We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy Clean and Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #169 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Classy Clean and Great location”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel was excellent and we'd definately stay here again when we travel to Amsterdam. The value was really good for the clean, quiet room with super COMFY beds and a beautiful bathroom.

We stayed in 3 different rooms at this hotel in August, each time the room was quite different. One room had a shower that was glass on the other side so you could see the person showering from the bed. Very sexy to watch your partner, but I couldn't imagine what it would have been like if I was there with my family... lol. However the other 2 rooms had a private shower. Once we got lucky with a really big room with a HUGE bathroom. I was so impressed I took some photos (attached). I think it just depends on your luck, as the 3rd room was quite small, but we didn't need a big room, just something quiet, clean and comfy. This hotel was perfect.

It was also nice being so close to Rembrandt Square, with live music and lots of places to sit. In the morning we'd go to Albert Hein, and the nearby cheese shop to pick up some breakfast to go and eat it in the park. We didn't pay for the hotel breakfast as there are a lot of restaraunts around the square and it's pretty easy to find food around there.

It's also easy to get to from the train station by taking the number 9 bus. I wouldn't attempt walking it again with heavy bags, though. Hmm.. one other thing is that if you can climb stairs, I'd recommend the tour of the Westerkerk Tower- great views from up there! Well I hope you have a great time in Amsterdam, and I hope this review was helpful to you:)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FireKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    693
    352
    174
    114
See reviews for
144
836
96
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DOheem
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Good hotel with reasonable price. Breakfast is too expensive (17,50€).
Single rooms are small but well furnished and nice bathrooms (also rather small in the single room). But very good place to stay close to all attractions, lots of pubs and restaurants within short walking distance,parking in the area is expensive. We use this hotel regularely for business stays

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HengDoheem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Dirty, overrated and overpriced hotel. Avoid it. Not convinced? Read the rest.

We are not people that just loves to complain. This is the first time that we have experienced anything like this! And we have been in hotels all over Europe. And the first time we actually complained in a hotel.

We got a room with a dirty bathroom at check in. Water stains and pubic hair in the bathtub and around the toilet. Dirt and stains on the floor. We complained, and a person came with a bucket of soap water, and cleaned the bathroom when we were in the room. WHAT REALLY SHOCKED US, IS THAT HE USED THE SAME WASH CLOTH TO CLEAN THE BATHTUB, TOILET, SINK AND FLOOR!! Disgusting! We confronted him with this, but he did not understand English.

Later that night, we found toothpaste residue in the toothbrush glass in the bathroom and water stripes on them. Cups and spoons had water stripes, clearly indicating that they clean it with at wet cloth... The same wash cloth as they clean the floor, sink and toilet with?? They don't bother change the cups and glasses when new guest arrive. Also really disgusting!

We got some tea spots on the floor on the bathroom the first day when we threw the used teabag. Those visible spots stayed there for 4 nights, after showing the spots to the cleaning supervisor several times. Indicating that they don't bother clean the floor properly at all.

Complaining every day is not funny, and ruins some of the vacation. And it drains you for energy.

Pre paid room is not a good idea here, then they don't care at all. They did try to compensate, by giving us free breakfast the last two days. The only stupid is, that they tried to charge us this breakfast at check out. But too be nice they said, they gave us the "free" breakfast for free once more. Thats just annoying!

The managment dont bother to give us a reply after sending them an e- mail.

When you experience a hotel stay like this, then the dust all over the room, the holes in the pillow linen and towels also is noticeable.

Amsterdam is full of nice and clean hotels. This is not one of them. Do your self a favor, stay another place! It is vacation after all :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This hotel was a big surprise - we weren't expecting much but when we got in the room it was amazing! And the BED! It was the best bed I've ever slept in. Ideal location. Ignore bad reviews, it's fantastic and we are definitely going again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunSpangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisarow NSW Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The staff from our first enquiry via the Inet were 100% helpful particularly Nicolette who managed our booking.
Our room was a superior room verly neatly appointed and spotless.
Breakfast was included and a very good choice was available.
Here we had excellent staff who greeted us with that all important smile and good morning every day to make us feel valuable guests. Big thanks to Natasha and Zaira who are good ambassadors to The Eden.
This was our 3 trip to Holland and we have always stayed at The Eden.
It is also handy to many eating places and a short walk to the main shops in the Kalverstraat.
The hotel also has an excellent Concierge in Rob Vries.
We will return again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Yetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
445 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Having only 2 1/2 days in Amsterdam before our cruise, we wanted a Central City location. The Eden Rembrant met that guideline & much more. While the hotel was not a beautiful place, it was very clean & the staff was kind & helpful. The location was perfect for us situated just on a canal in central Amsterdam so walking to shops & sights was easy. Also within a block or so the canal tour boats were located for easy accesss.
All in all, I would stay here again !

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quite room since the hotel's front & back are on streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel itself is ok, but why stay at a ok hotel when there are so many other to choose from?

What we didn't like:
1. We arrived at the hotel at 19:00, just to find out that our junior suite wasn't ready yet. So we waited. No excuse from the reception.
2. Shelves in room dusty
3. When we used the in-room NEspresso machine, houskeeping didn't refill the capsules.
4. Housekeeping did only a minimum in the room. Thrash wasn't removed if it wasn't in the thrashcan...I mean, leaftovers on the table won't be eaten after two days!!! Cofee cups weren't changed.
5. It was Canal Pride and when we tried to enter our hotel on Saturday afternoon, the bellman rudly said the hotel was only for guests. He could have asked if we were guests.
5. We found something looking like lice in the room.

What we liked:
1. The shower.

Summary, we paid for an expensive room, and got crap.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#123 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#152 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#68 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#242 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing