We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #53 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed here with the Insight Hertiage tour earlier in the year. Certainly the best hotel in my opinion that we encountered. Just stunning. The building cantilevers over the harbour, so you wake up with a magnificent view of liners, ferries, and all sorts of other shipping silently plying the waters in front of you. It is a very modern hotel with great staff and wonderful food. Like others, I coun't fault it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Geoffrey F,
We hope you enjoyed the Insight Heritage Tour and thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. Our quiet location on the banks of the river "IJ" gives you, after a good night rest, beautiful views in the morning.

Should you consider to visit Amsterdam again, we would be happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,260 - 3,266 of 6,427 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

We caught the train from the airport to Amsterdam Central, it was dead easy to follow and only cost 4 euros each.
We caught a taxi to the hotel as it was dark and couldn't get our bearings at first, it did only cost 10 euros so was no great hardship. The hotel does offer a shuttle bus service to and from the hotel every 30 minutes however it did not state anywhere on the website that the bus parks at the rear of the railway station. We like most others arriving in Amsterdam walk out the front!!
We loved our stay at the Moevenpick, we found the hotel bright and welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful, the room is bright and spacious, we asked for a high floor room facing the river and the view off the city and river was amazing.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel even though we were offered an upgrade to a better room and breakfast including bar and mini bar for 65 euros.
We like to walk everywhere on our city breaks, and found that it was only a brisk 15 minute walk into town. On the street Damrak there were loads of place offering a good English breakfast if this is what you prefer for 4-10 euros depending on what or how much you can eat.
The hotel is centrally convenient to the city centre and yet far away to have peace and quiet away and relax in the hotel bar.
The tram stops outside the hotel too if you do not like walking, we didn't use this as said before we enjoy the walk as this way we see more and experience the city.
We would definitely stay here again if we return to Amsterdam.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BandMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear BandMa,
We are happy to read your positive and extensive feedback with regards to your stay in November. We are sorry to hear the bus parking at the Central Station was not very clear to you, on our website you can find detailed information under: location/ how to get to the hotel.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our helpful and friendly staff, lovely views and quiet location.

We hope to be able to see you back in our hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed here for 1 night while on business. The hotel is very nice and clean with a massive reception area.

The rooms were large and I had a walk in shower. Breakfast was really good with a large choice of English and continental options.

Every member of staff I spoke to was helpful and friendly. They run a shuttle service from the hotel to the train station however it’s only a short walk away.

Nothing else to add, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Use the tram to get into town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Paul H,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive (business) experience with us.
We are pleased to read you enjoyed our large rooms, extensive breakfast and the service and friendliness of our staff.

Should you decide to stay with us again, we are all happy to assist you.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in Amsterdam for three days prior to a Viking Cruise and we were booked in at the Moevenpick Hotel. What a wonderful stay and staff. The city was a short walk away but all the transportation was easy to get to. We would stay at The Moevenpick again when the opportunity arises. Thanks to all at the Hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and we were accommodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillysull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear sillysull,
We hope you had a pleasant boat trip with Viking and thank you kindly for your review.
We are very pleased to learn your short stay with us has been satisfactory and you appreciated our location, and friendliness of our staff. Compliments have been shared with our teams already.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I'm writing this review rather late, almost more than a month after my stay, however, what promoted me my travel pictures I was going through. Firstly I must commend the staff, from the housekeeping staff to the front deskies, they are all so wonderful and helpful. This is very important in a big city like Amsterdam.

The property is centrally located and I found one of the less dearer ones. Definitely good value for money. Really chic rooms and clean. All in all, great stay and great memories created.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eshan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Eshan A,
Thank you for taking the time and leave your review with us after your stay in October.
We are happy to read your appreciated the friendliness and helpfullness of our staff, this is so encouraging for all our teams. We put a lot of emphasis on our quality and products, and we are happy this pays off.

We look forward creating new memories with you in the future.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very clean and modern hotel. Gorgeous food but a bit expensive. Rooms lovely, spacious, warm and excellent bathroom and shower. Great choice of tv channels. Short walk to centre. Great value and all round experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnieM0use123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear MinnieMouse123,
We are pleased to read your stay met up to your expectations (and more!) and you valued our clean and modern hotel, spacious hotel rooms and overall facilities.
Should you plan your next visit to Amsterdam, please do stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My partner & I arrived on Sunday 27th Oct about midday, on the eve of a storm that hit Amsterdam over Sun/Mon which was quite scary.Reception by the staff was professional & friendly. I had e-mailed previously to give them my idea of roughly where I wanted our room & sure enough we got one that suited us perfectly. It had everything we needed although maybe a few more coathangers would have been appreciated. Our room was spacious & clean with superb views of the Ij and city. The fridge was useful as was the safe & on departure not having to vacate the room until midday together with being given the possibility of leaving our suitcase until we had to leave for the airport was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: have a room high up with views of the ij & city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear brian f,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive travel and hotel experience with us, this is much appreciated. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us despite the huge storm you faced while staying with us. Your feedback has been shared within our teams for encouragement already.

We defenitely hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,175 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,969 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £125 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing