We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location of hotel was excellent for a city trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #169 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Location of hotel was excellent for a city trip”
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Rooms were very comfortable, complete and good of size, but:
- bed (mattress) was to soft (not so good for back)
- Warm during the night (heating was not turned on by us, but still it was warm, and
very dry (it should be more ventilated -> only way to do this, is by sleeping with an open
window, but then it could become noisy)
- Enough basic channels on tv, but no flemish ones. I find this very strange.
In Belgium you will find dutch channels in most 4-5 start hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvdwpdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    693
    352
    174
    114
See reviews for
144
836
96
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We booked for 3 nights and the hotel was exceptionally clean ,comfortable and in a great location. It is so important to choose a good hotel ..it can make or break your visit ...Definetely would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

our room was very small and as the windows do not open i felt claustrophobic. I could not fill the bath...there was no tap, just a shower head so i could not see the point of the bath at all. There were finger marks on the glass and the soap tray in the shower was gungy underneath. I suppose if the windows could open it would make it noisy as Rembrandt square is very lively at night. It is in a good location within walking distance to all areas of interest. The breakfast was ok but they had run out of hot food when we got there, which was not late, and did not hurry to replenish it.
Overall i would not stay here again or recommend it friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I was well impressed with the Eden Rembrandt Hotel. We got a great price on the rooms and out of 18 of us, not one person complained about their room or the location. It is situation near Rembrandt's House and the Flower Market and is only a few minutes on the tram to the centre of Amsterdam. I liked the way it was off the beaten track and not right in the centre.

The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful with maps etc.

The only downfall is the excrutiating bar prices but there's so many other places to drink in that it's not a big issue.

I am extremely fussy when it comes to cleanliness and the rooms were spotless although a double room was two beds pushed together which can prove dangerious as one of our group did fall through the middle! :D

All in all a great hotel and great staff. We didn't eat breakfast there as it was €17.50 per person but there are loads of places to eat breakfast especially the Turkish cafe just down the road and half the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

On booking with this hotel, I said it was my partner's birthday and anything they could do to make it extra-special would be appreciated. When we arrived, we found they'd upgraded us to a Junior Suite, which was lovely, and also given us vouchers for two free drinks at their bar.

Staff were very helpful when we needed guidance with how to use some features of the room (though a manual explaining how to operate the TV, heating etc. would have been appreciated and would have negated the need to contact staff).

The hotel was about a mile's walk from Centraal Station, and if you don't fancy the walk, there are trams readily available.

The room was beautifully designed with a Nespresso machine and a lovely big bath... in fact it was so cold outside, we definitely made the most of the facilities at this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurasplog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Stayed here based on good reviews bout the room. The room was clean, I'll give it credit. But few issues, firstly it's noisy. Each night I can hear the people partying late into the night outside. Secondly someone tried to get into my room twice, once successfully but luckily I was in, so nothing happened! Lastly, they hv this sensor for the stuff in the minibar in the room. Slightest movement of the pringles or nuts will render an additional €10 charge minimum! Because theres a charge of 5% of ur room rates on top of the price for the packet of nuts! So if it says €2.50 for the nuts expect to pay additional €10!! so key note is NEVER TOUCH THE STUFF! when i was dismay by the surprised city tax the receptionist was less than helpful n in fact borderline annoying or rude! For service, I'd say poor, giving it a little credit for the helpful concierge for helping with our luggage storage. The price of €100 per night for double bedroom is not worth the money. Got a much better hotel in the Hague with free Internet! Yes this hotel DOES NOT provide FREE Internet

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Arriving around 6PM - speedy check-in, going up to your room finding the hallway completly full with garbage bags and other housekeeping "stuff" (blocking your room door) - having to move those garbage bags... Not a very nice welcome.

Checking the room and finding that the bathroom has not been cleaned properly: unacceptable.

Reporting both at the front desk, staff response - "well we need to clean the rooms sir" - yeah but that much stuff at 6PM? and not very good in cleaning....
No excsuses are offered, but the receptionist gives me a new room key and a "nod" - what is this? I ask "I give you another room, this one is a little bigger as well"...

Things like this could be handeled so much better...

Rooms are nicely appointed and over good sleep quality. Location is right in the middle of the old city center.

Breakfast for €17,- is also on the high side considering the location and the many options around the hotel - continue this and you can close your buffet very soon.

Very good food at Restaurant Flo next door, BTW.

Upon check-out another little surprise where I was told to pay city tax (the reservation online mentioned this was included in the rate) - but I was told this was wrong and needed to pay anyway. Upon contacting the hotel about this one day later, I was told to receive a response: yet this is still to arrive (two weeks).

Overall: probably better places in the city, definately with better staff and service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MRMARKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#122 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#152 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#66 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#242 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing