We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, easy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #50 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, easy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel wasn't originally what we were thinking when we booked our city break; we wanted something small and unique, we were too late in planning though. This hotel is great though, it does exactly what it says on the label with exceptional staff. We upgraded to an executive room, which gave us free mini bar - beer and water. The free breakfast buffet was super and choice was varied and fresh. Rooms were clean, modern.

Keep in mind it has a business conference feel so low on charm. Location is one stop along tram 26 or 5 minute walk to central station which was ok but we were out every night until early hours so had to take a taxi which was a rip off.

Room Tip: Spend the extra ££ and upgrade your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Tanya O,

We appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are indeed located just outside the city centre, offering a relaxed and peaceful stay with beautiful views.

This kind of feedback is much appreciated, we are happy you enjoyed the service of our staff as well as the overall facilities the hotel has to offer.

If your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam, please visit us again.

With kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,978
    2,031
    495
    153
    75
See reviews for
947
2,477
202
1,069
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (916)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were booked into the Moevenpick as an extension of our Viking River Cruise. Although a 5 minute walk to the Central train Station and 10 minutes to center city, Amsterdam is a great city for walking. Our room was lovely, modern, spotless and bright. We had a great view of the city and the port- an Aria cruise ship was docked alongside. Service was excellent. We had terrific breakfasts, and an excellent dinner at the restaurant. The bar/lounge was ver comfortable with excellent drinks.
I would stay there again anytime.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Billy C,

We hope you had a pleasant boat tour with Viking Cruises and are happy you stayed in our hotel. Thank you for your (more than) positive feedback with regards to our location, beautiful views, our breakfast buffet, restaurant and good service.

Anytime your travel plans bring you to Holland, please visit us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Checked in for 3 days with a child had asked for a room on one of the higher floors and were given a room on floor 12 with a Fantastic View, Spotlessly clean room with lots of extra pillows and other lovely touches. Georgeous place with a 10 min walk to city centre, friendly helpful staff and as the riverboats are nearby the River scenery keeps changing will only every stay here again when in Amsterdamn.

Room Tip: With Kids high floor away from lifts for a decent nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Celt21,

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We are happy to read you enjoyed the beautiful views of our hotel and apprecaited the spotless clean room and extra attention.
Next time you tarvel to Amsterdam, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked this trip via a Groupon offer. I had trouble initially with booking the room and after 3 unsuccessful attempts the reservation clerk Anabelle finally booked it for me! We had chosen not to take the breakfast as at 23 euros we thought it was overpriced (although we read lots of reviews saying it was amazing). When we arrived we were offered an upgrade to a junior suite for an extra 65 euros a night which would include breakfast, free minibar, access to the executive lounge where every evening between 5-7pm free drinks and canapés were served. We were not disappointed! The room was fabulous with flat screen tvs in the sitting-room and bedroom, free bathrobes and slippers and an incredible view from the 18th floor window. The breakfast was just as fabulous as we had read with all the usual choices plus made to order eggs cooked a variety of ways and a healthy fruit smoothy shot of the day. The staff were all very professional and friendly and the hotel was immaculate. I have never had so much storage space in a hotel! We had also read some comments that the hotel was situated too far from Amsterdam central. This is ridiculous! It is one tram stop from Centraal Station and I'm pretty sure you could walk it if you chose to. We always purchase the transport tickets which allow you unlimited use of the tram/bus and the tram stop is just across the street from the hotel with trams running every 5mins. The hotel also runs a complimentary shuttle service if you don't want to take the tram. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and I am already planning my next stay.

Room Tip: The upgrade is worth every penny. The views are stunning so opt for higher floors if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucypussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear lucypussy,

Thank you for your (more than)positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel.
We are happy to read you have spent a nice couple of days in Amsterdam and enjoyed our facilities. Next time you travel to Holland we look forward welcoming you in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I booked my room long in advance of my trip. My husband and I were very excited of going to Amsterdam. However, about two weeks before our check in date, we got a call from Priceline (the booking website) saying our room had been cancelled and we had been moved to a hotel in a city close by. But a different city after all!

I contacted Moevenpick Hotel and their reservation supervisor, Marjolein, very nicely explained to me that it was because of the abdication of the Queen and that it was the police the ones asking them to vacate all rooms.

The problem is that my husband has difficulty moving, so our whole stay in Amsterdam was kind of ruined, since because of the event there wouldn't be any public transport, taxis or cars allowed in the city.

I explained this to Marjolein and she told me not to have too much expectations but she would do her best... The following day I got an email from her saying she had been able to move me to a hotel in the centre of Amsterdam!

So, while I have not stay at Moevenpick City Center, I have to say that their customer service is superb and very attentive to their clients.

I hope, though, next time I am in Amsterdam I do get to stay at Moevenpick and I don't get moved because of some other city wide event :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Vegan73,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry to read you were not able to stay with us due to the festivities of Queensday.

Otherwise, I am pleased to hear you have had a pleasant experience with our Reservation Department. We put a lot of emphasis on our quality and service.

Next time you travel to Amsterdam, we are looking forward welcoming you in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

As usual when booking through Priceline you never know where your going to get until your price is accepted.
Thinking I would end up in a NH hotel I was surprised to see I won 3 nights here at £59 a night. Feeling a little apprehensive in not knowing where it was with being away away from the city centre bothered me a bit but I needn't have been.
It's easy to get there by tram, but you'd need to catch the last tram at midnight which isn't really good if your out later, you can walk there by exiting central station at the bottom end of the station.
Rooms were amazing, brilliant views right along into the city, night time views are stunning, you could say the hotel had that clinical feel about it because everything was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Steven R,

Thank you for your nice comments with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are happy you were pleasantly surprised when getting your Priceline deal in our hotel.

We hope you spent a nice couple of days in Amsterdam and will be happy to welcome you back next time you will travel to Holland.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two days in June 2013. Everything at this hotel exceeded our expectations. This is definitely one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in.

The rooms were well appointed and all of the amenities on the rooms were very modern and functioned as expected.

We dined at the restaurant for both dinner and the breakfast buffet and found the food to be excellent and the service even better. The restaurant was overly accommodating to a food allergy and went out of their way to ensure we were happy.

The only tiny minor downside is that the hotel is across the rail tracks from the "city centre". There is a tunnel to walk across and the staff is happy to help you find it. It was really a minor trade off to stay in such a fantastic hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pbjtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Pbjtraveller,
We appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. Indeed we are located just outside the city center on the banks of the river "IJ", easily accessible with our free shuttle bus from central Station.
If your travel plans bring you here, we look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing