We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel De Hallen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel De Hallen
Ranked #29 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We kind of were the first costumers *proud*
The hotel was just opening, and we were happy to have found it.
The decoration's great, the staff is nice, the atmosphere quiet…
If I remember correctly the breakfast is a bit expensive but there are cafés around to eat in the morning :)
Overall, great experience, I'd go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Lauren F,

Thank you for taking the time writing your kind review.
We hope we can welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    251
    26
    16
    5
See reviews for
76
485
39
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just got back from an unplanned visit to this hotel! My friend and I had booked a 2 night stay at Hotel Vondel, where we were told we could have a free upgrade to a deluxe double room at their new hotel down the road, Hotel de Hallen. We were unsure but decided to go for it (and I'm so glad we did!) We were transported in a complimentary taxi to the hotel, which is a modern converted tram depot, and pulling up our hearts sank a little. Situated next to a huge building site, with an exterior that looks less than authentic 'Amsterdam,' I really wondered whether we had made the right choice. (Hotel Vondel is down a tiny street next to Vondel Park, so is hard to beat for European charm!)

HOWEVER...as soon as we walked in we realised how beautiful and contemporary this hotel was. The reception staff were the most helpful and friendly we had ever experienced, immediately pointing things out on maps for us and planning tours and attractions as we only had a short stay and experienced a delayed flight. The decor around the building was stunning, and the vibe of the hotel was great - we felt like VIP's. Our room was lovely, and after being drenched from thunderstorms the bathrobes and slippers were truly appreciated! I'd say the only thing missing from the room was a bit more natural daylight, but it really isn't possible because of the layout of the old building, and the conversion is the best it could possibly be.

The neighbourhood is a perfect location; far enough out to feel like you're living among the locals and avoiding tourist traps but close enough to central Amsterdam. Many attractions are walking distance, or the tram is close by if your feet need a rest. (We bought tram tickets from reception too) The bar and restaurant area is very inviting, with a nice terrace, although we decided to skip brekkie as it was rather pricey and we were on a budget.

To top off our wonderful stay, on our last night we were given a complimentary bottle of wine as my friend's birthday was a few days later. this was such a lovely surprise, as we hadn't mentioned to any staff about the occasion, they must have noticed from the passport and took the initiative. So thoughtful, and doubt it would have happened in any other hotel which we paid the same good-value-for-money room rate for.

It really feels like nothing is too much bother for the staff, they even printed out directions for us for our canal cruise. Every single member of staff was so friendly and kind, which I rarely find in hotels and restaurants.

Thanks once again for a wonderful stay in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Jadey21,

Thank you so much for writing your thorough review about our hotel.
We were very thankful to have you as our guests.
We really hope you had a wonderful birthday!
Next year you will come back to celebrate it with us?

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed 6 nights at this awesome hotel. From the moment I walked in - the felt right at home and so comfortable. The staff is wonderful and the hotel is just gorgeous. Its brand new and the entire place has just got a great vibe. The rooms were so comfortable! I arrived and there was a handwritten note along with a bouquet of white roses -- just because! The location is perfect as well. I would recommend renting bikes, and you are less than 10 minutes away from really everything. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone is wants a happy, relaxing stay in Amsterdam. I was so sad to leave. I will be back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnisaHusain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Anisa,

We appreciate the time you took to share your personal feedback regarding to your stay at Hotel De Hallen.

We kindly want to thank you for recommending our hotel so highly, and we are very pleased that you have spent an enjoyable time in Amsterdam and our Hotel.

It will be an honour to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Mark Timo Jansen, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend were lucky to get a great offer for this outstanding design hotel through the App "Hotel Tonight". The room was great, we loved the design and would totally recommend this place to our friends! A perfect stay in Amsterdam!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jürgen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Jürgen M,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam.
We are very glad you have enjoyed your time with us!

Hope to welcome you back on your next trip to this city.

Kind regards,


Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights and From the moment we arrived we were made to feel VIP. Beautiful first impression of hotel layout, facilities and staff.
Riding bikes from here is an absolute must, best and easiest way to see all of Amsterdam only takes 15 mins on bike to get everywhere. staff are so helpful with directions/ where to eat and will book any tourist tickets for you.
The hotel Was a little harder for us to find then it should of been, it has 2 large blue flags on the roof to look for and the restaurant name is remise47 which signs are more visible for.

Cannot wait to stay here again. This place and the amazing resturant food have been the absolute highlight of our travels.
Thank you Anneloes and the team!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Teal88,

It was such a please having you and Amanda as our guests in Hotel De Hallen.
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. As you travelled through the city, you have experienced Amsterdam as if you were locals.

May you return to Amsterdam, let me assure you our entire team is looking forward welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This newly completed hotel in a former tram depot is very comfortable and its staff obviously very proud of it. We had an upper room which was well ventilated with air conditioning - a godsend in the heatwave. Compact but well designed and and excellent Coco-Mat bed. Sadly not currently available in the UK... The location is a little off the beaten track - 40mins- an hour to the most central area but very handy for the western canal belt and Jordaan. Also, I imagine the museums of Museumplein. There is lots going on in the area about - unassuming bars that attract a young and lively late crowd within 10 mins walk. Interior design is very pleasant. Stay here while they still offer good deals!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Nick T,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing your kind review.
We are very proud you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much!
On behalf of the entire team of Hotel De Hallen we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at Hotel De Hallen over the weekend & were excited to arrive after reading the great reviews. First impressions were great, the building is lovely and really unique. The restaurant and bar area opens right up into the courtyard which looked beautiful in the sunshine!
Staff were faultless, so friendly and helpful. We asked to switch rooms after seeing we had twin beds instead of a double and this was immediate adhered to without it being made to feel like a hassle. They they called the room later to check everything was ok with the new room.
I would suggest getting a first floor room because the ground floor ones, as lovely as they are, have no window because of the way the old building has been restored so no natural light which I personally find strange, especially on a morning! But we did select a room with no view so no fault of the hotel, I'm just dozy an assumed that meant no good view not no view at all!
I would also recommend hiring bikes because it makes getting around so easy and the bikes they provide are really cute and safe.
Would 100% stay here again and recommend it to friends, keep up the great work Hotel De Hallen and thank you :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Y1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Y1988,

It's really great to read your kind review about our hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time writing your comments online. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam, and that we could be a part of this.
Indeed the hotel offers rooms with windows looking outside as well. Upon availability all of our guests are offered to change the room types they originally booked.

If you return to Amsterdam and choose our hotel again for your stay, I am more than happy to advise you in making your reservation personally.

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,068 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#28 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,012 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#30 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,052 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#6 of 368 in Amsterdam
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Hallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Hallen

Property: Hotel De Hallen
Address: Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Hallen 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Hallen is situated in one of Amsterdam's finest industrial heritage sites. The blue steel and rusty highlights of the grand building become an inspiration to each and every one of our guests. Imagine spacious surroundings with an abundance of plants, brought to perfection with modern furniture and design and decorated with a selection of contemporary art, handpicked by the owner. The modern facilities and quality of service are outstanding. Dishes from the cuisine are served not only in the bar, restaurant, lobby and pavement cafe, but also in our meeting room in boardroom setup. The fashion and museum districts, Amsterdam's breathtaking canals and the Jordaan district are all within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you soon in Hotel De Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Lastminute, Priceline, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Hallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing