We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #49 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best !!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend in January.
Firstly the location, although it says it is 'outside' the centre - it maybe but it is the perfect location. Just outside all the husle where you can sleep in piece in a very respectful hotel yet walk aprox 10 mins (my partner would definately rather pay a taxi the walk on 'holiday' but it's a beautiful walk next to the water) and after passing a lovely starbooks (coffee stop) your in it all, not to mention the station been the first you hit so you can go anywhere!!
The hotel for us was far far better than expected. The rooms are very very tasteful, infact I'm desperate for the carpet in my hall! With honestly, breathtaking views over the water and Amsterdam.
All in all -- will be returning to this exact hotel if/when we return and will 100% recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessiewessi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Jessiewessi16,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and giving us a five star rating!

We appreciate your kind words and I am pleased we have been able to provide you a great stay.

If you need more information on the carpets feel free to contact our hotel by email under my attention.

Best Regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,149
    2,158
    526
    166
    82
See reviews for
1,023
2,603
207
1,145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Have to say it - this hotels staff has got service to a benchmark . From the moment you walk to checking out. We stayed just the one night. Arrived early and left luggage with them (they locked it away stating it was there responsibility now) very reassuring. Well presented stay with personality. Hotel well situated for tram and has free shuttle on the hour to central. Checked out for midday again luggage kept safe till 16:30 so we could still enjoy the day without carrying luggage. Clean Safe and an enjoyable stay. Thankyou

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Balu6172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Balu6172,

Thank you for your 5 star rating on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your comments and I am happy to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with ''personality'' , this is something we work hard for to achieve every day.

We look forward welcoming you for a future stay with us,

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Me and hubby and 5 kids (age 18-31) spent the weekend (2 nights) from the 1st-3rd for my 50th and we had such a brilliant time mainly due to hotel and it's location which is fabulous. Great food from morning to eve we only ate there as it was so good. The staff are the most helpful we have ever come across nothing to much trouble. The views are amazing and the hotel is of a very high standard just perfect we all loved it. Shuttle bus was great because from central station you can get to everywhere. We will defiantly be retuning thank you for everything especially birthday choc and Buck's Fizz at breakfast, nice touch.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lesley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear lesley s (& Family)

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Great to read that we have been able to provide you with a brilliant time for your family weekend in Amsterdam!

Your kind comments about our staff en services are much apprecieted and we look forward to welcome you back one day!

Best regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Found this a great option for a weekend stay. Loved our quiet 18th floor room, which had absolutely everything we needed. All of the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Location-wise it is not quite in the centre but near enough not to be a problem. We actually like to gain a little peace and quiet at the end of the day.

We should have paid more attention to the hotel website for arrival info, as the central station forecourt is a confusing place, with no-one to ask for assistance. If you don't pre-book the hotel shuttle to pick you up, it's a fairly easy walk: exit the station at the back (past platform 14), turn right, and take the road alongside the water's edge (but don't walk by the water itself as the path disappears). Alternatively, it is one tram stop, No. 26, which, if you are looking out of the front station entrance, can be found to the left. The tram starts and stops here so you can't go in the wrong direction.

Very much enjoyed two restaurants for evening meals: "Pasta Vino" was a local option when we didn't feel like venturing back into the city centre. It was recommended by the concierge and they treated us so well, also serving lovely food. The other was "De Portugees" on Zeedijk, in between the central station and the start of the Red Light district. Both serving good food at reasonable prices, with lovely staff.

We loved our trip... the Dutch are so friendly!

Room Tip: The view from the upper floors is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyHighbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear LadyHighbury

Thank you for your kind review, I am happy to read that we have been able to provide you with everything that you have needed during your stay and this combined with the view and our welcoming staff has made your stay enjoyable.

We look forward welcoming you back at the Movenpick

Best regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Treated my boyfriend to a night at the Movenpick as we live in Amsterdam. Easy friendly check in, free of service charge room service, super comfortable bed, good location and EXCELLENT view of Amsterdam! It brought back great memories of other city skylines we have been lucky enough to view over the years, like Hong Kong, Beijing and Dubai. The view made a cheeky night in a hotel into a special and memorable night.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better - we were on the 15th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taaffed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Taaffed,

Thank you for your review,

We are happy to have made your stay with us a memorable one and proud that you rate our beautiful skylines amongst cities like Hong Kong, Beijing and Dubai!

As you live in amsterdam, feel free to visit us more often!

Best regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Last week I spent 3 nights at this most amazing hotel.

Arrived at Schipol to get a train to Centraal station. When you get there it's a 10 minute walk and in January it's a VERY cold and windy walk. Needn't have walked though as I'll explain later.

Got to reception and she realized it was my friends birthday so gave us some complementary chocolate, which was nice, and she said she would give us a nice room.

Now the room - on the 17th floor with a great view of the city - being so high meant it was very quiet and meant we got a very good sleep. The room was cleaned everyday and the shower room was spotless.

The hotel provides a complementary shuttle every 30 minutes which you pre-book with the concierge...takes you to Central station so you can concentrate on sightseeing in the centre. We used this a few times, except one day where we purchased a one day tram ticket for 7.50 Euros. This was the day we went down to the Rijksmuseum, de Pijp (sp), and the Jewish area (don't particularly recommend this area unless you want to visit the Jewish Historical Museum and the synagogue). Otherwise we spent loads of time just walking, talking in the atmosphere, stopping for a coffee, for a beer...

The breakfast in the hotel has to be the best I've ever had - such variety! Freshly made omelettes or eggs done to order, lovely breads, fresh fruit, pancakes and maple syrup, hams, cheeses, porridge...I didn't know where to start.

The bar is a nice place to end the night - the barmen experiment with different cocktails for you. We had a meal there one night because we were so exhausted from the early flight there, which was okay (Nasi goreng), but nothing on the variety available in the city itself.

Amsterdam is such a fun city - I'll go back, but it would have to be here. I couldn't bear the whole holiday experience being risked by choosing a different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellernick121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Travellernick121,

Thank you for your review and your ''Superb'' rating!

I can read you have had an amazing stay and have enjoyed the various services and products that we offer.

We look forward welcoming you back!

Your sincerely,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a typical hotel for a business traveler. Close to the central railway station and ferry terminal, easy to reach from the airport. But to reach city centre, you need to ride a tram or walk ca 15 minutes, and it's not a very nice walk - so if you are a tourist, look for something in the centre.
Rooms are very nice, offering pleasant views over Amsterdam. The hotel environment seems very impersonal though - as if designed just for the purpose of whisking you in and out.
Breakfast was very rich with huge selection. Service was perfect, check-in and checkout were flawless.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Jan K,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, all your positive comments are much appreciated and obviously shared with our teams!

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

With best regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#30 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,414 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing