We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION, BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #162 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel is in a very good location, perfect for walking to all of the things that Amsterdam has to offer.
I had booked a double room for myself and my husband to celebrate his birthday. Our room was ok, cleanish and acceptable facilities, though not a 4 star.... Instead of a double bed we had 2 singles pushed together and 2 separate quilts ! I asked at reception if they could give us a double room WITH a double bed and I was told rather curtly that we only 'requested' a double bed and therefore it wasnt guaranteed. I made it clear I wasnt happy and was told by the 2 ladies on reception, in no uncertain terms, that there was nothing they could do about it.., terrible attitudes, both of them.
Because of the attitude of the staff we DID NOT have breakfast there and we DID NOT have dinner on any of our 4 days. On a slightly positive note, when we left there was a gentleman on reception who apologised and gave us a discount of the city tax... I would have preferred good service !!

Room Tip: Dont ask for a double bed, I dont think there are any....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and observations about your stay.
We will inform our reception staff about this matter you have mentioned.
After all we hope you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

The subject says it all really. This is a run down and very grubby hotel, it's 4 star hotel rating seems generous. Badly stained carpets, shower tiles slimy but it offers a good location. We were on the 5th floor so the noise levels were ok given the proximity to so many bars.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TPO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you for your comments and observations.
We regret that you did not had a pleasant stay with us.
We will inform our housekeeping staff about these matters.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed here for a weekend reunion with a good friend of mine and we were very happy with the hotel. The Location is unbeatable for exploring Amsterdam and very close too lots of nice bars and restaurants. Staff was great we left late in the afternoon so we had too leave our luggage in the hotel luggage room, whilst doing so the concierge asked if we needed a taxi and for when, after a few hrs we came back too a taxi waiting with our luggage already inside this was unexpected for style hotel. Brilliant hotel!!

Room Tip: Try a room towards the inside, not the nicest views but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallyspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear guest,

Very nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam.
We look forward for your nex visit.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend in November and would really recommend it. It is very central - we didn't get taxi's anywhere as everywhere was within walking distance. It was a 15 minute walk to the Red light district, nice restaurants and the museums. The hotel was clean and nice, quite basic but all you need and more to stay for a few nights. The breakfast was also good!

Overall, great value for money. Would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I asked for a nice view, but didn't get one. Look into getting a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are looking forward to welcome you again next time.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Had 2 nights back in December. We chose this hotel due to it's good location and low rates. It's situated right on Rembrandt Square. We spent all day out and mainly just slept at the hotel, so for this use, it was more than decent.

Rooms are small, but have smart solutions. Nice shower, also with rainshower. Quiet at night.

Somewhat messy lobby area, but no big deal. Staff was always friendly.

Did not opt for breakfast, as there are plenty of options outside the doorstep.

Only thing to be aware of is the ever popular glass bathroom door. This is a hotel for couples and close friends that don't mind a tinted glass window between the shower and the bedroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kn1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and remarks.
We will use this to improve our level of service.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A friend of mine and I, we stayed four nights. Nice place to be, really close to the city center. Really close to Rembramdt Square - Party/nightlife hot spot after 1 am. We have booked the accomodation without meals.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
Thank Wladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear guest,

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
If you have any comments/remarks please let us know.
We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is the third hampshire hotel me and my partner have stayed in, in Amsterdam and we had an excellent stay here!

We had a room on the ground floor, and had previously requested an actual double bed rather than two singles pushed together (from previous experience) and go that which was brilliant. To our surprise we also had a bath as well as a shower, which was a really nice change!
We travelled over christmas so was very good, but the room had a brilliant heating system. Rooms good size, don't really spend much time in them so perfect for us. TV channels were slightly lacking, but not really a problem as I said, we don't go away to sit in the hotel room.

Hotel is in perfect location, in Rembrandt Square close to lots of bars/restaurants, we heard no noise from room however.
Easy to get to from airport- We got the train from the airport to Central Station and then we a taxi from Central Station which didn't take long at all, or you can catch a tram which stops in Rembrandt Square (no.9 or no.4)

We had breakfast with our stay and it was nice, same food everyday but we didn't expect any less.

Overall we had a really enjoyable stay, and will definitely be returning to Amsterdam again and again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank yoiu for your response.
We are happy t hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,003 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#149 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#116 of 374 in Amsterdam
126 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £106 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing