We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #16 of 340 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was a nice clean and reasonably priced B&B. Friendly and comfortable. Also spacious - unusual for Amsterdam. You have to leave your shoes at the door. Not sure why as the carpets are not that nice or new. We stayed in the Garden Room which was very nice and airy a plus was sitting outside in a courtyard. Good bed but the furniture and fittings are just a little tired. The bathroom was shared (teeny weeny) in a former cupboard, without a wash hand basin so after using the toilet you have to go in the kitchen or your room to wash hands. A longish walk through the vogel park to the city centre so worth hiring bikes. (about 1mile)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heatheryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We visit Amsterdam often as my husband's family is there and found this b and b online. The location is very good for a neighborhood ambiance and the owners couldn't be nicer or more helpful. The grocery store down the street and the many restaurants nearby make it a very good area for visitors. . The bar/restaurant next door was handy for a beer and some "bitter ballen" and was ideal for sitting out on the terrace overlooking the canal. We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed the canal facing room however we do wish they had a small table/night stand on each side of the bed for glasses, books, water glass, etc. These items had to be placed on the floor at night as there was no where else to put them on one side while the other person had a table to use. I did mention this to the owner and he said they are looking into adding another small table or night stand. The entry into the room is very private and we were never bothered by street noise. There are two trams within a 7 minute walk and all connections within the city are available there. The shared kitchen is great as we like to have a ham/cheese typical Dutch breakfast rather than the cereal that is offered. We bought items in the local super market and were happy having our morning meal when we chose instead of a set time as we have encountered at other b and b's. Another plus for us seniors were the lack of steep stairs as we were on the lower level of the house. The room we had was immaculate and the house keepers were very friendly and efficient. We liked the chocolates left on the pillows and the Dutch fruit genever. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return to this excellent b and b!

Room Tip: Canal room is nice however curtains must be kept closed due to street traffic. The garden room in ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kathylesfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 4 nights this September. We arrived in cold drizzling rain in the late afternoon. We found the B&B with no problem following the directions Paul had provided. He showed us our room and turned on the heat as soon as he saw how cold we were and poured us an apirtif glass of red current gin. A decanter of this gin was in the room for us to enjoy. He left no stone unturned when explaining the smart TV, where breakfast items were and which shelf in the small refrigerator was ours. He also provided a sheet/map of grocery, laundry and local area restaurants he would recommend. The housekeeping staff was like no other we have encountered! They were pleasant and happy every day. We stayed in the garden room which was charming and comfortable. The experience staying here was a respite from the hectic busy city. Thank You Paul!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Nothing to complain about - everything to rave about! The hosts were so friendly upon our arrival. Gave us a brief tour of the room, some tips on restaurants and getting around, and set us on our way.

Cookies and coffee available in the room every morning, deck out back to sit on - it was great. Sure there were stairs. And sure the bathroom was in a tiny closet - but your in Amsterdam, it's part of the experience! At first we thought it was a little odd they have you take off your shoes at the entrance and wear slippers - but we started to appreciate it, and it actually caused us to meet some of the other visitors staying there, as we would meet when putting our shoes on and off.

Umbrellas available, which you'll appreciate in Amsterdam. The location was great - easy access to a tram, and steps from the great Vondel park! If you're looking for a relaxing, comfortable stay, away from the noise of central Amsterdam, but easy access to the main sights - stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJKnoblauch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights, Sep 2013. Based on the reviews I was expecting something more. The location is wonderful -- fairly quiet except for the bar around the corner, good non-touristy restaurants close by, and the wonderful Vondelpark. The accomodation itself is good although a bit sterile, but there is no B & B ambience here. I knew it was just a milk and cereal breakfast, but I thought it would be in a common breakfast room. On each floor there is an area with boxes of cereal, a French press for coffee, and a refridgerator. Some fruit and rolls would have been a nice touch. There is no interaction with the owners besides the original greeting, nor is there any interaction with other guests. I am a bit surprised by all of the excellent reviews.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank booksncats23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Beautiful location. Convenient for walking or taking the tram to the City Center. Supermarket and plenty of restaurants nearby. Owners and staff very friendly and readily available for information or needed assistance. (This helpfulness/availability began before our actual stay as Paul and Karen readily answered our questions and provided travel tips beginning a few weeks before our arrival.) A great place to return to at the end of a long day of sight-seeing and other activities.

Memorable and superlative!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

First stayed here in 2011, came back in 2012 and going back this November (2013)!

Always immaculate rooms and a perfect location. We loved being a little bit away from the centre of Amsterdam and the walk through the Vondelpark every morning was a delight.

There is a supermarket up the road so you can stock up on some nibbles. Having a fridge in the shared kitchen was so handy.

Just book it! You will love it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anneka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,335 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 375 in Amsterdam
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Sloterkade 65-1, 1058 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £103 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing