We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel out of the main bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Ranked #174 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice hotel out of the main bustle”
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. The room was clean and serviced daily. Slightly old decor but plain and fine. The double bed was two singles pushed together and two single duvets, but still comfortable. Although the weather was very cold, the room was always lovely and warm.
I was a bit worried after reading (after booking) reviews of the dubious bathrooms. Thankfully our room was in the main building so we had a full frosted glass wall/door to it, rather than the creative excuse for one that other reviewers have described. Still not the best for privacy, but could be worse!
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We used the advertised free wi-fi in the bar and were shown to where we could use a printer (next to the front desk).
We didn't eat at the hotel as it's so easy to travel elsewhere for cafes, etc. There are plenty of bakeries and delis nearby. The no.2 tram to the town centre is 1 minute along the road and very regular.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmastraat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    654
    349
    181
    126
See reviews for
188
754
105
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

the hotel could not be faulted. the location is perfect , next to the vondelpark, for a stroll into town. Or a minute from the tram stop. The room was very luxurious and the facilities good. The breakfasts was a fine selection food. The staff spoke several languages and were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The quality of this accommodation made our stay in this fascinating city just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Hotel is in a great location beside the Museum Platz. Amsterdam is a very easy city to navigate with fab public transport links so never worry too much about this. The rooms are lovely and is a little piece of luxury - however we got a cheap rate online room only. Breakfast is a whopping 25 euro per person extra. We ate in local cafes instead however they were tricky enoug to find, especially if you are looking for an early morning start. I have seen this hotel advertised at much higher rates so shop around and budget for your brekkie accordingly!
On the big plus the hotel is clean and staff friendly.
The only other thing I would highlight is the slightly open-plan nature of the bathroom to bedroom - my personal tip is turn the TV on if you want some privacy!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supaberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Hotel, although located in a very nice area of usally bustling Amsterdam is a little far out of town. Car is not recommended and the Tram 2 stops more or less outside, however 20 minute walk to Leidesplein and another 20 minutes to Centraal Station

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I booked this hotel because it is supposed to be near the Museums Quarter. But there is still a good walk there (not next door by a long shot) and, Amsterdam being what it is, it makes a lot of sense to try and stay downtown if possible. The Rijksmuseum has a massive queue to get in, so it is necessary to get there either super-early or very late, so if you are going for a late entry, the location near(ish) the museums becomes irrelevant. The bathroom floor becomes very cold and you have to walk around it barefoot (this seems to be a Dutch speciality) unless you use of of the towels as a mat, which of course is stupid to say the least. The bed was way too big, a size suitable for three people sleeping together. Internet is payable separately (as if they were not charging enough yet!). Room service is available but slow and the menu is very limited and the food not particularly good. The temperature never became really warm in January; an electric heater was available but we neglected to plug it in, which was definitely necessary. I deeply regretted staying in this hotel specially at the price we paid. I would return to Amsterdam but stay at the Ibis which is next door to Centraal Station and good value.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

From the outside the hotel is decieving. The staff was very friendly and kind. But the hotel reminded me of a glorified dormitory-like it could have been a hostel in its life. Cleanliness definitely could use some improvements. A towel in our room was dirty/very stained. The only attractions within walking distance were art museums. The trams stop running at 12:15. It costs us 20 euro for a cabe ride from Leidsplein to the hotel. I wouldn't stay her again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcalexander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The hotel its self is in a great location its not right in the hustle and bustle of the city centre and its only a few minutes away on the tram to the centre. Some hotel staff rude especially at breakfast, they were not keen on our 11 month old daughter dropping the odd bit of food off her chair (as babies do) and we kept getting funny looks when she was speaking away to herself. They apparently upgraded us to an executive suite as we needed the extra space for the cot but even for an executive suite its wasn't that big.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sells01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#90 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#118 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#151 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#131 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#217 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Best Western Delphi Hotel
#169 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing