We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect apartment in downtown Amsterdam”
Review of Palace B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace B&B
Ranked #26 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in the suite, a very large and nice apartment. There is a "living / breakfast room" with many big windows to let the bright sun in. The bed is in a room separated from the main space by heavy curtains to make it dark (if one wants) even in the summer daylight. The location is amazing, it took us 15 min to walk from and to the train station (and I suspect there are many transportation options to get here without walking). In front some artists were making lots of beautiful graffiti (sometimes it was a bit noisy at night, but this is Amsterdam city center!). The owner (we met only Rudy) is super friendly and nice; every morning he brings a basket of fresh bread/pastries to be added to the breakfast items which are stocked in the room (there is a fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, water boiler and we had cereals, cheese, meat, milk, yogurt, jams, chocolate, coffee, tea). Absolutely perfect. The stairs to go up are very steep, but after a couple times they get less scary :-).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DadaGoesAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Palace B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Palace B&B was absolutely fantastic and great value for money. We stayed in the suite for 6 nights which was almost the size of an apartment. A beautiful, large, light-filled room, facing the street, but not a busy street, so it was fairly quiet at night. Location was fantastic with everything within walking distance. The bedding, cleanliness, Wifi... all great... and where do i start with breakfast... it was so fresh and so plentiful... with freshly baked goodies at your door in the morning and much more in the fridge. It was nice to be able to have such a beautiful breakfast in your own room, in your own time. Thank you so much Rudy and Pia for your generosity and for making our stay so memorable. We love Amsterdam and we love the Palace B&B... we cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank effie388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our 3 nights stay at Palace B&B was absolutely perfect!
Everything is as described ,even better.
Fresh bread in the morning, fridge full of food/drinks, fresh towels every day, very clean room, perfectly located…
I highly recommend this place and will definitely go back there next time we travel to Amsterdam.
Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Seb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Recently spent 3 nights in the Garden Room. After several previous trips to AMS, being in the Centre brought a chance to truly get to know AMS. Rudy was great to help with our suitcases up those famous steps. And he even got up EARLY on the morning we left to help us down with the luggage.

The Palace became our "home" to which we would return for brief rest before heading out again. We enjoyed being able to bring take out to warm in the microwave. And we looked firward each morning to see the treats in the bag of goodies left for breakfast. Rudy and Pia were very thoughtful!

We hope to return to AMS snd enjoy the Palace again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneN97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a great place. We had the suite which was like a small apartment, the room didn't face the front road, I guess that was designed purposely to avoid any noise from the street. It was warm, quiet, great comfy bed, perfect. The living room is big, it has 3 great windows that let lots of light in and this is where you have your breakfast. For us this was the super highlight of our stay. You have your coffee making machine, a fridge with all the bits for your breakfast, cereals, yogurts, ham, chese, etc and then every morning, they leave you a bag outside the front of your room with fresh bread, pastries, fruit... Heaven. Just that, the fact that you don't have to rush for breakfast, you don't have to make conversation with strangers when you are still asleep, ... You can just make your own breakfast in your own room, with the sun coming through the window, just wonderful. On our last day we were having breakfast 2hours before our flight departure, this is how convenient and well located this place is. It's just behind the main square but quiet enough that you don't feel you are in the middle of it.

We loved it- thank you so very much for a wonderful break!! Hopefully we will come

back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Lovely stay at the Palace B&B. Very friendly hosts and Barney is just great ! Very good location, excellent advice and help getting taxis and directions. Very clean, spacious accommodation. Rudy and Pia were very friendly and accommodating,we would highly recommend !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our stay at the Palace B&B could only be described as excellent. Our host Rudy could not have been more helpful and very considerate, we were for want of nothing. The room was spacious with all necessary amenities and more! It's extremely easy to walk around Amsterdam from this location, excellent restaurants and cafes nearby. This was our first time in Amsterdam and because of our positive experience we are planning another trip very soon with the hope of staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#128 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,040 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,197 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#89 of 371 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Quartier Neuf
B&B Quartier Neuf
#47 of 337 in Amsterdam
106 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 337 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 337 in Amsterdam
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace B&B

Address: Spuistraat 224, 1012 VT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £115 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed and breakfast is a minute's walk from the Royal Palace at Dam Square. The rooms on the upper floors have magnificent views of the palace and the skyline of this wonderful old city. You are in the heart of Amsterdam. This bed and breakfast has beautiful rooms and suites with high ceilings and very big windows. You can gaze at all the dynamism of the city from the vantage point of your suite and enjoy Amsterdam's changing scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palace B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing