We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for business and seminars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #51 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 October 2012

A very modern hotel with a stunning view on the "Ij", a vast expanse of water where the large cruise ships come docking. Ideal for business seminars, a bit less so for tourists as the hotel is a bit far from the old Amsterdam city center. Very close to the rail station, if you're not to heavily packed, you could skip the courtesy bus service of the hotel and walk all the way to the hotel.
Very clean rooms and restaurants.
A very good hotel for visiting Amsterdam except if you're looking for a typical Dutch architecture and ambience
One disadvantage : there are only four lifts. It can take some time to use them if many people are waiting.

Room Tip: the higher up your room is, the more stunning the view gets.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerrit-StPauwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear Business Traveler,

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, indeed located on the banks of the river IJ with spectacular views of the activities on the water.

We will welcome you again with pleasure next time business brings you to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,353)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,668 - 3,674 of 6,353 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

Modern, clean hotel with fantastic views of the river and skyline. Watched the sunset out of our 16th floor window. The hotel is constructed so that all the rooms seem to have river views (not sure about the lower floors). Very quiet. No noise from inside or outside. Adjacent to cruise port and very close by to the river boat docks. Large room. Refrigerator for guest's use rather than a mini bar. The hotel offers a shuttle which runs every 1/2 hour to Central Station. This was a huge plus. You must book it in advance as it only holds 8 people. We used it every morning and every evening. We also booked it to get to Central Station on our departure day, and we were the only ones on it. The last shuttle runs at 7:30 pm. We got back to the hotel either by walking (20 minutes from Central Station) or by a tram which is one stop from Central Station. The hotel offers discounts for staying multiple nights. Our 4 night stay at 40% off, was exceptional value, and far outweighed the fact that the hotel was a bit out of the way from Central Station and Dam Square. If there was not such a major price difference, I would probably stay nearer to the center which would be more easily accessible to all the sights. We purchased the "I Amsterdam" card for 48 hours which included free transportation, as well as free museums.
Hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for your positive comments with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are glad you appreciated your quiet room with a magnificant view and also our free shuttle from/to Central Station. Now that construction work is almost finished at the train station, the shuttle will run also past 7.30 p.m.

We will be happy to welcome you again next time you visit Amsterdam; we have special offers all year round.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Very comfortable hotel within walking distance of the central railway station. Walk out of the rear of the station and look to your right and you can see the hotel in the distance. The staff are very helpful and friendly and there is a shuttle bus from the Hotel if required.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful view over the harbour from the 12th floor. Barges and ferries and even a liner c...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

spent 4 nights here in August.

got the train for a small fee from the airport which took us to the train station. the back of the train station you can follow the tram lines to the hotel. There is also a tram from the station which takes you to a stop across from the hotel. The hotel also run a magnificent courtesy bus service which runs every half an hour but has only space for 10 so book asap.

The hotel is located just the right distance away from the hustle and bustle of the centre (mind the bikes). It is also perfectly located if youre on a cruise ship.

The room was absolutely huge, it also had a sofa, a great view of the cruise ships, a massive bathroom and some spacious extras. The hotel had a superb bar and restaurant which were both pricey but this is Amsterdam so get used to it!

absolutely every member of staff were top class, couldnt fault any part of the hotel and they catered to every need, well worth it highly recommended but maybe have dinner elsewhere, although the service and food cant be faltered it is pricey (7 euro for a jug of water). The breakfast is also extremely pricey so maybe look elsewhere there though i will say it is good service and food.

Loved it and if i go back to amsterdam I will stay here, you should too!

Room Tip: dont forget to get the shuttle bus back from the train station and you can also book this to go the...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellrazor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights at the end of September. The Hotel had not even been built the last time we were in Amsterdam about 7 or so years ago. All the Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a bar meal on our first night as we had arrived fairly late. The food was very good and the service was friendly and very efficient. We opted not to have breakfast in the Hotel, at 17.50 euros each we thought that was pushing it! There are numerous places where you can get early morning food within walking distance from the Hotel. Overall we would go back to this Hotel. The Shuttle Bus to the Rail Station is a great bonus, but you do need to get you name down for it. If you ask they will bring your luggage to the Station if you want to spend your last few hours in central Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you can, try and get a city view room or one that looks out over the water.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The Moevenpick was located, to our surprise, directly in front of the dock where our river cruise boat was docked. The room was large and very clean, the staff reserved but most helpful. It is important to book the shuttle ahead to transport to the train station, to leave the city or sightsee by bus or train. We did not eat at the restaurant (it appeared expensive) but there are many restaurants close by. We enjoyed our two-night stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here 5-8 October and booked through BA as it was great value! The hotel is a bit out of the city centre, approx 20 minutes, but it is in a great location, right by the water. You can also use the shuttle to Central station which only takes 5 minutes (make sure you book beforehand). Our room was on the 10th floor so we had a great view across Amsterdam. The rooms (standard) are a good size and the decor is very modern which suited our taste. The bed was huge and very comfortable which meant we had a great night sleep every night so we were ready to face the next day! The bathroom is also very big so all in all we were happy with the room. Breakfast wasn't included in our price and we didn't think it was worth it for 23 euros- the cafe along the street was a lot better value. We found the concierge helpful and were always able to answer our questions- we didn't feel you got the extra personal touch you get with a B&B but were happy with the service. We used the bar a couple of time and I agree with the reviews, the service is quite slow but happy hour (6-7 on a Sunday) was definitely worth it. The spa was also a nice relaxing place to go after a tiring day in the city. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the high floors obviously have a better view!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellekaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for your overall positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel and its facilities. We are happy you appreciated your room with and indeed a spectacular view on the river IJ from the higher levels.

We are glad our concierge proved to be helpful and that you enjoyed our Spa facilities after your visits into the busy city centre.

We do hope to welcome you again next time you visit Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,119 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#40 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,936 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £113 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing