We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but expensive food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #170 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable but expensive food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

The hotel is well positioned and the rooms are comfortable and clean. However for normal British people the cost of breakfast is extremely expensive. At present it is €19.50 for a 'Full English' or €12.50 for croissant and drink. There are cafes in the square which offer breakfast at more reasonable prices but most don't open till around 10am. Our friends found a place across the bridge near the flea market which opens earlier.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cumbria_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    687
    351
    173
    113
See reviews for
142
830
96
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kerry ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

stayed here for 4 nights for my boyfriend's birthday and enjoyed hotel.was very clean spacious and great location.tv was big plasma one perfect for watching movies if you are staying in.had mini bar in room and we didnt realise that we were automatically charged when taking out each item.we took out everything to make room for our own drinks etc.the receptionist seemed annoyed at this on checkout but it was soon rectified.would recommend it for being so close to night life and shops yet still being quiet enough for good nights sleep.restaurant was also one of the best in the city even though was very busy the night we went and tables were bit crushed together,great food and wine

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley_m_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbuzz, Operations Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your positive review. We're glad to read you were happy with the size of our TV. After your comment about the minibar, we have put an extra warning at the inside of the minibar door, about the working of our minibar, for future guests.

Hope to welcome you again,

Kind regards,

Robert Pelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

Stayed in a double room facing the main street. Room is a bit small for 2 huge suitcase. The bed was comfortable enough, the carpet a little dirty with stains and it had a slight musty smell in the room. They were fully booked and so we could not change to a different room. We left the window slightly open but it was noisy with the drunks and the tram outside. The bathroom is okay, I am sure the cleaners can do a better job. We also noticed on the sheets there were stains of blood (probably the cleaner had a cut or something on her fingers)! Did not notice it the night before as we were out all day and were only back in the room at night. The breakfast at the hotel is expensive. There are cafes and restaurants nearby (Rembrandt Square) where you can get breakfast for a cheaper price. The flower market and the shopping area is a short walk away. But if walking is not your thing, you can rent bikes and scooters. Some of the staff are friendly but like the comments from other TA members, they just couldn't care less! There is free Internet in the room, it is a little slow but you can choose to pay for a faster connection.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildlilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbuzz, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Dear traveller,

I regret to read your comments about the attitude of our staff. We'll have to work even harder at our slogan Love City Life with our staff, to provide an excellent service to all our guests!
Your comments about housekeeping and maintenance are taken seriously to deliver a clean and tidy product in the future.
Thank you for your comment.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Eden Rembrandt Sq for 3 nights as part of our Eurotrip. We were quite skeptical when booking as most hotels in Amsterdam are crappy. This one fit perfectly in our budget (115Euro/night) and had nice reviews and pictures. We arrived to the hotel at 10am just to learn that check-in time was at 3pm. Hotel provides you with luggage storage, so you don't have to wonder the streets with bags. Staff was very helpful from the beginning, we were given a room at 1:30 pm, which is great for tired travelers.
The room on the 5th floor was very small with dirty carpet, heavy stench of cigarettes and a view of a wall - not what we expected. We complained at the front desk and were given a room on the first floor. This room was 3 times as large as the first room, was spotless, had a large bathroom, sofa, desk, two chairs (see pictures). Eden probably has rooms of different sizes and quality depending on how picky the client is.
Overall, we had a great stay: room was cleaned daily, bed was VERY comfortable, everything worked fine and it was quiet at night. Compared to other hotels in Amsterdam, Eden is a treasure. Located on Rembrandt Square, Eden is 10 min Tram ride/20 min walk/10Euro taxi to Central Station. Tram stop is 1 minute walk from the hotel. There are countless coffee shops, restaurants and bars around the area, although the hotel remains quiet. Walking distance from Shopping street, Red Light District and other attractions. Breakfast is offered at Eden for 17Euro, but you can easily find cheaper places to eat. Free internet offered in the lobby.
We would definitely recommend staying at Eden Rembrandt Sq and are looking forward to returning again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SneakyTravelKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbuzz, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Dear SneakyTravelKitty,

Thank you very much for your pleasant review on your recent stay at our hotel. Rooms indeed differ in size and we are happy that our reception staff has transferred you to a more spacious accommodation. We will of course look into the carpet question and the cigarette smoke. Hope to see you soon or friends of yours that you recommend to stay with us.
Best regards
Thomas Kahnt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

There are many reviews speaking of terrible experiences, they mirror the ones I had at A DIFFERENT EDEN BRANCH (the Eden Hotel Center Amsterdam one, on Nausakade street). This hotel is nice with a very nice breakfast although not a massive choice for sum, its fine for me. The bed was very comfortable and Internet free with LAN cable supplied at a good but slower speed than the paid ones, WiFi is chargeable. Staff were helpful, shower nice. There were plenty of stains however on the carpets and walls. Overall, im pretty satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neofytos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

Well sized room, decorated to a high standard, clean throughout. Very comfortable bed and good bathroom. Smallest window I've ever had in any hotel room - might as well call the room 'windowless'. On the flipside, it was extremely quiet which suited me well. Aircon didn't work and couldn't be fixed for the duration of my stay - got me 1 free breakfast. About half of the staff I dealt with were friendly and helpful, the rest couldn't care less and certainly never thought about the essence of 'client service'. Some were bordering on being downright rude. A shame - this attitude can easily destroy the otherwise positive impression. With some reservation, I'd still recommend the place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrip_Fan_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbuzz, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 September 2009
Dear travellers,
We are quite happy about the recommendation we have received. There is apparently work to be done with regards to our attitude towards guests. Whilst we shout our slogan: Love City Life; we have only half delivered what we promise. Next time we try harder.
By the way, if you really want to sleep in a windowless room, try our "Dark Rooms" at the Eden Design Hotel Maastricht.
Talk to you soon
Thomas Kahnt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

We stayed at the Eden Rembrandt Square for a three day city break between the 28th and 30th August 2009. We are really pleased that we chose this hotel as it satisfied all our needs perfectly. All we wanted was a hotel which was located close to all the city attractions, although not too close to the Red Light District, near to nice bars and restaurants, comfortable and not too expensive! This hotel ticks all the boxes!

The location of the hotel is ideal, about 100 metres from Rembrandtplein (Rembrandt Square) which is (or will be once the refurbishment is complete) a lovely square with a variety of bars on three sides and plenty of outdoor seating for you to watch the world go by! 200 metres in the other direction is the Amstel River and the famous Skinny Bridge. Just across the Amstel River from the hotel is the nearest Canal Bus Stop. The Canal Busses are a great way to explore the city (and the canals), the best value ones seemed to be the hop-on hop-off ones which are reasonably priced at 20 Euros per day. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from Central Station. The quicker option is to get the tram which goes right past the hotel.

The hotel is quite modern inside and has free internet in the Lobby and a nice lounge area with non stop football on the television! The hotel staff (when available) were both friendly and accommodating, although we did have to wait until 3.30pm to check-in! If you are with the other half, I’d recommend asking for a double room. They tend to give you a twin room otherwise! There’s no point in wasting your money on the hotel breakfast which costs over 17 Euros when you can get something cheaper from one of the numerous café’s in Rembrandtplein.

The rooms are small but perfectly formed. They have all the necessary kit including a safe, air-conditioning, flat screen TV, hairdryer, overpriced mini-bar and a small but very comfortable bed! The bathrooms are very nice too with shower heads you can actually get under and plenty of hot water! The rooms on the Amstelstraat side of the hotel are apparently noisier than on the canal side but it’s not that bad, just the occasional tram and the many drunken people!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#64 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing