We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in upcoming area”
Review of Hotel De Hallen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel De Hallen
Ranked #30 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stylish hotel in upcoming area”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The former tram remise in the brand new Hallen district will be turned into a new creative complex with TV studio's, new craftsmen, fashion designers, an arthouse cinema and several restaurants. The hotel already opened its doors. De Hallen is a warm and stylish hotel, with great architectural details, a Scandinavian inspired interior, compact rooms and a very friendly staff. The hotel is part of the small boutique hotel chain Vondel Hotels. Perfect for a business trip or young couples who want to explore the upcoming West area, with great bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincentvDijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Vincent,

Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel.
Our hotel is located in an up and coming neighbourhood and we are a part of a big complex De Hallen. In just a few weeks all the outlets you mentioned will open their doors as well. This will certainly give our guests the opportunity to enjoy the neighbourhood even more.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager - Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    253
    26
    18
    6
See reviews for
76
493
39
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my husbands birthday it is a gorgeous place , cool, stylist and clean . The staff are so friendly and helpful , the atmosphere is easy going and friendly room was a amazing !! Worth every penny can't wait to go back :) we had 2 nights in a suite on the 3rd floor the room was large, bright and perfectly clean everything we could of asked for, room service was prompt and staff where wonderful We loved this place

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lspil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Lspil,

Thank you very much for your great compliments! It was a pleasure having you in our hotel. I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel; since it serves as a great motivational tool for all of us!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.

Best regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed the first time in this hotel, an employee had chosen it and I thought, it can't be great with the price they were charging, so I went there in a mood of no expectation. And then: wow, wow, wow.
Friendly greeting at the front desk and a very warm welcome, as if I would have stayed there already a thousand times, a helpful guy with the luggage, very attentive waiters in the evening, very attentive waiter for breakfast and a very nice staff when checking out.
I have to say, I was so astonished that I looked up in the internet to which group this hotel belongs or who the owner is and then I saw: Vondelhotels - and I have to say, my second beloved hotel from a feeling-home perspective is the Roemer hotel and it's the same group.
Obviously the staff has been trained extremely well and the best thing about is, everybody treated us as if it comes from the heart and not because it's a direction from the management. Thank you!

Only disadvantage: you can't open the windows of the rooms. So the hotel is close to perfection from my point of view. 5 star hotels should send their staff and let them stay there one night to see what good service means.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the Junior Suites and there you can open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas_H151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Andreas,

Thank you very much for your great words and thank you very much for choosing our hotel! I am proud to learn you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this.
I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel; since it serves as a great motivational tool for all of us!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.
Best regards,
Mark TImo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our check-in was done professionally by Joyce, who took her time to explain where everything was in the hotel and around the neighborhood. This certainly gave a great first impression. Our room was on the ground floor and pretty small but nice/impressive at first glance, although it lacked natural light.
Once we started to experience the space there were a number of points that stood out:
- Our use of the bathroom was crushed by the very low water pressure that came out of the shower. Awful.
- When trying to make use of the coffee machine placed on a shelf, the space to get to it was blocked by a huge heavy chair placed in front of it! There was minimal space to move the chair and when moved made an terrible skreeching sound on the concrete (and cold) floor.
- 3 capsules of coffee for two guests in a 150 euro room stands for a bad Dutch attitude & poor service
- we were woken in the morning by the loud slamming of doors echoing through the building

Room Tip: If you like modern design, something to talk about, good intensions, a concept driven idea & som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Mrs. Bronwyn,

Thank you for sharing your experiences, your feedback is of the outmost important for me and for the team of Hotel De Hallen.

Thank you for your positive comments, it is great to read this because we just opened and are open for good ideas and improvements.

Next time please inform our Front Desk directly so we can make your stay even more comfortable. We will check our shower pressure because it should be a nice rain shower. We provide standard 3 nespresso coffee capsules per day but if you need more we are very happy to bring this to your room.

Should travels bring you to Amsterdam once more in the future, we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in the unusual, stylish and new Hotel De Hallen. The room was very comfortable and quiet with a huge bed. Special thanks to the staff who were beyond helpful and recommended us some local attractions that were not in our tour guides.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roma-time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Roma-Time,

Thank you very much for your kind words and thank you very much for choosing Hotel De Hallen. I am proud to learn you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this.

I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel; since it serves as a great motivational tool for all of us!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.
Best regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a new hotel and they're still perfecting their rhythm. The staff is kind, but still learning. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the outside courtyard of the hotel. It was an airy, contemporary room with high ceilings. It had a really nice feel. The only issue in the busy months is the smoke and noise from the courtyard in that particular room. The restaurant in the hotel was nothing special. We were able to walk to take the tram to where we needed to go. The bed was comfortable. It was a memorable stay. One note....most taxis do not know of this hotel and where it is, so finding it may be challenging. Be sure to look at images of the building so you know what to look for...or look for the flag on top of the hotel that says Hotel De Hallen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BovaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Bovary,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and the time you took to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. I am proud to learn that you really enjoyed you stay with us and highly recommend our staff member’s friendly and helpful service. I am also happy to read that your room was to your wishes.

Indeed we are a new hotel, at check in we provide a card with the address details of the hotel. If you show this to the taxi driver, they will find the hotel.

Should travels bring you to Amsterdam once more in the future, we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It was not easy to find the hotel.
It is situated on the side street.it took us almost one hour to get there from the train station on foot.
It is a lovely hotel..the bedroom is very stylish and the bed was comfortable.
Free wifi was a bonus.
The only snag is that on the second day, there was hardly anything left for hot breakfast, no bacon, no mushroom, although it was 9.45 am.
No body to offer us coffee or any drinks.
Apart from the slight niggle at breakfast, we had a pleasant stay.
Breakfast is 30 euro for two persons.

Room Tip: Free wifi and clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kush815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Kush,

Thank you very much for your kind words and thank you very much for choosing Hotel De Hallen! I am proud to learn you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this.

The location of Hotel De Hallen is very close to the Jordaan area. Tram 13 and 17 stops at the corner of the Hotel and is only 10 minutes from Central Station. By foot it should take around 30 minutes.

Thank you for your comment about the breakfast. A good learning point for us, please note including the breakfastprice we have ala carte items which you can choose and will be made freshly made by our kitchen.

I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel; since it serves as a great motivational tool for all of us!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.

Best regards,

Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,103 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#27 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,029 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#33 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,089 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#5 of 367 in Amsterdam
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Hallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Hallen

Property: Hotel De Hallen
Address: Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Hallen 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Hallen is situated in one of Amsterdam's finest industrial heritage sites. The blue steel and rusty highlights of the grand building become an inspiration to each and every one of our guests. Imagine spacious surroundings with an abundance of plants, brought to perfection with modern furniture and design and decorated with a selection of contemporary art, handpicked by the owner. The modern facilities and quality of service are outstanding. Dishes from the cuisine are served not only in the bar, restaurant, lobby and pavement cafe, but also in our meeting room in boardroom setup. The fashion and museum districts, Amsterdam's breathtaking canals and the Jordaan district are all within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you soon in Hotel De Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, Lastminute, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Hallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing