We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hostel Overall”
Review of Durty Nelly's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durty Nelly's Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They were happy to do anything to make my stay more pleasant.

Beds were comfortable. Note: bedsheets are put on by the guest, not the hostel.

We got free breakfast, which is a lifesaver in a place as expensive to live as Amsterdam. Its pretty much just ham+cheese sandwiches and a coffee. You need to be up early though, as the food runs out and the coffee goes cold quickly....

We had an en suite sink, toilet, and shower. The sink was awkward to use, and the shower got very flooded during our stay.

Overall, probably one of the better hostels we stayed in during our holiday. However, as far as Amsterdam goes, I would recommend the Flying Pig Downtown Hostel.

Room Tip: If you had the choice between room 3 and 4, go for 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComradeMorshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

I've never stayed in a hostel before this one, and I was pleasantly surprised! We stayed as a group of 7 girls in one room, it was small but comfortable. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The main concern was the lack of bars on the upper bunks, as we were worried that someone might roll over and fall out in their sleep! The bathroom area was clean and we had no problems with getting everyone in there in the morning. I can imagine it might be kind of weird staying in one of these rooms with complete strangers but for us it was great.

The pub upstairs served good food and drinks and did a handy 'hostel resident discount menu'. The staff were really friendly and the breakfast included in the mornings was a nice, unexpected surprise! The location was perfect as it was close to everything and we didn't have any trouble with noise at night. Overall I'd say the hostel was great value for money and was really lovely staying there with a group of friends. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EERP93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

It was very close to Centraal station and the Damn Square. It was an excellent location. You could walk to all major famous sites in Amsterdam.
Located on top of a pub, it was super safe.
Check-in was easy. I think the guy's name was Guilherme. Very nice Brazilian guy, who gave us a lot of tips from the city. We couldn't do an early check-in, so we went to lunch until our room was ready.
We got a 4 ensuite room so my friend and I shared the room with two other people, which were nice and clean.
The room, linen and towels were very clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower very good.
The only thing I would add is hangers in the bathroom door, but there are glass shelves in the wall that you can put your stuff.
We did a Pub Crawl suggested to us by the hostel staff and it was fun. Very fun people and easy to get to know others. Just think the shots were a bit watered down.
Overall, this was a very nice stay and if I had to stat at a hostel in Amsterdam this will probably be the one.
Just be prepared to endure a small and steep staircase, but it's manageable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla_M_Anjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dejimoAmsterdam, Manager at Durty Nelly's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi Priscilla,Thanks for the great review and for posting your photos,cheers Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Me and 4 friends booked Durty Nelly's through hostelworld.com, at a price of £20 per night each. We stayed from the 21st-24th April. When we got to the hostel we were really early for check in, so the staff took our bags and kept them safe for us so we could go exploring.

Fantastic location right by the red light district and lots of coffee shops! The staff are really helpful and can point you in the right direction if you get lost. Close to Centraal, and a 15 minute walk away from Vondellpark (go here, get truffles, it's awesome!)

We booked a 6 person dormitory, and our first room was really long and narrow. There was only one light in the whole room so it was fairly dark, and barely big enough to swing a cat in, but we didn't spend much time in it so can't complain. The toilet seat and one locker were broken, but the staff were aware and it was due to be fixed. The bathroom did flood though, as there was no stopper around the shower, but nevermind. It was clean.

Breakfast was a bit dull, nothing to get excited over. Tea, coffee, water; eggs, ham, cheese, bread, jam and cornflakes. You can get certain food from the bar at a discount price if you show them your hotel card. We ate here on our first night and it was really tasty. Certain drinks are also available at a discount price.

On our third night we were moved to a different room, wish we'd had this room from the start! It was modern, spacious and light. Brand new bathroom, which didn't flood and a great power shower. Lovely! Beds clean and comfortable.

The staff were fantastic and really friendly. They provided my friend with plasters and antiseptic when she got run over by a tram (lol) and were always smiling and said Hi and Goodbye all the time. Hairdryers are available to rent for a refundable deposit of 20 euros, and towels are available for a 2 euro charge, and a 5 euro deposit, you can change the towel as many times as you want to so it is worth getting one towel between a few of you and just changing it :)

Free wifi also! Enjoyed the stay, Amsterdam is amazing and I would stay again :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my friends booked this through hostel world for a very good price, including breakfast! The hostel was clean & much nicer than expected. breakfast was good, & the manager was extremely helpful!! Would recommend 100%. Central to everything, perfect location to the city and the station.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dejimoAmsterdam, Manager at Durty Nelly's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks young lady,we appreciate it,cheers Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Everything was perfect from the moment we walked into Durty Nellys to the moment we left. The rooms had everything necessary for my group of 20's two-nights stay. The prices at the bar were the best we came across in Amsterdam. There's also free breakfast. The staff were very helpful to us also. Perfect location for a stag do! I will definitely stay here again when I am back in this great city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dejimoAmsterdam, Manager at Durty Nelly's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi Brian,Great bunch of lads,cheers Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We didn't stay here but did have breakfast on Sunday and it was lovely. Wonderful friendly - service and the food was FAB. Freshly cooked, tasty and excellent value for money. They served up what I call "proper" bacon, not the mostly fat ridden streaky rubbish we had in other places. Would definatley recommend Durty Nelly's for breakfast - totally yummy x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 248 in Amsterdam
1,295 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#128 of 248 in Amsterdam
458 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durty Nelly's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durty Nelly's Inn

Address: Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £24 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durty Nelly’s Hostel and Bar offers clean and comfortable budget accommodation in the coolest city on the planet! If you are up for sightseeing during day and partying in the evening – you found the perfect place! We offer you a great mixture of atmosphere, top location, friendly and helpful staff and famous Irish Pub on the ground floor for your enjoyment! Located just a short walk from the Central Station, in the heart of the historical city center, in walking distance to city attractions, sights, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Durty Nelly`s Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing