We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #55 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I choose The Moevenpick Hotel because the location looked good, and it was . It was a 3 minute tram ride to the central station , where you can then get a tram anywhere you want to go . I wanted to see the Christmas markets which were lovely at night , all lite up and the smells were amazing. The Hotel was fantastic , rooms were great , there was always someone cleaning , floors , windows etc . The relaxation room , gym and sauna was a great hit with us , as we done a lot of walking and needed to chill at the end of the day. We didn't eat in the hotel , so cant comment on the food . We ate in town and always had good food , The waffles on the market are a must , absolutely gorgeous.
We had a great , but tireing trip and would deffinatly go back to the hotel the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful , Paul on the help desk was VERY helpful , he gave us a map and suggested we got a 48 hour tram pass which cost 12 euro each and was well worth the money. Amsterdam was certainly an eye opener for me , so much to look round and so much to do, the only thing I didn't like was how busy the town is , but that wasn't a problem .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Daer rachel6162,
We appreciate you took the time to inform us regarding your stay at our hotel. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our location. Please be informed we also offer a free shuttle bus to the Central Station, advance booking recommended. These days the city of Amsterdam, as well as our hotel, will be decorated and prepared for coming Christmas. We are happy to learn our Concierge Paul has been attentive and very helpful. Compliments have been passed on to him already.

If you decide to explore Amsterdam again, we hope you will stay with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,389 - 3,395 of 6,656 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

four night city break. Good locations and only 10 minutes walk from Central Station and 20 from Dam Square . Right opposite a tram stop and also hotel runs free shuttle bus every half hour which is great. We would definitely stay here again although we didn't book breakfast as it was a staggering 22 euro's per person- But fridge in room so we sorted our selves out! Have been to Amsterdam a couple of times now and it is worth getting a tram out of the centre to eat- we have had some fantastic meals. Amsterdam is fantastic!
The concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyCStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear AndyCStourbridge,
We are happy to read your stay has been positive and you decided to stay with us.
Please allow me to say our extensive breakfast is worth to try it. Many times on our own website or via (online) Travel Agencies, good offers including breakfast can be found.
Thank you for your kind comment regarding our Concierge.

We hope you will visit us soon.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is modern and clean. The location is away from the city area. However, there is a free hotel shuttle or taking tram 26 is just one stop away from Central Station. The room is good value in my opinion. However, I do have problem with accessing the internet. The hotel provide wifi for free in the room but it is almost impossible to surf due to weak signal and slow loading.
We decided to pay for the 3 days access which promises faster surfing speed. However, even after paying for the service (which is not cheap), it is still extremely slow to load a page properly. I make a complain and was told that the problem could be solved by getting the IT staff to reboot the router in my floor. It does not solve the problem. During my check out on my 3rd day, I reflected this issue to the hotel desk and was told that sometimes it could be slow due to the number of users accessing the internet at the same time. I did not want to create a big fuss so let it go because we were celebrating our anniversary that day. However, I do feel that if you decide to charge a fee, the hotel has to ensure we got what we paid for and not provide excuses. I do hope they can improve on this area. Other than the internet, we have no complain about the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerrytlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Jerrytit,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us, and a late congratulations on your anniversary! We are happy to read your stay has been enjoyable.
Besides this, we are truly sorry to hear the internet connection has been dysfunctional and caused you irritation. We take this serious and have shared your feedback with our IT Manager directly for follow up. Should you decide to stay with us again, please inform us, so we can do our utmost you give you the service you expect and deserve from us.

Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

First time in Amsterdam so wanted somewhere decent to stay, alot of the reviews for here were positive so I went for it even though I hadnt seen any pictures. For the amount we paid I tthought it was fantastic, I was happily surprised as soon as I walked in to the reception area and new id made the right choice. Room was nice, bathroom was lush, we had a massive window onthe 9th floor which looked over the large canal and at night time llooked like a photograph of city lights. Bar does great cocktails and yummy sandwiches. Would highly recommend this hotel, especially for people who want to experience the city itself but still be 5 mins away in abit of a quieter area

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Hannah186299,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive review regarding your first stay with us, this is much appreciated by us and important for our future guests.
We are truly happy to learn you enjoyed your stay, and valued our comfortable rooms, bathroom and great views. As many travellers have commented, we are not in the busy city center, but just outside on the banks of the river "IJ", aiming to be a quiet and relaxing place to stay.

If you decide to explore Amsterdam for the second time, please stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a very modern hotel located about 1km to 1 mile outside of Amsterdam centre. It is easily accessible by road and tram - it is one stop from Central Station. As it outside the older centre it is very modern and spacious. It has 20 floors and can be seen from Central Station where all the trams start from. The hotel has a shuttle bus to central Station which we pre-booked for use when starting our return journey.
Our room was an executive room rather than a room. We both think the upgrade was worth it as we had plenty of space and sitting area within the room. The large bed was very comfortable and provided a good night's rest. Apart from the TV - which had every channel going - there was a kettle and coffee-maker, free water bottles and complimentary soda pop in the fridge. The safe was easy to use.
The bathroom had a raft of eco toiletries. Being of an unknown brand it wouldn't be fair to comment further on them. The shower was very good and easy to use. Just turn one tap and adjust the temperature with the other. It was over a deep bath which could a provide a problem for the "un-elastic". A hairdryer was provided which proved to be very good and efficient. There was plenty of space so banging of knees and elbows while bending in the drying process was not an issue.
We were located on the 19th floor and had fabulous views overlooking the centre of Amsterdam. It could only be reached via lifts that were very quiet and very quick to arrive and to get us there.
Restaurant was based on the 2nd floor. The buffet breakfast was ample and varied. Breads, fruit, cereals, mueslis, yoghurts, omelettes, eggs, cold meats and cheeses, sausages and bacon were all available. There was a good choice of hot drinks. The service was cheery and efficient, a whole team being there to clear away plates and clean the tables.
Our final point concerns the reception and support staff. Quite simply, they were the best we have experienced. Very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. No problem was too small and they could do not do enough for us.
Would we go back again? Yes. We had a wonderful and relaxing stay and felt we really belonged there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear CandM60,
We are happy to read your (more than!) positive and extensive review regarding your stay with us. Your comments are very encouraging for all our departments and staff. It is good to know you appreciated all benefits that come along with an Executive Suite, the wonderful views from our top floors, our room facilities and the tasteful and varied breakfast buffet.
Thank you for all your compliments. We hope to see you back soon in our hotel, and are happy to assist you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Movenpick was a great disappointment after a wonderful trip. The location is very inconvenient for visiting the city or finding interesting restaurants. It requires a walk, followed by 2 separate tram rides to go any where in the city. Our room was not clean with substantial mold/dirt in the shower. On our second day we left to sight see at 8 am and returned at 2:40 to find the room had not been made up. The Wifi system is very inconvenient. Our meal in the Silk Road was poor, but given the location it is an expedition to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kutacandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear kutacandi,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry to read your stay with us did not meet up to your expectations. Your comments have been shared within our teams for follow up already. You may be happy to know, we offer a free shuttle bus to the Central Station (advance booking needed). This will save you a walk, if you decide to stay with us again.
Please feel free to contact us directly for more specific feedback regarding your negative experiences. Thank you again.

We hope you may reconsider staying with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here for just one night as part of a mini cruise. As a result, the room itself was extremely good value. The hotel is about 10-15 minutes from the centre, we found it a confusing walk as we didn't know which was the pavement/road/cycle path! You can get the tram as well, which takes about 3 minutes and they didn't even bother to charge us. The hotel is really nice inside, with comfortable, clean rooms and a nice bar. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was really expensive, but we found a lovely cheap cafe a few doors down which I would recommend. The staff were friendly and allowed us to store our bags in their luggage room before checking in. I would stay again, but wouldn't pay the food prices!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Ellie R,
We are pleased to read your one night stay part of your minicruise has been satisfactory with us. Thank you for your positive remarks regarding our clean and comfortable rooms, nice hotel design and bar. We are sorry to read you were a bit confused with regards to the pavement/ cycle and road system. Should you decide to stay with us again, or some where else, please do not hesitate to contact the staff for assistance.

We look forward welcoming you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,085 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#60 of 375 in Amsterdam
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £122 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing