We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment - but if the red light district worries you, give it a miss!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Friendzz B&B Amsterdam
Ranked #276 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2009

I stayed her for three nights in September, after a business trip to London. Arriving, I think there had been an overbooking issue, so I was given the first floor room, which is normally not used for guests. Was massive! On the second morning, I moved upstairs to the larger of the two guest rooms.

Good things: breakfast, although it did get smaller each morning, I noticed. I wondered if they were running out of pantry items; the location - close to everything, but in the red light district so if that concerns you, give it a miss; cleanliness, the rooms were all in good repair

Bad things: there isn't an ensuite, just a separate toilet and the shower and basin are actually in the bedroom! Rather odd...; the breakfast portions that kept decreasing (see point above); actually finding the place! I dragged my heavy suitcases for ages and just couldn't find the right street - the directions I was given were a little misleading.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbourne_Female
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2009

friendzz was friendly, clean, good breakfast. some might be put off by the location but it's pretty central and there's always something to look at out the window. had the room with ensuite shower and wc....would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angrylilazngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Clean, quiet, walking distance to station, museums, entertainment, shops, restaurants, coffeeshops. I loved the way the room was decorated to give it a more personal touch. And it has the biggest shower head I've ever seen! Got a picture to prove it... :-)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

My wife and I stayed at this B&B, looking for nicer accomidations and less money than Hotels in Amsterdam. We had a great room, awesome bed, and a great location if you want to stay in the Red Light District and still have quietness. The only thing we were not used to was having to share a common bathroom (but had our own shower and sink). The owners were very nice and brought a terrific and large breakfest. In addition, they allowed us access to their wireless internet which was a big help.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brett13sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2007

Friendzz was a nice place to stay for a couple of days. The room was a little bit small, with sink in the bedroom and no bath, but that was ok. The bed was super comfortable and breakfast was served in our room, which was a nice touch. However, for those squeamish folks, Friendzz is located smack dab in the middle of the red light district. Never a problem though, hey, it's Amsterdam. One thing though, their credit card machine was not working so we had to pay in cash (was given a small discount though), which was an inconvenience. Make sure it's working when you book if you need it. Otherwise, pleasant overall stay.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eroq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

If you are looking for acommodation bang, slap! in the middle of the red light district, then this is it. The B&B is pleasant enough. The room we stayed in was at the top of the house so there are steep stairs to negotiate. The room itself was very nice with a fabulous water bed, good size TV with interesting satellite channels & en-suite shower & toilet.

There is no communal area to eat, the breakfast is delivered to your door every morning & is a mini feast! There is a sense that once you have checked in you are on your own & left to your own devices which is good as the owners were non-intrusive, however this was a bit of a problem for us on check out day as we wanted to leave our bags for a few hours but couldn't as there was nobody around so we used the station lockers at an additional cost.

There is no sign outside the B&B so you wouldn't even think it was an official B&B (perhaps it isn't) & we were asked to pay cash up front for the entire stay when we first arrived. This wasn't mentioned at the time of the booking & I thought was a bit unusual.........The views are great if you want to look into a working prostitute's window which gets a bit tiresome even by day when you go to open your curtains in the morning.......there is lots of noise & lots to see as the B&B is opposite the Moulin Rouge club & it goes on until the early hours.

We enjoyed it but sort of regret staying in a place that was so noisy. It's a great location if you want to be in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrystalandShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2007

We booked this B&B through the AmsterdamBy.com website and when the description of the place came we were filled with trepidation -- right in the heart of the Red Light District!

Well we needn't have been concerned. It was a quiet, upmarket en suite room with all the mod cons needed. Marcel was attentive and helped us wherever he could. Despite the location we were safe and really within a 2 - 3 minute walk from everything.

Some problems are that taxis do not go into that area of town during the day and it is a fair walk from Central Station when you are lugging suitcases! Secondly, they have 2 sites -- one at 34 Agterburgwal and the other (where we stayed) at 109 Agter Voorgburgwal. We thought we were booked at 34 but later found we were at 109 -- which was great!

Breakfasts are a feast and Marcel brings it right to your door. There is satellite TV with some really interesting channels! The bed has to be the most comfortable bed we have slept on in Amsterdam. The room has a little balcony with table and chairs for summertime breakfasts or tea and coffee.

We hope to be back come tulip time!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Rotgif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#219 of 373 in Amsterdam
140 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#333 of 373 in Amsterdam
673 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#264 of 373 in Amsterdam
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendzz B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendzz B&B Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 34 huis, 1012 DN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing