We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$448
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$464
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,760)
Filter reviews
6,760 results
Traveller rating
3,502
2,364
599
195
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,502
2,364
599
195
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick hotelcentral stationcruise terminalfree shuttlecity centregreat hotelshuttle servicetram stophotel shuttleminute walkexecutive roommodern hotelbreakfast buffetmini bardam squareconciergeviking
Filter
Updating list...
3,237 - 3,242 of 6,760 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed stayed at this hotel before embarking on a Viking River Cruise! The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and all the hotel staff were great. Our room had a lovely view of the waterway. The buffet breakfast was wonderful and more than adequate! There was a huge selection of food, very good and very well presented! The hotel is close to central station, public transportation which was easy to use. Not too much close to the hotel but we used public transportation and also walked to some places!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hardtofindnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Hardtofindnow,
We thank you for your time to share your positive review and hope your River Cruise has been a beautiful one.
It is good to read you has such a wonderful stay with us and appreciated our great variety of breakfast, comfortable and clean rooms and splendid views.

We defenitely hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very clean hotel with great staff....we have requested and were granted early checking ( 8 am )...room was ready and we were invited to a great breakfast buffet. Our room on 19th floor had a great view of port, central train station and down town. We stayed there 2 nights before our AMA cruise and because it was raining, our concierge arranged tickets to main museums ( Van Gogh and Rijk's ). The hotel is very close to public transport and city is pretty compact to get around

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RenePavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear RenePavol,
We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel and besides the rainy weather you explored the interesting museums in Amsterdam. Your kind general remarks regarding our good facilities, fantastic views and tasty breakfast and easy to reach location are much appreciated.

Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at the Movenpick Amsterdam after finishing our Viking River Cruise. perfect location just had a brief walk or you could get a transfer to the hotel if you did not want the walk. Check in was smooth room was great lovely view out over the docking area and central station. Close to public transport, which works really well in Amsterdam. or you can walk to central station. Overall great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Sheree H,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We are pleased to read you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel and hope your Viking Cruise has been enjoyable as well.
Our location is indeed perfect for starting or ending your cruise, but also ensures peaceful nights due to our quiet location on a walkable distance to the city center.

Please book our hotel again next time your plans bring you to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The accommodations and the staff were great at this property. We opted for an executive room on a very high floor overlooking the water and it included breakfast. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous.
There was an incredible array of food, from smoked fish to a wonderful selection of Dutch cheeses, and all sorts of delicious choices and pastries.
The room was very modern, nicely styled and very comfortable, with nice linens and a very nicely planned bathroom..
The public areas were top notch and everyone at the front desk were most helpful.
I thought the rate of under $250 a night, including breakfast was a very good deal for a city like Amsterdam,
I felt we were a bit removed from the center and charm of the city of Amsterdam itself, but at this great price, we opted to take reasonably priced taxis to the historic charming center of the city.
We were there for two nights pre river cruise, and thought this would be a great location since we were next to the port.
However, as it turned out, this could have been a problem. A very large cruise ship had docked behind the hotel, meaning we were going to have to walk a bit to the dock nearby for our smaller river boat. Luckily, we had packed very lightly for this trip with two 20 inch suitcases and two small rolling totes, as we had to walk a few blocks to the boat with all of our luggage As it turned out, we were too close to the dock for any taxis to take us, as we would have done if we were in the city center.. If we had taken our usual large suitcases, we would have had a fairly difficult time getting to our dock loaded down with all of our travel gear.
Overall, however, this hotel was a good value.

Room Tip: Try to get deal for executive room on high floor including breakfast
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _eiffeltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear robinlynn47,
Thank you very much for sharing your detailed feedback with us regarding your stay. We hope your Boat Cruise has been an enjoyable one. Your more than positive remarks concerning our friendly staff, public areas and rooms are much appreciated. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered by carrying your luggage, and due to the fact our hotel not being far way enough for the taxis.

We do hope to have a chance again to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We selected this hotel because it was near the ports where the Viking River cruises dock. We arrived a day early so we could sightsee by ourselves. This is a beautiful hotel, very clean, the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are fabulous. We came into the Central Station, called the hotel ( they gave us the int'l number, we needed the local number) and they picked us up and brought us to the hotel. Good news is, if we had to walk, we could have. It is a short distance to the hotel. So, when we wanted to go sightseeing, it was an easy walk to the station and very easy to figure out the tram system. After the cruise, we also stayed a day later here and we felt like locals because we knew how to get around.
The staff at the hotel were forthcoming, very respectful and very nice people.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FrancesDecatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear FrancesDecatur,
We hope you had a beautiful River Cruise and are happy to read you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel. It is good to learn you explored the city of Amsterdam by yourself and valued our quiet and easy to access location.
Thank you for your compliments regarding our respectful and friednly staff, this is obviously much apprecciated!

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews