We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #170 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a great location, near shops and restaurants which was great!

The rooms themselves are very specious, and very comfortable. However, I was travelling with friends, and the bathrooms have glass doors which was a little uncomfortable, however this was not a major problem and the hotel was lovely.

Would recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experiences with us. thank you for the compliments.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    711
    359
    181
    114
See reviews for
149
860
98
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Finding a decent but affordable hotel room in Amsterdam is always a battle. There are not enough hotels in the centre of Amsterdam so demand often exceeds supply.

Finding something decent but affordable on Saturday night is virtually impossible. The hotel sector is aware of the fact that everyone wants to get wasted in Amsterdam on a Saturday night, and exploits that desire mercilessly. If you come to Amsterdam for a Saturday night, your only option is to drop your trousers and bend over...

The overall quality of Amsterdam's hotel rooms are poor. Everyone knows it. Everyone expects to put up with crappy, tiny rooms. Hotels that do provide a nice, large room capitalize on that expectation by charging exorbitant amounts. A decent room that would cost $100 in Orlando will set you back something like EUR 450 in Amsterdam. (Yes, Orlando is the standard I am going by. If you don't see the similarity between Disney World and Amsterdam, you haven't been paying attention. And even if you don't believe that Amsterdam has been transformed into a strange disneyesque Holland Land cum Party Central swamped by low-class tourists, the simple truth is that people want to go to Orlando just as much as they want to go to Amsterdam.)

However, it seems to me that the Hampshire Hotel chain has helped things somewhat since it entered the market. It does its best with Amsterdam's poor infrastructure and, every so often, is even willing to reduce its prices to fill the rooms, something Dutch hoteliers never seem willing to do. This means that occasionally -- if you're vigilant -- you can book a stay at this nice chain hotel for the same cost charged by a dreadful 2-star dump down the road. But never on a Saturday of course. Even Hampshire Hotels follows that guideline.

I have to add that I feel sorry for people working in the hotel sector in Amsterdam. Amsterdam attracts a certain kind of visitor...

My room at this hotel was upscale and nice enough. I think I got a special room because it was largish by Amsterdam standards (20 square metres) and had a view of an inner courtyard through two large windows. Coffee maker.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Just off Rembrandtplein, so tram 4 takes you practically to the door.

Downsides: Couldn't get the aircon below 19 degrees so it never cooled the room properly. Couldn't open the windows fully either. Not enough English stations on the TV at all (but I enjoyed the music stations). Like at all Hampshire Hotels, the bed was too soft for my liking. My room was a little frayed around the baseboard and windows.

This hotel as a strict no-smoking policy.

The breakfast was OK but certainly not worth EUR 18.50.

Final word. If you can get a room here at a good price, book immediately. It's a decent hotel in a great location. If you pay full price to stay on a Saturday night, expect to feel a little ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a good stay with us and use your comments about the details in the room.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small but very clean and quiet. The hotel is close to the Flower Market. We really feel it is a great value compared to others in the area. The Hampshire Rembrandt Square and the Eden Hotel are the same place. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. We did not eat breakfast there but opted for Starbucks across the street. Haesje Claes is a nearby restaurant that we frequent for dinner. There is good shopping nearby Dam Square. The A tram number 4 or 9 stops near the hotel which we used to return to Centraal Station.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hotzhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
We will inform our reception staff about your compliment.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is my second time staying at this hotel, and wont be the last. Rembrandt square to me is the best area in Amsterdam to stay for a tourist. Shopping, Starbucks, cafés, hotels, trams, taxis, and bike rentals all right out the front door. The breakfast at the hotel was top notch, and just what we needed when we had to be up early for exclusions. The hotel concierge went above and beyond to accommodate our requests. Bike rentals and excursions, he took care of it all. Called car services for us when needed and all with a smile. The reception also checked us in early and upgraded our room upon arrival! Beautiful clean suite with every amenity. The room service from their downstairs affiliated French restaurant Flo, was to die for. Highly recommend !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are delighted to read your comments; particularly your thoughts on the service you received throughout the entire stay. Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests.
Besides, we value your comments regarding the comfort and cleanliness of the room, which is very important to us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Off Rembrandt square, but there end the positive points.
Negatives: the room set up was such that the bathroom had glass panelling, semi frosted, so that minimum privacy was afforded. I chose to go on holiday with my wife, she is very intelligent and beautiful but I don't want to wake up to see her on the toilet. Maybe this is an issue with me rather than the hotel.
Amsterdam was very wet when we visited and returning to the room to dry and watch the TV for an hour we had the choice of BBC2 or Cbeebies. A minor inconvenience I understand, but unusual I'd suggest for a hotel of this rating not to have at least an English speaking news network.
The rooms smelt of smoke.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mr37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us.
We will use your comments regarding the bathroom and share this information with our hotel management.
We are happy to hear your nice words about Amsterdam.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Location easy to get around from. We had room 12 which had a bit of a drain smell and no view only of two large fans so room was very dark and I couldn't see what the weather was like and the curtains were hanging off in places. It was reasonably quiet apart from the fact we had a locked door next to us and u needed to put your card in to come in and out so anyone using it made the door slam it made you jump waking you up. There were 12 of us and I think we had the worst room even though we booked together and booked well in advance and it wasn't particularly cheap and not breakfast included. We didn't eat there so I cannot comment on the food everything else was ok and clean etc. bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I've been many times in this hotel, whose best quality is the position in Rembrandt square. This time I booked for leisure not for business, and the room they gave me was really small, dark, unconfortable. 235 euro without breakfast in such room are really unacceptable, I was confident because in the past I received always a good treatment. I'll never come back there

Room Tip: Look to the room before accepting it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neno67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. We constantly work on improving our service and standards.
We do hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,553 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#123 of 368 in Amsterdam
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#237 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,447 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#176 of 368 in Amsterdam
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing