We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Hostel Amsterdam
Ranked #358 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at 'Hotel Princess' for 3 nights during June 2014, as part of a group of 11 lads on a stag weekend. It must be said that this is the WORST accomodation that I have ever had the displeasure to stay in.

From reading reviews, we weren't expecting a lot, but arriving to fresh pubes on one of the pillows is just a disgrace! In addition to this, the room had dirty, brown stained blankets, no hot water and was generally dirty.

The communal showers had a big clump of hair/pube rat for the duration of our stay. The toilet cubicle would have been a tight squeeze even for the borrowers and the toilet seat was hanging off!

Our group was spread across three rooms and one of the rooms had bed bugs found in the bed.

For anyone looking to book a trip to Amsterdam, I would advise that you spend a little more money and stay somewhere that at least understands basic hygeine!

.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Donna_Ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Okay so we get to the princess and walk in go up the stairs what look like they have not seen a hoover ever. We enter our room first thing we see is what looks to me like a sperm stain on the carpet as well as what may have been pubic hair inside the bed i say this as they was little black curly hairs.We had a room with two bunk beds and out of the four blankets not one looked clean brown stains all over them.Not sure how often the showers are cleaned as you walk in the one of the showers there was a lump of hair in the corner and was there for the four days we was there to top it off one of our other party members found bugs in his bed.The location on the other hand was very good was around 10 minute walk to the first amsterdam square i would go back to amsterdam but never again will i go to the princess unless it was flattened and rebuilt and then flattened and rebuilt again just to make sure!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nospacesmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Returned today from a 3 day stay in the Princess and must say we had the time of our lives. If you don't mind a lack of sleep due to noise, a place dirtier than sleeping outside on a bench and fancy laughing until you explode, then The Princess is for you. We booked 3 rooms of 4 beds for a stag do, and was literally laughing our heads off at the state of the place, especially when one of the group pulled back their duvet to discover a pile of pubic hair that had been left there by the previous occupant. We also had a couple of incidents of bed bug bites and found it hilarious when we saw a few in one of the beds. You are told not to open the windows, but the place does get quite hot and has a funny smell so we opened them anyway. The safe is €3 and the wifi is fast and free. The shared bathrooms are pretty well kept but do run out of toilet rolls and hand wash quite quickly. I recommend showering in your flip flops just incase as the place is a dive. I wouldn't stay at The Princess ever again, but I'm glad we did it because it made our stay so funny and memorable. The best thing about the hostel is it's location, you are close to everything that Amsterdam has to offer. We had the most amazing time in the Dam and part of that is down to The Princess, so I salute you and say thanks and farewell.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catskill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

So, this hotel/hostel is not only located in a great location, with trams running straight to Amsterdam Centraal Station right outside the premises, but it is also very accommodating. I had originally planned to arrive at 2200, already quite a late time to check in, however due to an issue I was going to be arriving at later than 1am!! Luckily, Manu was on duty and he arranged for me to be buzzed in (happily I arrived just past midnight), and had my room key card ready to go and I was in bed within 3 minutes of stepping foot in the building. VERY VERY happy with the staff here, especially Manu - first real piece of good luck in The Netherlands.

Wifi is also relatively quick, and beds are comfy too :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viranga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

When i booked this hostel and read the bad comentaries, i thouth people was exagerate. But now, my firts day here, im really disapointeded. First of all the equipe is very rude and impolite. The scalators is a nightmare! It make u regret to have leave your house with a luggagge (it is really terrible). About the room, its dirty and have a bad smell. I have been in others hostel with the same price and is the first time that i see a so bad place like this.

Thank Marina W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Engelien C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I went there with a friend to stay only for one night (thank god). Once we arrived at 11 am the recepcionist told us that we had to leave our bags and come back at 2 pm because that was the check in time. We just wanted to use the toilet and change clothes and the ignorant recepcionist told us in these words: "You can't sit here, just leave the bags. I told you this already I thought you spoke english".

I don't understand how this place can call itself a hotel, the rooms are very noisy and small. And the bathroom/toilet is also small and dirty. Don't go to this place.

1  Thank Yololoan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#268 of 373 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 373 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#165 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#256 of 373 in Amsterdam
766 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
West Side Inn Hotel
#306 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hostel Amsterdam

Address: Overtoom 80-I, 1054 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £18 - £670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Princess Hostel Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Princess Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing