We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michalis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #53 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel and its facilities were great. Price was expensive but all hotels in amsterdam were expensive as well. The only drawback is the hotel's location although the hotel offers free shuttle bus to the center.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michalis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Michalis P,
We are pleased to read your stay has been an enjoyable one. Good offers many times can be found on our own website, or through Travel Agencies.

Thank you again, we look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,089 - 3,095 of 6,427 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel and very busy, its seems it a stop over for the cruise ships that come in.
Our room was lovely, did have one bad experience with the mattress topper it was full of hair and had not been cleaned for a while, but they cleaned it straight away and left us a bar of chocolate. We had paid for our room well in advanced and was surprised at checkout their was extra tax. We ate a couple of times in the silk restaurant which was very pleasant. As the hotel is around 15 minutes walk to the centre, we caught no 26 tram from over the road, but also found if you go to 2 level and through the restaurant to the decking area their is a walk way down to the main road, which takes away the hill incline. Our room had a lovely view looking over the river

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyash33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear greyash33,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us regarding your stay in April. First of all we apologize for the unpleasant experience you had concerning the cleanliness of your room.
Please be assured this ahs been shared within our related departments already. With regards to the local governmental city tax, Travel Agencies many times inform you on their website when purchasing the room.
Besides this we are happy to read you had a lovely stay in our hotel.

Anytime you decide to re discover Amsterdam, we look forward welcoming you in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Like a previous reviewer, my husband and I stayed over the Easter weekend and were in an executive room on the 19th floor (room 1918). Wow! What amazing views!

Our welcome at reception was fantastic and all staff were very helpful and friendly, with nothing being too much trouble. As others have mentioned, the hotel is about a 10 - 15 minute walk from Central Station but a tram stop is a very short distance from the hotel. We walked every time, but people who are less mobile shouldn't worry about the distance due to public transport.

The Executive Lounge was well worth it and like the previous reviewer, we also saw another person smuggling a bottle of drink out of the lounge. Entirely unfair, but I suppose we're adults and should be trusted! Anyway, the nibbles were lovely and there was always a variety.

Breakfast on the first day was in the Silk Road restaurant, moving to the conference area for the other 3 days of our visit. This was an extensive buffet affair, with everything from fruits and cereals to cooked breakfast and pastries. We were amused at some guests piling their plates with something from every station, instead of returning to the buffet for the next step!

We ate in the Silk Bar on one evening, which was good. Cocktails on another evening was also a good move!

Although this was our first visit to Amsterdam, it won't be our last and we will definitely return to stay at the Movenpick. We'll also choose an Executive room again as all the added extras were well worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Teacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear The Teacher7,
Thank you very much for your (more than!) positive and extensive review regarding your stay in our hotel. We are truly proud to have made your stay such a pleasant one, and to read you took advantage of all benefits which come included when booking an Executive Suite.

We defenitely hope you will stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It is more me than anything else but paying approximately $400 dollars a night for a place to stay is unusual for us. We did this when we booked for a canal cruise through Viking. The hotel is nice, comfortable, clean and well mannered. The staff was excellent. We did not eat there but did have a couple of drinks. If one does the math it cost approximately 25 dollars and hour to sleep 7 hours for 1 person. This to me is a once in a life time experience. Better things to do with the money. Having said that it should be close to the action, easily accessible, professionally staffed and take care of all of ones needs and the hotel has all of these attributes. We were not dissatisfied in any way but will look for something more pragmatic next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chasman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Chasman86,
We hope you enjoyed your Viking Cruise and are pleased to read your stay has been such a satisfactory one. Next time you decide to stay in Amsterdam our staff looks forward pampering you again and make your stay as memorable as your previous one. On our own website many times good offers can be found, as well as through the Travel Agencies.
We look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived back from Amsterdam yesterday and whilst over there we had the pleasure of staying at Movenpick. We were greeted the moment we walked through the door. My partner was presented with a bar of their beautiful chocolate on check in for his birthday. The hotel room was fantastic and an amazing view from the 16th floor. The room was spotless. Such a comfortable room cannot wait to go back to Amsterdam and this is where I will be booking again. My only comment would be to have signposts from Central Station to the hotel as can easily walk past turning to get there. Once you come out of central station turn left and when u see the bridge on the left walk underneath on the right hand side of it and then turn right and you will see the hotel. Or jump on the 26 tram from outside central station and drops u across the road! Wonderful hotel missing it already!

1  Thank Siobhan1221
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Siobhan1221,
Thank you for staying with us and a late congratulations again on your partners birthday!
It is encouraging to learn you had such a satisfactory stay with us and received a warm welcome from our staff.
We look forward assisting you again next time you visit Amsterdam and make your stay as memorable as your previous one.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was our third stay here, and we enjoyed it just as much as before. We booked an executive room - which included breakfast/complimentary mini-bar/free wifi/ free wine, beer and 'hors d'oevres' every evening from 5 - 7 and spectacular views!

The room was clean. Housekeeping was good, but a little erratic - different staff did different things! One changed towels even though we left them on the rails, another left a second set of towels along with the ones we had used and a third just left them as they were without making any effort to re-fold them!

Easter weekend proved to be a very busy time for the hotel and breakfast was moved from the usual restaurant to the conference area. This was not too much of a problem, but it did mean that there were some things that were not available.

The evening 'nibbles' in the executive lounge were nice, but after a few days became rather monotonous! We would have liked a more varied selection - as on our two previous visits.

All the hotel staff are pleasant and helpful. It is a shame that some of the guests were not quite so pleasant! We were a little concerned about one removing a complete bottle of wine from the executive lounge in their bag and also taking the chocolates and biscuits, meaning there were none left for other guests - a little consideration for others would have been welcome.

As others have said, it is not in the centre of Amsterdam, despite its name, but it is only a few minutes walk or a short tram ride from the station. We like the fact it is away from the city centre. We certainly enjoyed the sight of the large cruise ships and the river cruisers outside our window!

All in all, another great stay here, and if we return to Amsterdam, we will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have best views, so go for an executive room if you can. it might be more expensive but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooligan-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Hooligan-59,
We sincerely thank you for choosing our hotel for your third stay, and are happy to read we met up to your expectations again. Your constructive remarks have our attention and will be taken into consideration within the related teams.
Please do stay with us again the (4th!) time you visit our nice city.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We ( group of 4 adults and a child ) stayed in this hotel from 28th March to 4th April. The hotel is excellent. We were not on a cruise but selected this place because we planned to drive in Netherlands and this place gives you easy access to A5 without entering the city. Plus this hotel is comfortably located near Central station, but away from the city's madness. just walk for few mnts from station, you reach this tranquil place. There is a tram stop across the road which will take you to the central station.

They hotel also have a shuttle service to central station. Only thing, you need to book it in advance.

Breakfast was not included in our booking. They offered us breakfast @ 18.5 EUR/ person/ day. Which we didn't take.

Overall a pleasant stay. I will recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear PVNair,
It is good to hear you choose our hotel and quiet location for exploring Amsterdam and our country by car. We aim to be, as you well describe, a quiet haven ensuring peaceful nights, and in the meantime with excellent public transport connections. We noted your comment with regards to our breakfast rates. You may be interested to know, good offers can many times be found on our own website, or via Travel Agencies.

We hope you will stay at our hotel again on your next visit to Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,175 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,967 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £125 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing