We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$560
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$853
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$766
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,742)
Filter reviews
6,743 results
Traveller rating
3,501
2,353
596
195
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,501
2,353
596
195
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick hotelcentral stationcruise terminalfree shuttlecity centregreat hotelshuttle servicetram stophotel shuttleminute walkexecutive roommodern hotelbreakfast buffetmini bardam squareconciergeviking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,437 - 4,442 of 6,743 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2011

The Moevenpick is a beautiful hotel with great amenities. The rooms are spacious and very nice with beautiful bathrooms. The hotel is very clean and modern with very helpful staff.

The one issue I had with the Movenpick was the location. While it was beautiful being on the water and having great views from our 11th floor room, the hotel is a bit out of the way. It is about a 10 minute walk to the central train station, but it takes around 30 minutes to walk to any major sights other than the red light district.

I would probably stay here again since the hotel is so comfortable and beautiful, but the location was definitely a bit of a downside for me since I enjoy being in the center of things.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rurban88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Stayed in this hotel for a week-end got it as a mystery hotel with easy-to-book at a special rate. Had a room on the 9th floor which gives you a spectacular view of amsterdam. The draw back is mainly in getting by foot to central station and city centre is rather like going thro' a building site. I enquired at book in how much was the breakfast and was quoted a very step €23 now i discovered the following morning that the bar was serving breakfast for far less this was never pointed out to me, The other concern i would have is that there were signs of mildew in the shower cubical which would indicate that the hotel is lacking in cleanliness that one would expect from a hotel of this standard.Also the kettle in room was faulty and showed no indication of when it was serviced.

Room Tip: They appear to have deals for more than two night2
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bren53Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments. One of the remarks on your stay in the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam is its location not being perceived as central - city centre. The city centre is quite broad and indeed we are not located on the dam square or Kalverstraat. Our hotel is situated in the Eastern Docklands area, a new and upcoming area in the city centre with great views, location on the water’s edge and designer shops and restaurants. It is an easy reachable location for guests coming by train from the Central Station, by tram (25 or 26) or by car. As an extra service we provide a free shuttle service to the Central Station every half hour (on request). We do apologize for the possible lack of explanation of these services.

Your feedback about the mildew and breakfast in the bar has been forwarded to the management of the related departments. This kind of feedback helps us re-examine some internal processes and procedures so that we can continue to strive to improve the quality of our service and operation.

We look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you back in order to demonstrate it on the occasion of your next visit to Amsterdam.

With warm regards,
Albert Rouwendal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Good hotel, good shape.Great view from upper floors. Stuff at the reception could be better, concierge desk very good and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hakeri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The hotel is about 10 mins walk away from central station but as the walk is along the river, this was actually quite nice. There are trams that stop outside the hotel which can take you to Dam Sq for €3.20 or there is a free shuttle bus from the hotel. The hotel was very clean and quiet and the staff were very. We were offered an upgrade when we arrived for €45 per night which includes a free bar between 5-7 in the evening. After finding out just how expensive Amsterdam is, I would upgrade next time as this also includes breakfast

Room Tip: Upgrade if the offer is still available
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Paid the 60 euros (for 2 people) a night extra to upgrade to an executive suite with high speed internet, breakfast buffet and executive lounge access. Totally worth it.

Very close to Amsterdam Centraal station (10 min walk) and all the main shopping areas.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Executive Suite if offered.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews