We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De Hallen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel De Hallen
Ranked #28 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My fiance and I went to Amsterdam for 4 nights in August. The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the main city centre, including the train station. Due to it being slightly outside, prices of restaurants and vars within the vicinity are slightly cheaper than that of the main stretch; including a delightful little ice cream shop just around the corner.

The hotel was beautiful and the staff we very helpful. The hotel is small too which creates a nice atmosphere. It has a restaurant too which we had lunch at one day (Bitterballen - recommended whilst in Amsterdam). The meal was very nice, a little expensive however Amsterdam is an expensive city in my opinion.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor (third) in what used to be the managers office (the hotel used to be a tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieRose91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear JamieRose91,

Thank you for your kind words. I am very glad you have enjoyed your stay here.
Indeed our hotel is located in a local up and coming neighbourhood which gives you the opportunity to look for better restaurants in a more quite area than the busy center.
Luckily the hotel is surrounded by six different tram lines, all within 5 minutes walking distance.

Hope we will see you soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    237
    26
    15
    5
See reviews for
70
467
36
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in August and absolutely loved the hotel.
As other reviews have said - the staff are beyond helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
Stayed over my birthday which they noticed from my passport and were surprised with a chilled bottle of wine on our return from a day out which was a lovely touch and a nice start to the evening's celebrations.
Hotel is quite far out, but there's plenty of tram options a short walk away to get into the city.
We walked back from Dam Square a few times which is a pretty long way but a nice way to see the city and not too hard going with a few drink stops on the way!
We had a room with no window but this didn't really bother us at all - just had a quick look out the front to check the weather.
Didn't eat in the hotel but have no doubt the food would have been as brilliant as everything else.
Attention to detail is wonderful and would like to go back and stay - but also like others have said my only worry is it won't be a secret for long!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank evg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear evg85,

Thank you very much for sharing your (positive) opinion about our hotel on TripAdvisor.
It really makes every single one of our team members happy to read we reached such a high guest satisfaction for your stay.
We hope your husband had a wonderful birthday and you have celebrated it well. But in the city of Amsterdam, that should not have been a problem!

Hope to see you soon, or at least next year so we can celebrate it again. Please note for any future reservations: if you would prefer a room with more natural daylight, you can contact me personally, as the hotel offers different room types.

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is lovely!
The reception staff were extremely helpful from the moment we checked in. Supplying us with maps and information on what we can do, see and the best way to do this. All the staff were really friendly, making sure we had everything we wanted.
The room had everything we need to make our stay comfortable......comfy bed, great shower and even an English plug socket!
You can book museum tickets /tram tickets from reception which is really handy as some of the queues are an hour long! You can walk into the city centre in about 10-15 minutes.
The hotel was impeccably clean, modern and quirky. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Kirsty R,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing such a positive review.
It is great to read you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam, and I feel proud that our hotel and its team members have been a part of this. I will definitely share your nice comments with the housekeeping department. Their input is always highly respected by all of us, and it is wonderful you share your appreciation.

Hopefully we will see each other again soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were 2 couples staying in Amsterdam for the first time and what a wonderful weekend it was. This experience was definitely made all the better by the fantastic hotel staff. As this trip was pretty much a last minute idea we really had no idea what we wanted to do whilst there but we wanted to cram in as much as possible. Anneloes was so helpful, she gave us ideas, maps and directions and ensured we didn't waste a minute of our stay. It was my friends birthday while we were there and the staff surprised him with a gift of his choice of 2 free cocktails from the bar which absolutely made his day, a lovely touch! The rooms are lovely and the lack of natural light didn't bother us, we were only there at night so didn't notice it. We never ate in the restaurant but that was only because we were out early and gone all day but the menu looked lovely and were we staying longer we definitely would have had a meal there. The location of the hotel is in a lovely quiet location, this does have its advantages as the bars there are very trendy and not over crowded with tourists and the locals were friendly and made us welcome. We plan to return to Amsterdam again, my only concern is that this lovely new hotel is going to become so popular that we won't be able to get in and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Samantha F,

I want to personally thank you for your kind words, and sharing these on TripAdvisor.
It is really nice to read you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and that we could be a part of this.
For any future reservations you can always contact me personally by writing an email to anneloes@hoteldehallen.com, so I can make sure we still have a room to your preferences available.
Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The staff are beyond friendly and helpful. Provide a glass of water for every guest at front desk which was great during a heat wave! More than happy to help you with anything. Facilities were outstanding however the bathroom is split into two sections, the shower is glass and beside a mirror so if you aren't staying with a partner look away!
Downside was there was no window in the room to outside, but air conditioning solved the heat problem.
A little out of the city centre but a tram stop is about a 5minute walk away so very easily accessible. Couldn't recommend staying here anymore. We were young travellers and sometimes you can receive a bad reception but not at all here! Would love to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kransin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Kransin,

Wow! So great to read your recommendation, thank you very much!
The hotel also offers room with more private bathrooms. For any future stays I can help you making the reservation according to your own preferences.

Looking forward welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Got a good deal booking this hotel last minute. Its 10-15 mins combined tram ride and walk from Dam square, so nicely away from the hustle and bustle, but realy easy to get to Lovely new, clean hotel, great rooms and excellent service, really quiet in an up and coming park of Amsterdam. Felt very safe in the area. We would definately return here. Staff are really friendly and helpful, excellent English. We didnt eat at the hotel, so can't comment on food, but really can't fault hotel in any way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Tim H,

It's so great to read you really enjoyed your stay with us.
Maybe on your next visit to Amsterdam you can enjoy our restaurant Remise47 as well?
For any future reservations, you can always contact me personally.

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My family stopped here for 3 days , and loved the rooms . The temperature controls were really nice to have , and the staff were really friendly and helpful . Fiona was really kind and welcoming , and helped us navigate the city , we couldn't of asked for more . Definitely recommend this place
Sue :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor have less noises .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Sue H,

Thank you for taking the time writing your nice recommendation about our hotel.
Proudly I have complimented Fiona personally she delivered such a satisfying service.

On behalf of the entire team we are looking forward welcoming you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
949 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 364 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#8 of 364 in Amsterdam
305 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Hallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Hallen

Property: Hotel De Hallen
Address: Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Hallen 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Hallen is situated in one of Amsterdam's finest industrial heritage sites. The blue steel and rusty highlights of the grand building become an inspiration to each and every one of our guests. Imagine spacious surroundings with an abundance of plants, brought to perfection with modern furniture and design and decorated with a selection of contemporary art, handpicked by the owner. The modern facilities and quality of service are outstanding. Dishes from the cuisine are served not only in the bar, restaurant, lobby and pavement cafe, but also in our meeting room in boardroom setup. The fashion and museum districts, Amsterdam's breathtaking canals and the Jordaan district are all within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you soon in Hotel De Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Hallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing