We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #49 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

On the 16th Floor we had a magnificent view, we became reluctant to leave the room because we enjoyed it so much. The hotel is nice, the room was comfortable with very good beds. The hotel itself is not located in a neighbourhood, iti s naar the water, but close to the city center.

Room Tip: Higher floors, locaties on the west we think you have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Ellen H,
We are happy to learn your stay with us has been so pleasant, and you loved the stunning views from your room on the 16th floor!
You are more than welcome to stay with us again, please do contact us directly.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,147
    2,158
    526
    166
    82
See reviews for
1,023
2,601
207
1,145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

On arrival they said they had no rooms left. But ours had already been booked and paid for. They said we could upgrade for a price. I refused this as they had given our room away there mistake. After a bit of upset and feeling extremely annoyed they gave us the upgrade for free. Barr from the bad experience on arrival. The hotel in itself is very nice and the views. Very close to central station and Amsterdam Central. The breakfast wAs very good. With a wide variety and was hot and fresh the staff were very helpful and very polite. I would stay here again and have already recommended it to family and friends. I will be staying here again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiefmesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Chiefmesser,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experiences with us. We are sorry to hear your check in procedure has left you with an unpleasant taste. Please be assured this has our highest attention. Besides this, we are pleased our hotel and staff met up to your expectations.
We put a lot of emphasis on our quality and service, and it is encouraging to see this pays off.

Should you decide to stay with us again, please contact us personally.

KInd regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just come back from a 3 night stay at this hotel.
It is ideally located, only a 10 minute walk or 1 minute tram ride from central station.
The hotel is right on the water front with spectacular views from the room (we were on the 5th floor).
The rooms are pretty standard, clean enough and well equipped. They have all you need for a stay in a city were staying in your hotel would be a waste of a trip.
The bar food was nice, although the service for drinks was slow. They could perhaps do with an additional barman to make cocktails during happy hour.
The staff themselves, were accomodating and friendly and more than happy to help with any additonal requirements we had.
The breakfasts were nice, if not a little oily.
Be prepared to pay a deposit of 150euros on check in. The reason for this wasn't explained to us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Sophie J,
Thank you for your kind and extensive review regarding your stay with us. Your compliments regarding our accommodating staff have been shared within our teams already.
We are sorry to hear the deposit procedure has not been clear for you. Upon check in we ask a deposit of € 50,- per night as a guarantee for additional non included facilities, by cash or credit card reservation.
Please feel free to contact us for more infotmation.

Thank you again, we hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Spent a long weekend at the hotel. Train direct from airport terminal to central station took 20 mins. Phoned hotel concierge for free shuttle transport to hotel - available twice per hour. Exec room on top floor had fabulous view, super comfy bed and was very quiet. Use of exec lounge for free coffee, beer etc was a nice touch. Also ate breakfast there. Buffet breakfast had excellent choices of hot and cold foods. Very hectic Sat and Sunday but much more pleasant on Monday. Staff very helpful. Nice ambiance. Very modern. Only complaint, as with many hotels - hairdryer was in bathroom so husband could not use until I had finished. Hairdryer, make up mirror and good lighting should be in room not bathroom - mirror also steamed up. Shower over bath was good but bath deep and slippery so difficult to climb out of safely. Lots to see in Amsterdam. Did the city bus tour and canal boat trip. Walked through red light district, went to a photo exhibition at Foam Gallery which was amazing. All restaurants had exc standard of food, reasonably priced. Interesting city and pleasant stay. Would use Movenpick again in future.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are on top 2 floors - 19 and 20 - so excellent views and very quiet. Also get use o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonic27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Sonic27,
We are happy to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and took advantage of all the benefits which are included in an Executive Suite. During weekend it can indeed get very busy! Otherwise, our apologies for the indicated inconveniences with our bathroom facilities. Please be assured this has our attention.
We are more than happy to assist you for your future booking.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just back from a couple of nights stay.
Arrival via the cities tram network just 1 stop from Central Station on Tram 26 headed for Ijburg. Or a 20 min walk from Central Station, exit the Train station at the rear and you walk along the dock front to the hotel watch out for the cycles.
Taking the tram it is a 5 min walk from the Tram stop across the road and back on your self then you arrive at reception.
Very helpful reception staff and concierge booking in took less than a couple of minutes.
Room on 17th floor very modern decor, very clean, connecting doors if required.
Buffet breakfast included again clean and great selection.
Courtesy bus to take you to central station if required.
Thoroughly recommend it for its location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markg0lgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear g0gj,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with us and our (future) travelers. We are indeed as you mention well connected by all means of public transport. Besides this, our free shuttle bus takes you to the Central Station (advance booking needed). Our staff is more tahn happy to assist you in anything you may need, also to reserve your next stay with us.. :)

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton
Level Contributor
305 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Movenpick Hotel was a great central and starting point for our tour of Amsterdam, other areas of Holland and our cruise to the Baltic area! The cruise ship terminal entrance was only doors away from the hotel on the same side of the street.
Having read reviews and seen photos of the hotel online, I thought it so different from hotels we had visited. Part of that thought is true! We had never been to a hotel which was central to the city and located on the waterfront from where we later in the week saw the top of our cruise ship by looking out our bedroom door!!
The hotel reception area is large and well appointed with a friendly and helpful staff. There is a lovely gift shop where some of our gifts were wrapped in unique Dutch gift wrapl The sitting area is very attractive and noticed many people sitting by the fireplace and reading material provided during our stay.
The room decor was clean cut and the room layout was efficient for our purposes. The view from our panoramic window was spectacular and the river traffic was interesting and constantly changing. There was no noise problem at our level. No other members of our group complained of noise in or outside the hotel.
We never quite adjusted to the half glass shower door in the bathtub but that was the only negative comment my husband and I had about the hotel.
Their breakfast buffet was exceptional both in service and the variety and the quality of food available.
The public transportation in front of the hotel was a bonus but we enjoyed some ten or fifteen minute walks to the hotel from downtown Amsterdam. The hotel looks spectacular in the evening photo shoot!
The hotel was part of our trip package so I can not comment on the price of the room but we would gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RETIREDTRAVELLER06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear RetiredTraveler,
We hope you had a pleasant boat cruise to the Baltic area and would like to thank you for sharing such an extensive and positive feedback.
The hotel is indeed located on a unique location, close to all mayor points of interest but quietly located on the banks of the river "IJ" offering fantastic views.
Your more than positive comments regarding our facilities and friendly staff are very motivating for us!

Anytime you are in Amsterdam, please stay with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 3 night stay here.
Was a little put off by the distance from the city, however in comparison to most of the other hotels we saw, worth the walk. There is a tram right outside, think there was a free shuttle (although we didn't use it), and we hired bikes from right outside.

Awesome view of the river and city from the windows. Rooms modern, on the smallish side, but very clean. Bed wasn't very comfy and they do that odd thing with a double bed and two single duvets but think this is quite common in Europe.

Service was sensational, especially in the Silk bar. Only complaint would be breakfast, loads of variety, however very congested and cold.
Would recommend

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hollie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Hollie B,
Thank you for your extensive and positive reviw regarding your 4 day- 3 night stay at our hotel.
We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and valued our quiet location, just outside the (busy) city centre. Should you decide to stay with us again, please visit our website for more information. We are sorry to hear our breakfast has not been of the service you should expect from us. Please be assured this will be further investigated.

Please contact us directly for your next stay, we are happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#30 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,414 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing