We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel- Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #53 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Nice and easy location to reach. Only 700mtrs or so from Central Station. You can catch a tram (no.26) to just outside the hotel. Or walk, it's not that far. Good reception staff, found them to be friendly, polite and helpfull. Checked in with no hassle. Good views across the city and rivers/canals from the rooms.Rooms were clean and tidy and had a relaxing feel.
The bar staff were attentive, even when busy in what was a pleasant and relaxing area. The restaurant also was nice and clean. The breakfast was lovely with lots on offer. We had a sunday lunch there and the food was delicious. One of our party couldn't have the soup after it was served (nut allergy) and they changed the structure of the dish for him. This was done without hesitation or complaint. All staff were friendly, pleasant and not rude and gave good service and like they enjoyed their job and it wasn't just a chore to be there.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get a better view, especially looking back towards the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Bones_Chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,852 - 3,858 of 6,580 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed for one night prior to commencing a cruise. Large comfortable and modern room overlooking the canal. Hotel is located outside the city centre and next to the cruise boat terminal, but with a tram stop opposite the hotel access to the city is quite easy. Trams are frequent and little more than a 5 minute journey will put you at Central station. Change trams and 10 minutes later you can be at Amsterdam's world class galleries. I found reception staff to be efficient but lacking warmth, and disinclined to answer questions. Breakfast was excellent. Due to inclement weather, and rather than venture into the city, we had an evening meal in the bar area. Simple but adequate, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, indeed conveniently located next to the cruise terminal and with excellent connections to the city centre.

Unfortunately, we cannot control the weather but are glad that you enjoyed the meal in our Silk Bar.

We hope you had a good cruise afterwards!

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Located close to a tram line, getting to and from the city is simple. Arrived around 10:30am after leaving our river cruise, we left our luggage and went to explore the city. Upon check in around 4:00pm we were a little disappointed to find out the mini bar was empty, meaning we had to trek all the way downstairs to get a coke, and the only way to get ice was to go to the bar. Apparently that's just the way they do things, as the bell boy explained it upon delivering our luggage. The room was comfortable and clean, with a great view of the harbor and rail station.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Dougt1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are sorry that you experienced a single point that was disappointing. Nevertheless, we do hope that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and of course, the city of Amsterdam.

We will be happy to welcome you again next time you visit Holland.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I thought this was a great hotel in terms of 'getting-away' from the noise of central Amsterdam and chilling out a little. The hotel has a small cafe next door which does the best cheese panini's for breakfast which are unbelievable (don't bother with the inferior subway!).

The hotel was more of a hub for me to sleep but what they had was good space, bathroom, beds - poor sheets and ours was two single beds stuck together. The shuttle bus service was pretty good at getting us to central station (its FREE so use it).

The only blot on the hotel was the poor room service for alcohol late at night and lack of selection for food - granted we got back to the hotel after a night on the town at 2am - so bring your own booze back if you can.

Overall good hotel - nothing more, nothing less...that's Movenpick for you - efficient.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the canal and not the office blocks i.e. opposite side to Phillips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeNyOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear guests,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, located indeed just outside the busy city centre on the banks of the river IJ, and that you found our shuttle bus to/from Central Station to be convenient.

Please visit us again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel is clean and the staff is excellent. It is in close proximity to the train station and downtown. We had a standard room with a comfortable king size bed and the the view of the harbour was great. The hotel offers an excellent buffet breakfast. We found access to the hotel a little awkward if you take the tram or walk from the train station or downtown, especially if you have luggage. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank jsallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for your positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are glad you appreciated the room and facilities, and of course, the view.

Please make sure that you use our shuttle bus from/to Central Station next time you visit our hotel so you need not carry your luggage. Details can be found on our website.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We satyed in this hotel for three nights for my sister-in-laws hen party. There were eighteen of us in total. We had read lots of good reviews about this hotel before booking it. The rooms were nice and contemporary but we were disappointed that the third person in our room had to sleep on a very uncomfortable sofa bed even though they had paid the same amount of money. We felt that the drinks making facilities weren't very good as there will only two of everything even though there were three of us in the room.We constantly had to keep asking for more tea, coffee and milk. Check in was very efficient and as we were early there was a room to put our cases. However, when arriving back at the hotel at around 11pm the receptionist became very argumentative with one of the girls in our party. She had come back earlier and was given the room keys for our room. A girl from one of the other rooms asked for her key and istead of checking first she rang through to our room and was very argumentative and adament that she had the other keys. After a ten minute argument she checked the drawer and found that she had been wrong. That night we were hungry so decided to order room service. My advice would be DON'T BOTHER! We paid 72 euro's for a small 9" pizza, two burgers with fries and three bottles of water. When I rang through with the order they asked how I would like my burgers cooked so I said well done. When the burgers came they were raw in the middle and tasted awful (see pic). The bathroom was lovely and included nice touches such as shower cap, shower cream and body lotion. We were just puzzled how such an expensive hotel could have such a dirty toilet (see pic). Amsterdam was fabulous and we had a ball of a time but if I were to return I wouldn't stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us with regards to the stay of your group in our hotel. We thank you for your positive remarks and we regret that you also experienced some negative incidents. We truly apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused you.

Nevertheless, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and we do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. I was upgraded to an Executive Room. These are on the 19th and 20th floors and have an excellent view of the canal. One complimentary jar of Movenpick jam and a bar of Movenpick chocolate was waiting for me when I checked into the room. All the items in the mini bar (non alcoholic drinks) is on the house - can't remember this service in any hotel that I have stayed in recently. Also in the evening I was served 2 bottles of water and chololates. The breakfast spread was good and one had a nice view of the canal from the dining hall. The staff was helpful and all of them were fluent in English.

If I have to find out negatives, there are 3 of them. The hotel was rather bare and functional, without any personality. The executives rooms are very small, probably the smallest I have stayed in and certainly not befitting a 4 star property. Finally the last evening shuttle from the station to hotel is at 7.30 pm, which is really very early.

Overall good experience and I would recommend it, particularly for business travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank subhasis_ghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Business Traveller,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your upgrade when staying in our hotel with all the benefits that come along with it.

With regard to the shuttle bus to the Central Station not being available after 7.30 p.m., we can inform you that this is only temporary until mid December 2012 due to the construction work on the North side of the station.

Please visit us again next time you travel to Amsterdam!

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#33 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,041 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,282 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £129 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing