We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten track” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Ranked #181 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had a lovely time last weekend at this hotel - the staff was friendly and the rooms nice and big as well as the bathrooms - the breakfast is average - nice bar area - had a good deal through Travelzoo - think there is a bit of renovation going on so the few faults could easily be overseen. The hotel is about 20min by tram from the Centraal Station but 2min walk from the stop to the hotel which makes it very convenient.

Room Tip: We had rooms in an adjoining building - if you smoke this is convenient to go out for a sigarette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    632
    337
    178
    124
See reviews for
179
731
97
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is the second time I´ve stayed at this hotel and I´ve been satisfied with both stays. The check in went fast and the receptionist gave us all the information we needed. The room is very clean and we had everything that we needed. The hotel is a 10-15 minutes walk from Leidseplein, but this is a nice walk and on the road can you also visit the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. Since we just stayed for one night, didn´t we use all of the facilities at the hotel, but can recommend this hotel if you are going to Amsterdam. Will use this hotel again if I going back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppvoguest, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Erik,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and appreciation of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read you had such a good stay with us at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam and thank you for returning to our hotel again.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.



Kind regards,


Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

stayed here for a birthday trip to the dam and was pleased at the standard of the hotel, we booked via easyjet so great value for money! we were not expecting a great standard due to the great location and the great price but were amazed at the funky decor lovely clean rooms, and the very friendly staff. The bar is pretty amazing a must for a night cap! very good location trams run near by and the lovley vondlepark is next door which is a must see! excellent! cant wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppvoguest, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Samantha,

Thank you for expressing your appreciation of the accommodating service you have experienced from our staff.

It is a real pleasure to read you had such a good, even brilliant, stay with us at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam and we have exceeded your expectation.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, in the near future when another birthday or special celebration, brings you back to the area!


Best regards,


Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Loved our stay at the Park Palza, Vondelpark. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were very comfortable, however looking at the photo's on tripadvisor it seems that they differ in decor and size. We had room 45 which was spacious and warm, our friends had room 11 which was much smaller and very cold. They asked for an extra duvet which was provided. Breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice but the food wasn't kept very hot. On departure day we were able to leave our bags in a secure room as our flight home was late at night. We thought that the location of the hotel was very good, it was about a 20 minute walk through the Vondelpark to reach the Leidsplein but it was no problem. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorraibenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppvoguest, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Madame,

Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you consider staying with us on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Please let us know if we can assist you with your next reservation. It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

This hotel has a 4* rating, which it probably shouldn't have. The rooms are rather small, and very basic! and don't get tricked into the 'premium standard' room classification - it's just a basic room. It was however well taken care of, cleaned every day, the towels were changed, as a welcome there were 2 large bottles of water and fruit bowl.
It's in a very good location, with minute walk to lovely huge park, fantastic for morning walks, but also within minutes walk of the Museum Square and Leidseplain, which is great for small bars and clubs. Even though the street it's on is rather quiet and residential, you are within a walking distance to so many places it feels like you are in the very centre of the city!
The hotel has very friendly and helpful staff with whatever it is that you need.
All in all it was a fabulous stay and good value for money! I would certainly recommend staying in that hotel, and would definitely go back there again should I be stopping by in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Would suggest rooms facing the park, just for a nicer view! the street rooms are still really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aneta_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppvoguest, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Madame,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that our hotel is your choice now when staying in Amsterdam.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area!


Best regards,


Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed at the Park Plaza on a Saturday night in January. Overall the experience was very pleasant and will definitely consider staying again.

Location: a 10 min tram ride away from the central area the hotel is located in a leafy suburb on the edge of Vondelpark. A beautiful, serene area ideal for those who want a bit of peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Trams run every couple of minutes and teh stop is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

Service: typically Dutch hospitality. Very friendly staff who spoke impeccable English and who went out their way to make your experience as pleasant as possible. We booked an early morning flight from England on Saturday returning late Sunday as we wanted to make the most of the weekend. Was allowed to leave the luggage behind outside of the normal check in/out times which was very convenient. Staff also offered extensive information of the area.

Room: very well appointed and great value for money. We opted for one of the prepaid bed and breakfast options. A few novelties of the room included a Nespresso machine, a pink arm chair and a weird glass bathroom (ensure that you are extremely comfortable with your room companion as privacy is an issue as other reviewers will vouch).

Overall though a great experience and great value for money - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niceduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppvoguest, Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Sir and Madame,

Thank you for recommending Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam.

It is a pleasure to read you had such a good stay with us at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam. Thank you for expressing your appreciation of the accommodating service you have experienced from our staff.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam or to one of our affiliated hotels, in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area!


Best regards,


Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at the Park Plaza near Vondelpark last weekend and were fairly underwhelmed with the hotel. As we got it at a reasonable price I can't complain too much about the worn looking carpets and wash basin that needed refurbishing (or chucking out!).

But I think what really changed the hotel from being a nice, good value hotel in a lovely location to somewhere I know I will never return to was the toilet arrangement. The toilet and shower were behind a glass partition, which didn't reach the ceiling. Not great! I can cope with being on display when on the loo, but hated the idea of stinking out the bedroom. We took to using the downstairs loo if we needed to make a smell, and it seemed quite a few other people were doing that as well.

Other than that the hotel staff were very friendly, and the bed was AMAZING!! We ended up sleeping in on both occasions. The breakfast was delicious and there was a massive choice. And the location was pretty good, a wee bit out of town, but we hired bikes and could be at Leidesplein within 10 mins, and the tram from there was even quicker.

So overall if you can handle the bathroom situation I would recommend this hotel. As we couldn't I won't be going back.

For a tip for visiting Amsterdam, rent bikes, they were fantastic for getting us around all the sites and visit the Ij brewery, much better than the famous green one!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madcow4985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#89 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#127 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#124 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#154 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#134 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#167 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing