We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Max(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
BeByme(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Iris Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Amstel Corner(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hemp Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveller rating
170
461
231
83
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
461
231
83
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheineken experiencecentral stationtram stopalbert cuyp marketheineken museumdam squarebreakfast was includedrooms are smalltram numbertea and coffeecold meatswalking distancethird floorreception staffvending machineminute walkbeds were comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel is really 3.5 not 4 stars, but I couldn't justify lowering it to 3.

Location is on the outer rim of the canals, however it is still convenient as there are trams available to the city centre just at the end of the street. However we chose to walk everywhere, it will take you roughly 20 mins to walk towards the centre. There is also a bike rental scheme at the hotel. In terms of arriving via train at Amsterdam Central, we took a taxi to and from the terminal, it cost roughly 15-20 euros and was 20-30 mins (dependent on traffic). It did take our taxi 15 mins from the time we called it to the time it picked us up to take us there so just be aware of that when leaving.

There is also a Lidl supermarket around the corner and another supermarket towards the city centre after the park if you need water or snacks.

Hotel is an older building refurbished, some of the rooms are a little more worn than others. There is about 4 stairs to get in to the hotel, so just something to note when taking your luggage up/down. Elevator is small and very slow, but we squeezed the 2 of us, our 2 large suitcases and 2 carry-ons in to the lift fine. Sometimes was quicker to walk up the stairs than wait for the lift.

We were given a room on the top floor, it was quite squishy. We did manage to have 2 suitcases open but it was tight walking around the room. The bathroom is very small as well. There is no air conditioning in the room, just an oil heater which was fine for us as we stayed in March and it was chilly and rained. You can open the window (usual european styles) to let air in. Room was very well cleaned, and always done by the staff before noon.

Bed was quite firm, but still comfortable enough to fall asleep. Room was a little noisy, we could hear the other drunk guests in their room but otherwise we didn't hear anyone else. TV had the usual english news channels and 2 additional english entertainment channels. Wi-fi was good, no issues with drop out.

Breakfast was decent for all included, nothing super fancy but fills you up enough. All the staff speak english, in general everyone in Amsterdam can speak english. Staff are all very friendly and always happy to have a chat to you (though again we found this throughout Amsterdam). The staff really do make a smaller older hotel in to something much nicer.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cloudy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was supposed to stay at Ibis Styles Amstel which was located 200 m away, but the hotel was overbooked so I stayed at Ibis Styles Amsterdam City instead. Not sure of the difference, as both properties look quite similar. The hotel was clean, with good amenities such as a lift and kettle (which is quite rare for Europe hotels for some reason). The wifi was also good and speedy. The breakfast spread was not bad. The staff were also polite and helpful. The neighbourhood was located in a quieter part of town and walkable to attractions such as Heineken Experience. However, the downside is the walls are thin and it can be noisy if you have inconsiderate neighbours. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Up to usual European Ibis standard.
The reception staff were always available, friendly, and happy to answer questions. No issue with the staff.
The rooms were clean and up to standard, however the bathroom had some very awkward manner in which the shower door would open - which meant a very wet and messy floor after showering. Also he telephone did not work in the room at all.
The only other gripe was the lift is EXTREMELY slow. One is quicker to use the stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airbus777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our room was comfortable, although there was a very faint smell of cigarettes. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good; continental style but with a few extra options such as scrambled eggs. The breakfast room is small, so if lots of people arrive at once you might need to share tables, take food over to the chairs in reception or just wait. The hotel is convenient for the trams, it's not right in the centre, but you can see that from the map.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HomerPerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here for 1 night, and I am glad that was all. The staff were great from the reception staff to the breakfast room staff. they were all really helpful, friendly, and attentive. However the room we had was really disappointing. I think if we had been staying longer I would have complained. We had the front room on the ground floor on the right of the lift. I think it was room 30. It was noisy from the road and the double glazing didn't really reduce it to a decent level. It was also quite cramped. We needed to separate the beds to two singles and had to rearrange the furniture in the small space available, the beds were also really narrow - barely 2 foot wide, and again this made them uncomfortable. Finally the toilet was shoe horned into a space in the bathroom that meant you had to sit on it sideways! Both of us are slim, a larger person would struggle to get on it at all! On the positive side the shower was great! It was also well positioned for walking to the Rijksmuseum, we walked there in 15 minutes. Also we did a really lovely canal walk all the way to Dam Square from the hotel and back.

I am sure there are nicer rooms in this hotel, in fact the room next door where we were able to leave our bags had more space. In a better room it would be a good value place to stay in a city where rooms do not seem to be cheap.

Room Tip: Avoid the front room on the ground floor that is on the right of the lift. I think it is no. 30.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheridanslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews