We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from Moevenpick Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #51 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We had looked forward to stay there,when we arrived there was nobody to offer any help with our bags as porters seemed uninterested.Receptionist was very kind.After we were checked in,we picked up our luggage and went towards lifts and again no reaction from porters who were looking on internet.Room was nice,good quality furnishings,comfortable beds.TV had no music channels like Viva or MTV available,strange but no big deal.
Internet also kept dragging and disconecting from time to time,when we called reception we were informed that there is a problem and that`s all they knew.Breakfast was good but then we noticed that following days some items were not available,and people who clear tables try to get you out of there as soon as possible.Have stayed in Movenpicks before but this one lacks the standards and passion that the rest of Movenpick hotels has.Seems like staff there has no motivation or interest I am not talking about everybody but the ones we noticed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Deutschlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,352)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,407 - 4,413 of 6,353 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2008

Walk or one tram stop from the central rail station. Has free shuttle to/from train station.Over looks the
water. Got it for $ 115.00 a night on Priceline. Next to cruise ship terminal.

Brand new hotel in perfect condition. FREE internet and business center.

Went up late and had ice cream sundae at hthe restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Happytraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Movenpick Amsterdam. 4 * rating.
4 x night weekday stay.
A Hotel review is based on a personal and subjective opinion.
What may be acceptable to you, may not be to me, and vice versa.

Location: 5 mins from Central Station next to the Ferry Terminal. Some find it inconvenient. It really isn't, and I actually find it an advantage.
Great river views from the higher floors...no city noise or drunk British people, larger modern rooms. I have stayed in many central Amsterdam Hotels, and this is my new favorite.

Do as I did and rent a black granny bike for your entire stay....from Linda at STAR CYCLES, literally visible from your room window, and a 5 min walk away. There is the Hotel affilliated Yellow Cycles in the Hotel basement parking lot, but lots more Euro's and not as funky. Besides, Linda makes great coffee.

Safety: Very good. This is Amsterdam. Well lit pedestrian pathway from Station to Hotel, or go one stop on Tram #26 from Central Station. It can't be easier. 8/10

Property: 20 floor modern construction. Swiss owned chain. Nice, clean, modern... oh, did I say modern? Well, it is Swiss.
Check in: Good. Arrived early, but was assigned a room on arrival. Helpful international staff. Asked for, and was given high floor away from elevator etc.
Great view of the passenger ferries going across to N Amsterdam, plus all the regular Euro barge traffic and river cruise ships.

Bar: Enjoyed several cups of excellent coffee on morning of arrival. Restaurant menu and breakfast looked pretty god, although I didn't eat there. Extensive room service menu at reasonable (for a Hotel) prices.

Room: Ahh...at last a room size comparable to the USA. Curiously a king bed, with 2 separate duvet sets. Bed is one base unit, not a euro splitter special. Good pillow choices. Mid quality sheets. Bed way too hard..... Great bathroom, sleek and modern. Towels, surprisingly threadbare. Nice personal care products. Useful sofa area under window. Shower good....had a little fun working out the bath/shower mixer tap...beware, this water is HOT.
Free use In-room safe, ironing board and iron etc. Excellent in-room tea and coffee making facilities. A great touch.
An empty fridge for all your room swag ! More kudos ....can it get better ? ....yes, read on.
Could do with a flat screen tv upgrade. Tons of CNN/Bloomberg stuff but english speaking channels a bit limited. 500 satellite channels available for eurox5 per day.

Internet: Free wifi in room and public areas.
At last a Hotel that recognizes that wifi is essential today, and does not abuse their customers with ridiculous overcharging for puny 11mbs connections masquerading as broadband. That in itself will keep business amd tourist travelers alike coming back. WTG Movenpick! 9/10

Conclusion: An unexpected impressive experience. Lots of facilities including a Gym and a Sauna at no extra charge.
Its the attitude that counts. No nickel and diming, and a genuinely positive experience.

Stay again? Yes.
US Rating: Solid 4*
Value: Good $$$ 8/10

Stayed: October 2008
6  Thank Hawaii_son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

This is one of the most modern and efficient hotels you will find anywhere. The room furnishings were beautiful Swiss ultra-modern and extremely clean. Views from the upper floors are spectacular and the staff here is first rate. The hotel offers both wifi and wired LAN internet access from the guestrooms. The wifi is free and of mediocre but acceptable signal strength. The LAN access if, of course, much better but costs 0.25 euros per minute, still not bad by European standards.

Now for the location. Yes, it’s within walking distance of Central Station and the city center but it’s on a newly developed strip of land along the river adjacent to the Muziekgebouw (Music Building) and Passenger Terminal A’dam for cruise ships. The hotel will tell you trams 25 and 26 stop just in front of the hotel at the Muziekgebouw stop and they do. What you will discover, however, is a body of water separating the tram stop from the hotel. A pedestrian bridge (rather steep) connects the tram stop to the Music Building’s second floor. You must then enter the Music Building (assuming it’s during operating hours) ride the elevator to the ground floor, go outside, turn left and walk to the hotel. The other alternative is to take tram 25 (only) and ride one more stop to Pass Term A’dam as this tram loops around and crosses the canal. From there it’s a block or two along walk along the flat sidewalk to the hotel. While I recommend the latter, neither is all that convenient given that there is a tram stop right in front of the hotel but is separated by a canal. What the hotel really needs to do is remove a chain link fence and open a door from the hotel’s second floor to the terrace so that guest could access the foot bridge directly without having to go up and through the Music Building.

So if you’re looking for a top notch hotel in Amsterdam and don’t mind the awkward access, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Moevenpick hotel for 6 nights in October. We agree that the hotel experience is one of the highlights of our exciting trip. We give it a 4.5 stars rating, not a 5, for some minor flaws.

Pros:

1. Hotel and Room: The hotel is new unlike many other hotels in Amsterdam. The contemporary design of the hotel building together with its neighboring Muziekgebouw (Music Hall) makes a new landmark. The room is coherently designed also with minimalist concepts. The hotel is built by the water and each room has a beautiful water view through a large window. Its washroom is roomy. I however find its 1/4" frosty glass washroom door with no lock an odd idea.

2. Foods and Room Service: Its Silk Road restaurant offers excellent dining experience. But if you are lazy like we were, do not miss its room service. It has an extensive menu. The food is excellent, especially the deserts - hands down!

3. Service: The staff is polite and genuinely helpful and seems always available when you need them. There also is training staff on site in hotel's exercise room. All phone requests are nicely handled by knowledgeable staff.

4. Location: It takes 15 minutes to walk to the Central Station, which takes you to the airport in another 20 minutes. It's convenient for those stay for a short period of time. It's neighboring "Music Hall" offers frequent music events (up to 4 events a day) covering classical, jazz and "world/folk". The Concertgebouw, which is quite distant from the hotel, often offers more interesting musical alternatives.

Cons:

1. TV and TV Programming: Its TV is very small. It's difficult to enjoy movies (10 Euro each) on such a small screen. The hotel offers about 32 channels in 8 languages. English speakers get CNN world, BBC world, Bloomberg Channel and MSNBC world only.

2. Location: For those who love to stroll in the city, it might be wise to pick a hotel in the city centre. It takes 15 minutes to walk to the Central Station and might take another half an hour just to get to the Dam Square. The hotel however offers free shuttle services to the Central Station by request. There are also two tram (street car - 1.6 Euro per zone per person) lines that have stops near the hotel.

3. Gym: Its gym is more like an exercise room. It has fancy equipment and dumbbells up to 10kg. Bodybuilders will not find this facility useful.

4. Price: Moevenpick Hotel is expensive, but all good hotels in Amsterdam are expensive. I've stayed in a few hotels at the same price range. Moevenpick Amsterdam is by far the best by a long shot.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wupohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We spent 3 nights at the Movenpick Amsterdam hotel in mid-October. Previous reviews of this hotel are spot on.
If you arrive at Central Station and plan to walk to the hotel, exit out the back (towards the water), cross the road and turn right. You will see the hotel as you take a leisurely (10-15 minute) walk along the water. If you plan on taking the 25 tram, exit the front of the station and turn left. Tram 25 departs from the end of the station. We found it easier to disembark the tram at the second stop (going past the hotel) as you did not need to cross the road or walk the ramp. Also, the hotel runs a shuttle service to the station every thirty minutes (hour and half hour) dropping off at the loading area at the back of the station. This is by request and it does not operate if no one is coming from the hotel, but we were able to catch a ride back to the hotel by waiting for the shuttle one day. Definitely use the shuttle to the station as an alternative to walking or the tram. Tram tickets are good for two hours.
The staff at this hotel is superb. Very friendly, willing to assist with any questions and there is an adequate number of people in the lobby. We arrived early (8:00am) and knew our room was not ready. The cordial desk clerk gave us keys to the fitness center so we could shower, change clothes and then check our luggage prior to heading into the city.
Stopped back after 3:00 pm and our room was ready for us on the 17th floor.
Our room overlooked the city and harbor. Marvelous view with boats coming and going, cruise ships docking and the lights of the city. We enjoyed a bottle of wine, great Dutch cheese and crackers in the room each evening just to take in the view. As others have mentioned, the rooms are basic but comfortable. In room safe, refrig, tea and coffee packets provided. Nice size modern bathroom with tub/shower. I still am trying to figure out the crazy half glass shower wall as each time I used the shower the bathroom floor ended up wet. Could use an upgrade on the locker room quality towels.
Bed was comfortable but surprised there were no mattress pads. Duvets were o.k. Heat/AC is easily controlled on wall thermostat. TV had many stations in Dutch but a few English speaking stations as well.
Lobby has two free computers with internet connections and printer for those who do not want to haul a laptop.
Spent our time visiting sites in Amsterdam, a day trip to Harlem (great/charming city) and walking the canals. If you want a great dining experience, have the staff make a reservation at the Fifteen restaurant. Fifteen is located in walking distance from the hotel and was started by Jamie Oliver, The Naked Chef, in late 2004. Fun environment, great food and wine and pleasant young staff.
Overall, we would highly recommend the Movenpick to anyone looking for a nice hotel, close to the city central with a great staff.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank EaganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Fantastic hotel, go for the executive room if possible. Friendly staff, great breakfast and close to the centre of Amsterdam but far enough away for a restful nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fibo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,119 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#40 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,937 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £111 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing