We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Brilliant staff and cheap bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Durty Nelly's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durty Nelly's Inn
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location, Brilliant staff and cheap bar!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just returned from a stag weekend in the Dam!
I can confirm that 'Durty Nellys' is surprisingly clean. The bar is cheap, the staff are fantastic and know how to handle large groups without spoiling anyones fun.
The guy who greeted us - Alex, was brilliant and sorted everything out really fast so we could get on with the weekend!
The beds are comfy despite them being bunk beds. The one bad point was how hot our room was. It was -10c outside and at least +40c in our room!! Alex soon sorted that out for us too.
Great location, plenty of bars, cafes, restaraunts, etc plus the Amsterdams main square just a 2 minute walk away. Food in hostel is also decent and fairly priced, but expect to take a walk if your after fancy cuisine!
This is slap bang in red light district, so if your easily offended - look elsewhere!

I have previously stayed next door at the Winston, also a good place, but the bar is more expensive! Whichever you stay in, eating & drinking is open to all. Though the Winston has an indoor smoking area.

Room Tip: Depends on your size of group, but if you dont want to share with strangers then best to check first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grantrs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    153
    68
    14
    22
See reviews for
10
40
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I was there for 2 nights with two of my cousins. The staff was great, very charismatic and accommodating. The rooms and bathrooms were surprisingly clean. There are some hostel perks associated with staying here, primarily the discounted bar menu. You can get a pint of Amstel for 3,50 euro, by far one of the cheapest prices I saw during my stay. There is also free breakfast and wifi, towels/hairdryers/adapters available. The location was excellent and it was very secure. There is a safe available for valuables, passports or pretty much anything you have of value (this is in addition to the lockers for each bed). I talked to some people in my room and they told me horror stories of other hostels in Amsterdam. One guy was staying for 2 weeks, spent three nights at Durty Nelly's and then was curious to check out the other hostels. He came back after one night and spent the remaining nights here. Did I mention they have tickets to the main attractions so that you don't have to wait in the ridiculously long lines? It was great. One thing though, I highly discourage the pub crawl in Amsterdam with the company party kings or pk. It was the worst pub crawl I have ever been on.

Room Tip: I was in the mixed 10 bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sngonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2011

it has a great bar with cheap food that's good. Also the rooms are clean and they have warm blankets and comfy beds. Free breakfast and wifi is the best thing ever!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

1st I would like to say I have never stayed in this hostel, but I have visited the pub on the first floor every year for the last four years.
This is a great place to stop and have beers or to have some pub food. The bar is fairly large with mutli levels, pool table , Sky sport showing football games. But, its the people! You meet travelers from all over the world here all the time. All ages and most are eager to have fun and talk of their travels. The staff all speak english and play wide range of music and carry a good selection of beer and spirits. The bar is also on the "pub crawl " tour so you are never to far from a new group of drinkers entering to have some fun and games.
After visiting many bars in Amsterdam, this place is always on my list.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kman773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

As far as hostels go, this is the creme de la creme. The main manager Alex is super helpful and accommodating with tickets, maps, and anything else you need. The breakfast is great and is served from 8-11, and staying at the hostel gives you a discount to the restaurant and bar that is attached. The rooms were super clean, as were the bathrooms and everything was really up to date and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable with nice comforters and sheets, and there are lockers in every room to lock your things up in. This was a great deal and a great place for traveling backpackers and students! Will for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passport2earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

great spot for quick weekend as above nothing posh but good safe clean friendly alex top guy and will take care of you.food in bar good very central

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munstermanTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiba, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hostel itself is secured by a separate entryway past the bar, and each auto-locked room had its own bathroom/shower. The staff are friendly and helpful, offering transportation tips on getting around town and recommended sights. The location is very close to Amsterdam Centraal and everything in the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nakanishista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,155 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 226 in Amsterdam
1,214 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#97 of 226 in Amsterdam
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durty Nelly's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durty Nelly's Inn

Property: Durty Nelly's Inn
Address: Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durty Nelly’s Hostel and Bar offers clean and comfortable budget accommodation in the coolest city on the planet!If you are up for sightseeing during day and party in the evening – you found the perfect place! We offer you a great mixture of atmosphere, top location, friendly and helpful staff and famous Irish Pub on the ground floor for your enjoyment!Located just a short walk from the Central Station, in the heart of the historical city center, in walking distance to city attractions, sights, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Durty Nelly's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durty Nelly`s Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing