We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wauw, excellent and not expensive”

Restaurant Johannes
Reserve with
Restaurant Johannes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wauw, excellent and not expensive”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

perfect
best meal i have head in years
great view on the Herengracht, excellent food for a very good price

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoJoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    787
    177
    40
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My Nr 1 in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Besides the friendly and perfect service and the lovely location, the restaurant convinced us of its quality in every course!!! You can choose between 4 to 7 courses and the chefs will do their magic to surprise you with a fantastic meal. AND YOU WILL LOVE ALL OF THOSE 4 TO 7 SURPRISES!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Gourmet87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

this meal was one of the best meals that we've had. A must when your in amsterdam - we sat outside over looking the canal, the meal was either 4,5,6, or 7 courses - we chose 4 and we weren't disappointed

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I ate at Johannes a while ago with a couple of friends of mine.Great food from 2 very talented chefs who created a concept that is simply the best: Surprise menu without unpleasant surprises.
Front of house staff is very proffessional. They ask if you dont like certain things and guide you pleasantly and friendly through the evening.I will recommend this restaurant to everyone who wants to have an outstanding dining experience.Great winelist as well btw.
Pascal Antibes

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply stunning!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If there is one thing you should do when you go to Amsterdam, it's going to Johannes. My husband and I were visiting just for the weekend, to celebrate our 1st year wedding anniversary. We are massive foodies, so prior to the trip I had stumbled upon their website whilst exploring potential places to go and thought it looked right up our street. Honestly, we couldn't have made a better decision. The staff were so friendly and accommodating and the restaurant has such a humble but buzzing vibe to it. We chose to go with the 5 course dinner with wine pairing. My Goodness, it was quite simply out of this world. The presentation and flavour combinations were second to none and the wines paired with each course were so complimentary to each dish - just such a wonderful experience. Needless to say, we left full to the brim and grinning from ear-to-ear. For a special occasion, or a delicious meal with a loved one - you can't go wrong. Simply stunning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Johannes also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Johannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing