We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #55 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 July 2013

In our opinion this hotel was ace. We stayed over Easter when the weather was very cold and had snow on Easter Sunday.

Had a room on 20th floor it really was stunning. The ambience was first class and the extra touches were so well done. Bottles of water and chocolates delivered to the room routinely the coffee machine and kettle too. Internet was part of our package which was a real bonus.

Hors d'oeuvres each evening just added to such a sublime stay and breakfast was out of this world.

The only down side was the price of the food in the hotel which really was a tad high.

Location was good, from Amsterdam Central station exit using the back entrance turn right and you can see the hotel from the station.

We couldn't have asked or a better hotel and how I wish that other hotels met up to this standard.

Fantastic keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Have a 19th or 20th floor bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trainline5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear trainline 5,

Thank you for your compliments about our hotel. We are happy you had a pleasant Easter stay with us and appreciated the extra benefits booking a Suite includes.

Should you decide to explore Amsterdam in another season, please let us know. We look forward seeying you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,564 - 3,570 of 6,656 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

Hotel is in a nice location, just outside of the main City Centre area, and a gentle 15 minute stroll from the Central station. Check-In was swift, and we even received a free bar of Chocolate as our day of arrival was also my birthday, which I thought was a nice touch.

Our room was located on the 11th floor - Room itself was very clean and modern, with large windows overlooking the port where the large cruise ships docked. Beds were comfortable, and the Bathroom had a good size walk in shower.

We also had the Breakfast option within our rate whilst we were there, most Breakfast options were covered; from a humble slice of toast to the more grand fully cooked Breakfast. If you're a fan of a nice cup of Tea in the mornings, remember to take your own tea bags, the ones provided were very weak.

As others have noted, the hotel isn't all that Central, and this may not be to everyone's taste, but I liked the fact we were slightly outside the main city centre area. We tended to walk into the City centre during the day, but used Taxis in the evening as it was a little cooler then. Taxis journeys were always around the €10 mark getting into or out of the City Centre. On our departure from the hotel, we used the free shuttle service which dropped us back at the Train station.

Also, prior to our visit we used the Concierge service on a couple of occasions to make reservations for us. Nothing ever appeared too much trouble for them, and all arrangements were promptly made.

If I was in Amsterdam in the future, I would have no qualms about staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dantheman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear dantheman79UK,

Thank you for sharing your (more than) positive and extensive experiences with us.
We are indeed located just outside the city centre, offering a relaxed and peaceful stay with beautiful views.
We look forward having you to stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I spent a very pleasant weekend at this hotel.
It is ideally situated within walking distance of all the major attractions of Amsterdam.
The hotel is very comfortable and the staff are first class.
I queried the water pressure in the shower being rather low but it was explained to me that they run an environmental policy within the hotel, part of which is water conservation. This to me is quite acceptable.
I was not overly keen on the bench seating in the Silk restaurant, I found them to be quite uncomfortable.
However, these are minor gripes.
This hotel and it's staff are great and we will definitely be returning in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Jeff B,

We are pleased to read you enjoyed a weekend stay with us, and appreciated our location, staff and facilities.
If you have more details regarding your future travel dates, we look forward seeying you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect! This hotel is very modern having been opened about 8 years ago. An excellent value and I'll definitely stay here on future trips to Amsterdam. The hotel offers a hourly shuttle to Central Station which is very convenient but remember to reserve it, otherwise it may be full. Even though we did not use the Spa, we did see it and found it to be superb.

Room Tip: Our registration person AVA suggested we not take a room next to the elevator due to traffic and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank BAKNPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear BAKNPK,

Thank you for your overall positive feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. These comments help us to maintain the level of service we aim to provide to our valued guests.
Should you decide to come back and explore Amsterdam again, please stay with us.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Movenpick is a lovely hotel, well maintained with a friendly helpful staff. During our stay I needed a dentist and the concierge found me an excellent one and helped with booking an appointment etc.
The big problem with the hotel is the location. There is nothing close by and I really don't understand how Central found its' way into their name. They have a shuttle bus every half an hour to the train station. There numerous trams and buses can be found. You have to book the shuttle in advance and if you don't have a phone to book the return you end up having to pay for a cab from the station. Twice it ran us about 15 Euro to get back from, the traim station. We also ate there more than we would have liked because there are no restaurants or cafes in the area.
I wouldn't recommend staying here even through the hotel as such is really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vdl2ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear vdl2ca,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. I am happy to read you appreciated the friendliness and service of our staff. On the other hand I am sorry to read you have had some inconvenience concerning our location. Indeed we offer a free shuttlebus to the Central Station. The return can be booked with us as well. Besides this, tram 26 stops just in front of the hotel.

If you decide to stay with us again, please let us know.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed there in July (five nights). The room was of a good size and we had a lovely view over Amsterdam (18th floor). We found out, that it was possible to move one of the bedside tables, so one can easily seperate the beds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is easily to reach, only some minutes walk from the central sration. There is a tram stop just opposite of the hotel. The hotel also offers a free shuttle to the station. Breakfast was great.
We had dinner at Jamie Oliver's restaurant "fifteen" - it's only a five minutes walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear dowo,

Thank you for your kind words with regards to your stay in our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the room (with a view!) our facilities and staff friendliness.

We will be happy to welcome you again next time you travel to Holland.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The location is lovely (we had a room on the 15th floor and could watch the sun set). Easy to walk to or take the tram to, friendly and highly motivated staff. Big plus was the fridge in the room and vending machines in the hall. However.... the room itself has seen better days: the mattress closer to the door was pretty well worn out. Shower leaks onto the floor where the glass wasn't quite sealed, woodwork is scratched. But it was clean and cool (good A/C you could control yourself. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel (23 Euros per person !) But there is a supermakret at the train station and many bakeries / cafes nearby). I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors = better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beecejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear beecejr,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We do apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced. We have noted your comments and will have this investigated.
Your remarks will help us to improve the service we aim to provide to our valued guests.

We are happy to read you enjoyed the lovely view and our location, as well as the service and friendliness of our staff.

Please feel welcome to visit us again next time you travel to Holland.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,085 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,002 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#60 of 375 in Amsterdam
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £123 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing