We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!!”
Review of That Dam Guide

That Dam Guide
Ranked #3 of 438 Tours in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small group size tours. City, Red Light District, Tulips, Windmill, Cheese & Countryside Day Tours in English. Small groups of 10 people max make for the best experience of Amsterdam. We love this city and can't get enough of it and it's inspiring history, quirky facts, hidden places & feisty inhabitants. Come along on a tour and give us the chance to make Amsterdam as special for you too!
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having done both the Red Light District tour and the City Tour we cannot recommend Mark highly enough. He's very personable and knowledgeable and only too happy to help with anything else one may want to know - like other things to see and do, places to eat, drink etc. We had a very slow group but he was unfailingly pleasant and polite and generously gave an extra hour of his time to fit it all in which we really did appreciate. Fantastic tours with a wonderful guide - he's damn good!

1  Thank gokyo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at That Dam Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi Great to hear that you enjoyed the tours with me and many thanks for taking time to leave feedback here. I love my job, it is also my hobby so I never try and rush through a tour if it needs extra time. If people are interested, I am always happy to chat more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"small group"
in 185 reviews
"city tour"
in 168 reviews
"great tour"
in 159 reviews
"the red light district"
in 301 reviews
"mark's tour"
in 55 reviews
"walking tour with mark"
in 21 reviews
"water management"
in 17 reviews
"mark law"
in 21 reviews
"working windmill"
in 21 reviews
"pom pom"
in 18 reviews
"private tour"
in 46 reviews
"sex workers"
in 23 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 32 reviews
"apple pie"
in 33 reviews
"his passion"
in 16 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 34 reviews
"hour tour"
in 45 reviews
Filter

1,262 - 1,266 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our small group tour of Ams's RLD. Mark was fun and didn't hold back on any of the inside scoop for this exciting (and no where else in the world) area.

Thank Lowell Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at That Dam Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Good to hear, thanks for saying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Mark delivered a great three-hour city tour for us on June 13. It is obvious that he loves Amsterdam and enjoys sharing his knowledge with his guests. Mark has an engaging and entertaining personality, which makes the tour fun yet informative and educational. Mark’s knowledge of the history, architecture and culture of Amsterdam provided a highlight of our time in the city.

The tour was well-paced and a good value for the time spent walking through the area. The average tourist would never learn so much in such a short amount of time. Mark is a delightful guide, and his tour is highly recommended. He also has arranged discounts with local businesses, and the cheese, gelato and waffles were a great lunch! Thank you Mark and when in Amsterdam, we will see you again!

Thank Gadget357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at That Dam Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi, thanks for coming along, it's very rewarding to me to hear your feedback, thanks for taking time to write it and I look forward to meeting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Mark's communication, even before the tour, was excellent. He provides a humorous, respectful and real tour of the red light district. He interacts with a group of 6 to 10 people in a way that larger companies can't (they are dealing with mobs of 40 -60 people). And... very importantly, Mark respects the working girls and conducts the tour in a way which does not negatively impact them.

Thank fcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at That Dam Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi, thanks, I see the Red Light Tour as not only a chance to show you around but also to put across the seldom heard views of sex-workers which I hear from speaking to them and following a couple of great blogs by women working in the area, glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We did the Red Light District tour from 7pm-9pm and the City Tour the next day, and both were just as fantastic as each other! Mark is absolutely fantastic and hugely entertaining and knows Amsterdam inside out, he can tell you anything you want to know! After these tours we knew Amsterdam like the back of hand because we knew where everything was! Both tours are extremely entertaining and informative, and with the tours capped at around 10 people it ensures that you get the absolute best experience, and can ask any questions along the way. Overall, I would totally recommend this tour to anyone of any age! You won't get the same experience from any other tour operators (trust me, our group was the group laughing and having a great time as we walked past the other tour groups of 40+ plus people who looked miserable!!) DO IT!

Thank Ashleigh24Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Owner at That Dam Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

YAY, glad to hear the tours hit the spot! It was lovely meeting you three ladies, thanks for the feedback :o)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed That Dam Guide also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to That Dam Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing