We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be more than 4 star! Fantastic rooms and efficient service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #57 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This was our first ever trip t oAmsterdam and we were delighted that we stayed in the Movenpick. Upon checking in the staff were very efficient and welcoming. We had booked a standard room which was extremely spacious and it had a seating area by the window that looks over the fabulous views of Amsterdam (room 1828). The cleanliness of the room made it look brand new! It also had a fridge and a safety deposit box in the room which was a great bonus. They also offer free internet if you need to go online and print things out. The room service is also very efficient with a great choice at reasonable prices 24 hours a day.
The city centre is about a 10 - 20 minute walk from the hotel but there is also a tram that departs daily & hourly from outside the Movenpick Hotel (Tram number 25). It is 2.25 Euros per person for an hours pass or you can buy a 24 hour pass for 7 euros per person whick is great value. I would reccomend this if you are going as far down as the museum district. Lastly to save money avoid taxis at all costs! dont get a taxi from outside of the Airport - we got one and it was 60 euros from the airport to the Movenpick hotel. Use the train station that is accesible from inside the airport terminal and you will get to the Central station for 4 euros per person - bargin! It only takes about 5 - 10 minutes to walk from central station to the Movenpick but if you arrive at the central station between 7am & 6pm then the Movenpick will provide you with a complimentary shuttle bus to their hotel.
We will definatley be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lollymclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,378 - 4,384 of 6,691 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very nicely located in the docklands, just by the ferry terminal and 2 tram stops from the main train station and basically city centre. Clean, spacious rooms, good food (altough with Swiss twist which not everyone may enjoy), nice views from the upper floors. Quite expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmsglc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Movenpick in Amsterdam is a very good hotel with great views of the river and close to the big railway hub in Amsterdam. The rooms are a little small but quite comfortable. Very small gym and no hotel pool. Staff are friendly and helpful. As a business traveler it is a good place to go stay at. Wifi is free but only at around 500kb a second. If you want faster internet you need to buy it. But I did not have trouble with internet for emails and small stuff on the web. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

While the Movenpick is not the most convenient location from which to explore the city, the hotel does offer a free shuttle every half hour to Central Station, from which it's possible to catch trams anywhere in the city. I stayed here after bidding on Priceline, for a much better rate than I could have found elsewhere, even at hotels with far fewer amenities. The desk clerk was friendly and accommodating. When I asked for a room with a view I was put on the 17th floor with an enormous picture window overlooking the harbour. The room was light and airy with comfortable beds and furnishings, including a nice work desk and office chair, as well as a comfortable sofa. 24 hour room service with very good food, reasonably priced for the area. Huge bathroom with enormous soaker tub. The room was quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't pay upgrade fee, standard rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwwylam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I 'won' this hotel on a bidding website. Pleasantly surprised on arrival, on finding the carpark underneath (not part of the hotel) was incredibly expensive €48 per day, was given great directions to a public car park about 2kms away. Got the tram back which is free when you park your car there and parking was €8 per day.

The room was very large, the view was great but dear god the bed was terrible. So bad we really had trouble sleeping. When I won this hotel I was pleased to read a review that said the beds were better than the marriot beds!!!! Obviously the reviewer got a better bed than us. It was exactly like sleeping on the floor, terrible.

Room service was quite reasonable for a 4* hotel, which is a good thing as there's nothing much around. We also ate in their restaurant one night and had an amazing meal and one of the friendliest waiters we encountered on our trip. The free internet was very helpful.

Front dest staff were nice, but the lady who checked us in was a 'trainee' and not very knowledgable re carpark etc.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiedreamer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your comment regarding the bed comfort or lack of it. If you will communicate to us via Hotel.Amsterdam@Moevenpick.com which room you stayed in, we will run a check on any possible faults with the bed. While our matresses can be slightly on the hard side, we have not yet received a feedback that compares them with sleeping on the floor. We appreciate the other positive comments you made.

With warm regards,
Albert Rouwendal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I booked 2 times this hotel. First I has a nice room vert clean and with the wonderful view. (11 floor))The staff always ready to help. Good shuttle services and possibility to rent bicycle. Only problem any restaurant close.
The second time the room look different (14 floor). A little dirty . The housekeeper didn't come one day but in general I loved to be in this hotel. It's relax for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cargenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed here for business. Bid on a website for 5 star in the city center, got a 4 (?) star in the middle of nowhere. Nice and friendly front desk, very poor housekeeping, no customer service, terrible location, decent coffee. Will never stay here again.

On Tuesday, June 8th there was a one day Tram Strike. Seems to me this was a prefect opportunity to create good will amongst the guests by adding an extra shuttle to avoid guest's inconvenience but no, no extra shuttle service to or from the hotel.

I asked to board the 11AM shuttle, was told there were no more seats by a manager (?) with a real bad attitude and then watched as the bus pulled away with 2 empty seats. Maybe the manager (?) should have a) gone out to look, b) offered to put on an extra bus, c) made an attempt to provide customer service, or d) at least been apologetic about it. But his response was that the tram strike "was not their problem". Granted, it wasn't their problem but it was an opportunity to go the extra mile for their guests.

Housekeeping is very poor. Returned to the room to find a piece of paper on the floor, the towel still hanging on the door and old newspaper still sitting on the bathroom sink.

All in all, very disappointed. This is my 4th or 5th trip to Amsterdam. I always had a great time, never had a problem with any hotel here but this place is a real dud. It is truly in the middle of nowhere, completely dead at night, no restaurants nearby, no facilities of any kind nearby and no attempt by the staff to make up for the poor location with a little good service.

Don't fall for their upgrade offer like I did. Not worth it. Also forgot to mention, the internet was terribly slow too.

Room Tip: First: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siam-Orchids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment. We would like to apologize for the lack of service you experienced with our concierge and the poor quality experienced from our housekeeping department. Needless to say both comments have been forwarded to the appropriate departments. Through our online questionnaires or an email to Hotel.Amsterdam@moevenpick.com, we invite you to communicate to us your name or which room you stayed and the date so we can trace what went wrong with the cleaning of your room.

We can assure you that our free shuttle service is our number one positive comment and we will do the utmost to consider your suggestions should a strike occur again or perhaps better handle no-shows. It is exceptionnal that guests do not show up for their reservations however we also need to keep a timely service for the other guest who booked the service, therefore cannot look for additional guests while the ‘no-shows’ can still claim their seats at the last minute.

Our hotel offers free wireless internet that has enough broadband for exchanging emails, visit websites for making bookings, etc however heavier applications require more bandwith which can indeed be purchased and are included in our Executive Package, among other services.

On a last note, we would like to know on which website you booked your stay with us, it is not the objective to be selected on ‘opaque’ hotel booking channels by guests looking for strictly 5-star hotels so we would like to rectify this with the third-party website involved.

We would appreciate the opportunity to make up for a bad experience on your next stay in Amsterdam and thank you for the nice comment on our front desk personnel.

With warm regards,
Albert Rouwendal
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,118 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
XO Hotels Couture
#41 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £131 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing