We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* stay! staff fantastic! perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #49 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
widnes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“5* stay! staff fantastic! perfect!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner came to stay here for my 21st birthday! our welcome was lovely and warm! once our room was ready we went up to a "special room" which was gorgeous, and had an amazing view of amsterdam. in the room was a complimentary big bar of chocolate wishing me a happy birthday, a postcard with birthday wishes on from the hotel manager and some biscuits! i was very impressed with this. The walk into town was gorgeous and only took about 10-15 minutes which was beautiful to explore! we took the free minibus as the weather was abit hit and miss! during our stay my boyfriend proposed to me in our room looking out over the view of the beautifully lit up amsterdam! perfect stay in a beautiful hotel!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jennyish16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear jennyish,
First of all, a late congratulations on your 21st birthday and your beautiful proposal! We are very happy to hear you chose our hotel for your celebration, and we are delighted to know you had a (more than!) satisfactory stay with us. The Dutch weather can indeed be very unpredictable :)
Your kind words have been shared within our teams for encouragement already.

We hope to be of your assistance again in a near future and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,149
    2,158
    526
    166
    82
See reviews for
1,023
2,603
207
1,145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Firstly the positives...the location itself is great and no way at all is it too far to walk to from the centre. Unless you are unfortunate enough to be severely immobile or you are just lazy the ten minute walk is a delight. You are at the ticket office and central station in no time - so please ignore these silly reviews about it being too far away. It is nice to be away from the hustle and bustle and the view is first rate.

There is a fantastic music venue next door which we visited called Bimhuis. If you are a jazz head it is a must but be sure to get your tickets on day of gig at last minute ticket shop. 50% saving!

Now on to the negative but constructive criticism...

It's not what I would consider to be 4 star back home. The way they deal with things like tea and coffee facilites in the room and trying to fix a small problem in the evening like a leaking kettle aren't really dealt with in a typical UK 4 star manner...but then I'm used to B & B's. They don't seem to want to have to deal with things like this in the evening. We asked for some more coffee at the end of the night and they responded "well there's decaff?" Not a great start...how can we function on only one coffee sachet and one milk each per day?! We paid over £100 a night!

King sized beds need king sized duvets...as a couple we like to snuggle in the night and it was very unromantic having separate duvets. Beds were not comfy due to ridiculously soft pillows..extra pillows could be provided but why not just have them in the room to begin with? After the kettle incident we couldn't be bothered to ask.

Bathroom facilities were great and the addition of an ironing board was most welcome. Irish chaffeur was very helpful and informative although he has been misinformed about discounted venue tickets available to guests of the hotel.

Overall great place to stay and addition of free shuttle bus to and from station was most welcome.

Worth it for location and room views.



  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baddy2shoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear baddy2shoos,
Thank you very much for your extensive feedback with regards to your stay.
We are pleased to read you appreciated our quiet location with great views, and the facilities around the hotel. On the other hand, we are truly sorry to hear our service did not meet up to your expectations, thank you for bringing this under our attention. Please be assured we take this serious and will have your mentioned points investigated within our teams, in order to ensure the service and quality you expect and deserve from us.
We hope we have a chance to welcome you again, please contact us directly.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Movenpick, City Centre is a bit of misnomer. While it is relatively close to Amsterdam Centraal Station, the hotel itself is in a rather isolated, almost desolate area. The hotel is nicely appointed and our room was comfortable and spacious, though not enough to justify the high price. On the plus side, the concierge directed us to a fabulous, local pub-not found in any of our guidebooks and there was a free shuttle to Centraal, enabling an easy trip to Schipol Airport. If you are business traveler with an expense account looking for a hotel with meeting rooms, spas, in-house restaurants/bars and easy access to the airport, this is the place for you. If you are on vacation and want a hotel within walking distance to Amsterdam streets and attractions, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyFW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear JudyFW16,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to learn you appreciated our comfortable and spacious rooms, and you were attended in a pleasant way by our Concierge giving you the ins and outs of Amsterdam. We are indeed located outside the busy city centre, aiming to be a quiet place away from the city noise.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alddershot
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I choose The Moevenpick Hotel because the location looked good, and it was . It was a 3 minute tram ride to the central station , where you can then get a tram anywhere you want to go . I wanted to see the Christmas markets which were lovely at night , all lite up and the smells were amazing. The Hotel was fantastic , rooms were great , there was always someone cleaning , floors , windows etc . The relaxation room , gym and sauna was a great hit with us , as we done a lot of walking and needed to chill at the end of the day. We didn't eat in the hotel , so cant comment on the food . We ate in town and always had good food , The waffles on the market are a must , absolutely gorgeous.
We had a great , but tireing trip and would deffinatly go back to the hotel the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful , Paul on the help desk was VERY helpful , he gave us a map and suggested we got a 48 hour tram pass which cost 12 euro each and was well worth the money. Amsterdam was certainly an eye opener for me , so much to look round and so much to do, the only thing I didn't like was how busy the town is , but that wasn't a problem .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Daer rachel6162,
We appreciate you took the time to inform us regarding your stay at our hotel. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our location. Please be informed we also offer a free shuttle bus to the Central Station, advance booking recommended. These days the city of Amsterdam, as well as our hotel, will be decorated and prepared for coming Christmas. We are happy to learn our Concierge Paul has been attentive and very helpful. Compliments have been passed on to him already.

If you decide to explore Amsterdam again, we hope you will stay with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

four night city break. Good locations and only 10 minutes walk from Central Station and 20 from Dam Square . Right opposite a tram stop and also hotel runs free shuttle bus every half hour which is great. We would definitely stay here again although we didn't book breakfast as it was a staggering 22 euro's per person- But fridge in room so we sorted our selves out! Have been to Amsterdam a couple of times now and it is worth getting a tram out of the centre to eat- we have had some fantastic meals. Amsterdam is fantastic!
The concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear AndyCStourbridge,
We are happy to read your stay has been positive and you decided to stay with us.
Please allow me to say our extensive breakfast is worth to try it. Many times on our own website or via (online) Travel Agencies, good offers including breakfast can be found.
Thank you for your kind comment regarding our Concierge.

We hope you will visit us soon.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is modern and clean. The location is away from the city area. However, there is a free hotel shuttle or taking tram 26 is just one stop away from Central Station. The room is good value in my opinion. However, I do have problem with accessing the internet. The hotel provide wifi for free in the room but it is almost impossible to surf due to weak signal and slow loading.
We decided to pay for the 3 days access which promises faster surfing speed. However, even after paying for the service (which is not cheap), it is still extremely slow to load a page properly. I make a complain and was told that the problem could be solved by getting the IT staff to reboot the router in my floor. It does not solve the problem. During my check out on my 3rd day, I reflected this issue to the hotel desk and was told that sometimes it could be slow due to the number of users accessing the internet at the same time. I did not want to create a big fuss so let it go because we were celebrating our anniversary that day. However, I do feel that if you decide to charge a fee, the hotel has to ensure we got what we paid for and not provide excuses. I do hope they can improve on this area. Other than the internet, we have no complain about the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerrytlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Jerrytit,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us, and a late congratulations on your anniversary! We are happy to read your stay has been enjoyable.
Besides this, we are truly sorry to hear the internet connection has been dysfunctional and caused you irritation. We take this serious and have shared your feedback with our IT Manager directly for follow up. Should you decide to stay with us again, please inform us, so we can do our utmost you give you the service you expect and deserve from us.

Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

First time in Amsterdam so wanted somewhere decent to stay, alot of the reviews for here were positive so I went for it even though I hadnt seen any pictures. For the amount we paid I tthought it was fantastic, I was happily surprised as soon as I walked in to the reception area and new id made the right choice. Room was nice, bathroom was lush, we had a massive window onthe 9th floor which looked over the large canal and at night time llooked like a photograph of city lights. Bar does great cocktails and yummy sandwiches. Would highly recommend this hotel, especially for people who want to experience the city itself but still be 5 mins away in abit of a quieter area

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Hannah186299,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive review regarding your first stay with us, this is much appreciated by us and important for our future guests.
We are truly happy to learn you enjoyed your stay, and valued our comfortable rooms, bathroom and great views. As many travellers have commented, we are not in the busy city center, but just outside on the banks of the river "IJ", aiming to be a quiet and relaxing place to stay.

If you decide to explore Amsterdam for the second time, please stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#30 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,415 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing