We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant staff, comfortable rooms, wonderful views!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #50 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Magoebaskloof, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, comfortable rooms, wonderful views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I've stayed here on many occasions as a business traveller and cannot fault the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel in general. The front of house staff are friendly and obliging while remaining perfectly professional. The room service staff are usually great (some are more grumpy than others!). Breakfasts are excellent with a wide range of hot and cold buffet choices. Dinner / lunch is good, well presented and usually some delicious specials on the menu. The standard rooms are perfectly comfortable and the higher notch rooms are only slightly better offering a greater range of toiletries, a fully stocked mini bar and a Nespresso coffee machine. The views from all sides and all levels are wonderful, looking down the river in each direction, into central Amsterdam or the suburbs. Very well located only 10-15 minutes brisk walk from Central Station, city bars and restaurants. The gym is small but well equipped, with a small spa / massage area offering a little pampering if you have the time!

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view, but if you're a light sleeper worth requesting a room that is not di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivrelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Vivrelife,
Thank you very much for sharing your travel experiences with us regarding your frequent business stays.
We are happy to learn you have choosen our hotel on several occasions, and appreciate our friendly and accurate service. Your compliments have been shared within our teams already for motivation and to ensure our high level of quality and service you expect from us.

Anytime you are in Amsterdam again, please stay with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,978
    2,034
    495
    153
    75
See reviews for
948
2,477
202
1,071
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (916)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had the pleasure of staying in this lovely hotel on the 21st of March. I wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is a class above anything else I've stayed in whilst in Amsterdam. We arrived early and the room wasn't available at that moment so we left our bags with the concierge and wen't for a wander of the surrounding area. Once back at the hotel we checked in and got room 1602 which had a breathtaking view of the river Ij, centraal station and beyond. We watched the sunset over the city and slowly watched the city start to wake up with lights. I would stay here again just based on the view but there are so many more positive points.

-The hotel has secure keycard lifts for guests only
-The room service is rediculously quick (From order to delivery was literally 8 minutes!)
-The bathroom was immaculate and very modern
-The free shuttle service from the hotel to the airport was great and the driver was very courteous
-The ice cream is incredible and well worth a try

From start to finish, the whole experience at the Movenpick was a delight and I would have no hesitation in booking here again. In fact I will be booking very soon for November :)

P.S. Apologies to Movenpick for taking the pen from the room by accident :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank signorwhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear signorwhippy,
We are very happy to read we have made your stay with us such a memorable one!
Your more than positive and extensive review is much appreciated and has been shared within our entire team for encouragement already.

Please contact us before your next stay in November, we are happy to assist you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

stayed recently over the weekend, great staff and great location! Special mention to Irene and Tjekr who were very helpful, and being from a Hospitality Management background myself would like to commend them on an excellent customer service that they delivered to me and my friends.
Located easily for central Amsterdam (tram outside hotel and one stop away from city centre).
If you stay request a room with a view, awesome view of the city and waterways!

Room Tip: request room with a view, you have to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Harry G,
We are truly proud and happy to learn your weekend stay with us has been such a pleasant one.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff members Irene and Tjerk, compliments have been shared with them already for encouragement.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here over New Year. The higher 'business' rooms have great views over Holland enabling you to see fireworks across the country on NYE. The Hotel is located around 10mins from central station which was not to inconvinent although I can see some people may feel it is a bit of a treck.

Rooms were good size and the for Business gues they have free food and drinks in the Business lounge 5-7 every day which was excellent.

i liled my stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Graeme W,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review regarding your stay last year.
We are happy to learn you took advantage of the benefits which come included when booking an Executive Room, such as splendid views and free drinks and snacks in our Executive Lounge between 5 and 7 p.m.
Our hotel is indeed located just outside the (busy) city centre, our free shuttle bus is happy to take you to the Central Station (advance booking required).

Please stay with us again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

An impressive hotel, I would stay there again and again.
Just a quick tram ride from the centre.
They continued to provide great service regardless of the time of day and the rooms were fitted to a high standard with great views of the surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giac007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Giac007,
Thank you so much for sharing your kind review with us, if we understand correctly for the second or maybe third time with us..? Your feedback is very encouraging for our entire team.

We put a lot of emphasis on our quality and service, and are happy to read you have experienced this... again and again :)

Please stay with us next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel was perfect! In a great location just outside the city centre and with a tramline a 5 minute walk away it was very easy to access places. This trip cost us just £80 each with Superbreaks and this included a night in this hotel and over night on a ferry, very good value for money! The service was very good and staff were very friendly. The beds were massive and the view over the river was stunning! I had a very good nights sleep. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lks16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear iks16,
We are happy to read your took advantage of a special deal and hope you had a pleasant boat trip.
Thank you for your compliments regarding our friendly staff and good service.
Our hotel is located on the banks of the river "IJ" , aiming to be a quiet place to sleep and waking up with beautiful views!

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it was family friendly and the staff very helpful. The hotel is close to the centre of Amsterdam either 1 tram stop or a short walk, the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swan172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Swan172,
Your kind and positive review is much appreciated, we are pleased to hear your stay has been so enjoyable.
Our staff is more than happy to assist you next time you visit Amsterdam!

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing