We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
61
136
79
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
136
79
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomgreat locationamsterdam nightlifesteep stairsstayed here for nightsnoisy at nightnice clean hotelwalking distancebreakfast is servedfree breakfasttop floorbeds were comfortablepleasant staytrain stationsmokeysnoiseplugs
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here for three nights in january 2012. Nice clean place to stay in a great location with alot of attractions within walking distance. Breakfast is in smokeys bar which is to the left when you come out of the door and was pleasent but nothing out of the ordinary. Perfect to set you up for the day though, and no limitations to how much you could have.
Didnt really have any plans we just spent the days walking around taking in the scenery and doing a bit of shopping. Came across the zoo which if you are a family travelling would have to be amsterdams best kept secret. Lots of things to do in the area and there is a tram stop just across the road so you can travel a little further out.
Stayed on the fourth floor overlooking the square, was a lovely view but did have to close the window at night due to the noise of the clubs below, although after a long days walk fell asleep pretty easily. Bathrooms are shared with another three rooms however never had to wait for them and were always clean and fresh.
I would say if your not there for the nightlife it probably isnt the best place to stay, especially if your a light sleeper. The stairs up to the rooms are fairly steep and seem to go on forever after a night out, (but then most places in amsterdam are due to the nature of the buildings).
would recommend using the central station to get back and for to the airport as travel is easy and cheap. Got a taxi to the hotel for 45euro, which is a little scary with all the bikes and trams, but then braved it on the way back and walked the 10min walk over to the station and paid 8euros for both of us to the airport. You get out actually in the aiport and only takes about 15mins, was much easier and felt much safer.
overall would recommend as the hotel is clean well kept and in a prime location but just be aware of its little downfalls.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sj183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stopped here when my football team played here and found the cheapest place I could find.a twin room for €50 a night an absolute bargain for me and my mate.i was fearing the worst due to the price but on arrival I was surprised how clean the place was.but best of all is the location.my room overlooked Rembrandt square that had an ice rink and Xmas market on it,and the hotel is in the middle of everything in Amsterdam.the steep stairs are a struggle after 15hours partying but it's the same in other hotels due to the nature of the buildings.the buffet breakfast is as good as any in Europe,there all pretty much the same.all in all a cracking little hotel.and smokeys below the hotel is worth travelling to Amsterdam alone a great place where I've never laughed so much since I watched my best mate fall in the river whilst fishing in the summer of 1988

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spursaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed there for a couple of nites. Must say it is very central (very very central) staff extremely friendly and helpful. breakfast was nothing special but more than enough :) :). Hotel extremely clean. Bathrooms may be shared however you may specify otherwise for a small extra charge.
Would not recommend it for families however, rooms are rather small and the breakfast room is a nightclub at night - too much smell of weed in general.
However as a student i found it perfect. You get what you pay for and you are close to almost anything, and if not close to transport. (city generally isnt that big)
Would definately recommend it, and would definately stay there again.
As for the noise complaint - i cannot really say. Then again it might depend on the room you are in.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18Penelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Best value for money. its only a one star so we were expecting it to be dirty, smelly, unhelpful staff but it was fresh, clean and the most helpful staff you could ask for.
recently painted. we were on the top floor(not fun walking up them after a few j's or drinks!)
bed sheets and towels cleaned single day. best location u could ask for. opposite Escape niteclub few more pubs, restruants and two coffeeshops side by side the hotel.. get bubblegum in the coffeeshop below the hotel. laughed my bum off for an hour. little sink and mirror in room. full length mirror also. it is 2 shared bathrooms with another room on each floor. water so warm and we never crossed path with other guests which was great. television little flatscreen load of channels. book early and you'll get it really cheap. two of us for 4 nights , twin room for 120euro each!!

Room Tip: top room is good as its the only one with the best view and has two big doors
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I have been to this hotel numerous times as it is so cheap and very close to Dam Square (about a 10-15 minute walk).
The price includes a breakfast (it's very basic with bread and hot drinks) which is enough to fill you up and there is also free wifi available. You just need to ask for the web key.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and they have a great map available as well as offering a free drink at the bar below.

The rooms are clean and basic with TV and has shared bathroom. It's great value you for money as it is in a great location. Rembrandt Square is well known for it's artists and performers.
I found an Italian restaurant on just off the square which was very tasty and great prices.

Room Tip: Ask for your free wi-fi key.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danni_yelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews