We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, staff helpful, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #171 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value, staff helpful, good location”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel is made up of 2 hotels merged together which leads to some inconsistency in room quality. Our group had rooms in various parts of the hotel so were able to see a few examples. Our room had clearly been recently refurbished and the bathroom was excellent and well equipped with bath/shower, yet some other rooms only had a shower.
The staff were generally very helpful, especially at concierge and reception.
Food-wise we only had breakfast each day and that was good but not outstanding.

External noise was an issue on the Friday and Saturday night which led to some sleepless nights amongst our party. I'd recommend asking for a room that doesn't face the main street and Rembrandt Square.
A room safe is provided free of charge and it's highly recommended you use this - several residents warned us of a high incidence of theft and pick-pocketing.
Location is excellent - plenty of public transport nearby and there's loads of shops within a couple of minutes walk.
At the back of the hotel there is a bike-rental shop - it's excellent and the best way to get around Amsterdam. There are also several cruises that depart from the canal within 2 minutes walk.
Overall it was excellent value for money and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that overlook Rembrandt Square as these are noisy especially near the weekend.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your experiences on TripAdvisor. .
We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are delighted to read your comments; particularly your thoughts on the service you received during your stay. Your compliments will be passed on to our concierge and Front Office team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    711
    359
    181
    114
See reviews for
149
860
98
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Awful Service! Hampshire Hotel was an absolute disappointment. Had I never been to Amsterdam I might not ever return. Our windows faced the club AIR which at wee hours of the night had police called, people fighting and drama on the streets. Our mini-bar never got refilled, I called for a bottle of water & was told to go to the vending machines. daily towels were like cleaning rags; there were only 2 swanky rag towels in an Executive Suite. Our room didn't get cleaned the last day there. I complained and was told, sorry... they will come tomorrow. A hotel that I will never return to or recommend others!!! The size of the suite was the only thing it had going for it!

Room Tip: get a corner suite at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedVelvetVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. We are constantly trying to improve our service and standards. We do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting us in the future, so we can show you we can meet your expectations for a 4-star hotel like the Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Arrived at the hotel at 11am thinking we would have to dumb our bags in a room as check in isn't until 3pm. BUT as we arrived early they upgraded our rooms and we were allowed to our rooms immediately.
Very nice hotel, very clean. Friendly and helpful staff.
Close to everything, we didn't need any taxis or even the tram - we walked everywhere!
The rooms were perfect. Couldn't fault the hotel in any way apart from one night that it was quite noisy as my room was beside the street. But overall a wonderful stay and I would most definitely go back again, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKissLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are delighted to read your comments; particularly your thoughts on the service you received throughout the entire stay. Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests.
Besides, we value your comments regarding the comfort and cleanliness of the room, which is very important to us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macduff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here during a weekend break with friends. July 2014.

Location:
Hotel is just a matter of foot steps off Rembrant Sq. Ideal for pubs/food. Night life is very rowdy & full of fun after darkness.

Hotel appearnce:
From the outside nothing starteling. Inside again, very basic as you walk through. Room's though, where excellent!! Junior suites we stayed in & they were huge. Seperate baths & showers, bathroom has large glass doors leading in to it. Big bed - Big windows - Great room & very clean.

Food: N/A didn't eat here at all.

WiFi: Fast.

Staff: Very helpfull and polite.

Would stay again!

Room Tip: Junior suite = Large/Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottish-Loon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is highly overrated hotel, the conditions are poor.
The cleaning people do their jobs, it is clean, but everything inside looks depreciated(not old, but worn-out, used).
I will never return to this place as it is very expensive and offers nothing than bed plus sink in the bathroom, although they promote it by being totally different.
I do not complain about employees or staff, they were great, it is just the overall aspect.
And not to mention that the door tags/cards do not work, we had to replace them 4 times ... what in the name of ?

Room Tip: Ask for good door key CARDs (ones that works)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iongion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments.
These comments have been forwarded tot the housekeeping en reception staff.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koloa, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were only in Amsterdam for 2 1/2 days during a layover. A good friend of ours arranged for us to stay in this hotel so we were walking into it pretty blindly. Well, we weren't disappointed! We got in late, about 11pm, but the front desk staff was courteous and checked us in to our room. When we walked into our room we were stoked! We had a nice corner room, and our room opened up onto a balcony that overlooked Rembrandt Square! That was the highlight of our stay, for sure. Not to mention, the room itself was clean and modernized, with enough room to fit the two of us and all of our *stuff*! : p There was also an LCD tv (which we never had a chance to turn on once, we were really only in our room to sleep/unwind.. haha), desk, single chair & side table, closet, drawers, mini bar, espresso maker with complimentary espresso packs (we thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary welcome snacks consisting of candies and juice too).. and fully equipped bathroom with tub and shower head, as well as a separate toilet room with wooden door to maintain privacy. The bed was nice and comfy, we had no problems sleeping. Our *only* qualm about the bed would be that it was actually two beds pushed together to make a queen, so at times we felt a small indent in the mattress. However, the plush topper did pretty well at softening it up a bit.. no pun intended. : p Oh! And noise-wise? The only window that seemed to leak any noise was the one in the toilet room, so we'd just close the door to that room, and all was quiet. All-in-all, we'd gladly stay here again! As long as we can get the same room.. ; )

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask the staff if you can see the room before accepting.. Oh, and I'd stick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Di808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Do not stay at this hotel, it is daylight robbery nothing but flea infested rude obnoxious people completely ruined my summer break! 40 euro for breakfast with no milk absolutely diabolical hotel rather sleep on the street.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyRimmer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,556 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 369 in Amsterdam
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#239 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,452 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#175 of 369 in Amsterdam
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing