and it was nice to be able to talk to a guide at the end and ask a few questions that we were sure about. 100% worth visiting!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Bianca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited Yab Yum Unlocked as a last minute thing to fill our final day in Amsterdam and we were so glad we had as it turned out to be the highlight of our trip! The building interior itself is worth paying to see...so beautiful and elegant; almost reminiscent of a suave 1920's movie. Our guide (wish I could remember his name but he was a former manager) was so informative and you could tell that he would have been very professional in his former role at Yab Yum, as he was during our tour. If you are able to put your judgements aside then you really can marvel at this whole different world that used to exist behind the Yab Yum doors...

2  Thank cubs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYUnlocked, Public Relations Manager at Yab Yum Unlocked, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for your review. We're glad that you had a good time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Cheapest brothel you will ever enter. Very informative displays at every floor of the building regarding the activities of the establishment. They were happy to answer all of our questions at the end of the self tour. One of the best attractions in Amsterdam that we visited. Highly recommend it, better than the erotic museum and red light secrets.

1  Thank wayneandbethannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYUnlocked, Public Relations Manager at Yab Yum Unlocked, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for the product reviews. The price is cheap but we try to keep the high standard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Overall not a lot to see and interact with, would have been good to hear some of the stories of the goings on from when it was open, because i'm sure there were many happenings to be had. there wasn't a lot of information about the girls or who went there, what the prostitutes mostly wore, or what they had to look like before working there. There could have been so much more information to make the general experience a lot more enjoyable. Alot of the information received was very repetitive. would have been nice to be guided round by a person also!.

Thank TweedleDum1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYUnlocked, Public Relations Manager at Yab Yum Unlocked, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We're sorry that you had a negative experience in our museum.
If you want a guide with with stories from the past please come and visit us in the weekends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend visiting Yab Yum to get an exclusive experience into the world of a high class brothel.

We we lucky enough to have a tour round with the manager who used to run Yab Yum and therefore had so much fascinating information to tell.

The place is superb and remains just as it was when it was an exclusive gentleman's club.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and said it was the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam.

1  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYUnlocked, Public Relations Manager at Yab Yum Unlocked, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for your review.

Indeed in most of the weekends the former manager is giving free guided tours.
A little extra for the experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yab Yum Unlocked also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Yab Yum Unlocked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing