We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #49 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were booked into this hotel by our cruise director and we found it to be very centrally located and clean and comfortable. It was not terrible fancy but the rooms were large and everyone was very accomidating when you asked for anything.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamGNewnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear PamGNewman,
We hope you had a beautiful boat cruise and appreciate your feedback regarding your pleasant stay with us. Our friendly staff is always happy to assist you should you decide to visit us again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,149
    2,158
    526
    166
    82
See reviews for
1,023
2,603
207
1,145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were lucky to get upgraded to the Executive Club for our recent stay at the Moevenpick Hotel in Amsterdam. Situated within walking distance of the central station the hotel is also convenient for the city centre which is also within walking distance. The Executive Club gives you a room on the top (20th) floor with great views across the city and port. Minibar is restocked daily for free and there's tea, coffee and biscuits during the afternoon and free snacks, beers, wine and soft drinks early evening in the Executive lounge on the 2nd floor. All rooms have free wi-fi & tea & coffee making facilities. Our room came complete with a safe, good cupboard space, desk & easy chair in addition to a comfortable bed. Our package included breakfast, the usual mix of continental and hot cooked but the quality was excellent. Would definitely stay at this hotel again, highly recommended!

Room Tip: The executive club upgrade was definitely a bonus and helped make our stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Corrie14,
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay, including all benefits which include an Executive Suite such as the splendid views from our topfloors, the free snacks in our Executive Lounge and restocked minibar.
Your detailed review may be a great help for our future travelers.

We look forward welcoming you in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I spent 6 nights in 2012 at the Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, and I must admit that this has been the best hotel experience I have ever had. Upon arrival (mind you, it was quite windy and raining outside and I am a young female that travels alone often (including this trip)), the concierge immediately took my bags from me and put them aside. Guest services were extremely friendly and accommodating as well - they even put me on the 18th floor! My room was extremely clean and had a fantastic view of a canal and the Centraal Station. The first night I was there, I had a fever and fell very ill. I had called room service and they immediately came and brought me aspirin and some orange juice to help. The next day they called and had a doctor come to see me - which was on Christmas, so I was very thankful for the staff and the doctor for them to come. The hotel is located a bit away from the city centre, but is only 1 tram stop away, so this is really great. I especially liked it because I was not looking to stay in the middle of the city, but rather close in a more peaceful area. This was perfect. Also, there is a shuttle service every 30 minutes taking guests Centraal Station. Every day, the hotel room was impeccably clean. I had to also have room service food items and the meals were quite good. I ate one day at the in-hotel restaurant on the second floor, and the chef had even custom made a soup for me due to my dietary requirements. This was the best hotel I have stayed at in Europe, and the best hotel experience I have had to date. Overall, I was very happy, would definitely stay at this hotel again, and would definitely recommend it to friends, colleagues, and anyone who reads this review. Definitely worth the value!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear finjan,
We truly appreciate to receive your extensive and more than positive feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel in 2012. Of course we are sorry to hear you did not feel well, but happy you were taken care of in such a warm way by our staff. We also hope your Christmas in our hotel left you with good memories and will make you decide to stay with us again in a near future.
Your kind compliments are motivating and encouraging at the same time, and have therefor been shared within our teams already.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel together with my sister in March 2014. The hotel is very nice, situated in the harbor of Amsterdam just a walking distance from the central station. In case you do not want to walk, you may take a tram, which will bring you directly to the central station and historical center of the city (tickets may be purchased either directly in tram or by concierge). Even though the hotel is in the city center the neighborhood is very quiet. We booked Executive Room, all of which are situated on the top floor. Rooms are of a good size and offer all facilities you need, bathrobes, slippers and a famous brand coffee machine. The view is just amazing over entire Amsterdam. Beds were very comfortable and rooms are very clean. Breakfast offers a great variety of items both cold and hot, everything was fresh and staff very friendly and helpful. We also tried the restaurant and were actually not impressed. We order Caesar Salad with shrimps. Salad was very basic and shrimps were cold, just taken out of the supermarket package. For that price, I would suggest to try something else. I was also kind of surprised by the executive lounge, where during the snack hours wine bottles were more often empty then full, so you had to hunt for wine.
However, the entire impression was very good, so I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusya0982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Dusya0982,
We appreciate the time you took to share your travel experiences with us and are happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel together with your sister. Our hotel is indeed located in a quiet area on the banks of the river ÏJ", but well connected by all emans of public transport. It is good to learn you took advantage of all benefits which come included when booking an Executive Suite.
Your constructive remarks regarding our Restaurant food and Ececutive Lounge have our attention, thank you for bringing this under our attention.

We thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is on the water just north of Centraal Station. It is a comfortable walk to the downtown area and everything to see and do in Amsterdam or there is a trolley but I never used it. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The restaurant is good and prices are reasonable. After looking at some other hotels online I am more than eager to recommend this hotel. You won't regret staying here. I can't speak to the price as it was part of my trip and included. Although I did purchase one dinner and it was plenty, delicious and reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotographVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear PhotographVagabond,
Your kind and positive feedback is much appreciated. We are happy to read your stay in our hotel met up to your expectations, and you would recommend our hotel. Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, you may be interested to have a look on our own website for special deals, or on the (online) Travel Agencies.

Please stay with us again if your travel plans bring you to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

An excellent facility, with a great location and nice water views. Nice staff, comfortable room, good restaurant, excellent bar with good food and some entertainment by night. Walking distance to the city center and the train station where the canal boat tours are located and also nearby are the cruise ships and the many river boat cruises on the rhine river. Modern hotel facilities, with a great location go and enjoy it all. Amsterdam is a fun and lively European city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side face the city, ask for floors 8 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Gerard478,
Thank you for your positive and kind feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased to learn you appreciated our great location and fantastic views, combined with our friendly staff, comfortable rooms and good quality of served food items.

Next time you visit Amsterdam, please stay with us again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Amsterdam visiting museums and the fabulous Keukenhof Gardens. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, we booked the executive room which gave us a room on the top floor with the most amazing views of the river and the constant movement of all types of vessels.The room was comfortable with a fridge offering free cold drinks and beer, flat screen TV with some English channels and a well fitted bathroom.We ate in the restaurant every night and the staff were superb, everyone of them with out fail went out of their way to make our evenings enjoyable. Top marks also to the management for selecting such excellent staff. We will certainly look for Moevenpick hotels on our future visits to Europe.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the Executive Rooms for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silversurfers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Silversurfers_9,
We are happy to read your stay has been (more than!) pleasant in our hotel, and you took
advantage of all benefits which come included when booking an Executive Suite.
Your kind compliments regarding our excellent staff have been shared within our teams for encouragement already!
We put a lot of emphasis on our quality and services, and are happy this pays off.

Anytime you decide to stay in one of our hotels again, we hope your next stay will be as memorable as your previous stay.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#30 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,414 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing