We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Movenpick and Amsterbike - A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #50 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Movenpick and Amsterbike - A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Due some unforeseen changes in our travel plans, we needed a hotel in Amsterdam for a couple of nights right away. We had never heard of Movenpick but it was the cheapest on the list that didn't look like a dive. So we took a chance and booked it. It turned out to be a very upscale business hotel with plenty of amenities, very well appointed rooms and excellent service all around. My only complaint would be the breakfast buffet, which is bad to say the least and expensive at €23 and should be skipped. The hotel is also about a 25 minute walk from Centraal Station, but there is also a tram station not too far.

Another pleasant surprise was Amsterbike, a bike rental place in the garage right under the hotel. The rates were very reasonable (€20 for two days) and I got a nice new bike that looked like a regular Amsterdam bike, not like the usual tourist rental bike. The owner was very friendly and suggested a couple of tours.

  • Liked — Upscale, clean, stylish
  • Disliked — a bt far from city center
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chitown67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,249
    2,216
    541
    172
    83
See reviews for
1,087
2,673
216
1,162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Although not located in the centre of Amsterdam, the hotel is easy to access by tram, 1/2 hourly free shuttle bus, taxi or on foot. It is only a single tram stop or EURO 7 taxi ride to Centraal.

The out of town location means you get a lot more for your money- we paid about £110 per night which is excellent value for the facilities. We didn't have breakfast but chose to head into town. The concierge recommended an excellent place for breakfast just off Dam square.

The reception and bar staff are very helpful, polite and attentive. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The bar and reception area are also well decorated, attractive spaces.

  • Liked — Staff, value
  • Disliked — Out of town- but good value as a result
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InTheSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

This hotel is really quite lovely by most US, UK or European standards and was a pleasure to stay at. The only negative was the location, but the positives far outweighed this and we would definitely stay here again. In fact we immediately booked it upon returning to Amsterdam the following week.

Positives:

Rooms and beds:
The rooms are a great size, and well designed for comfort.
We thought the beds were extremely comfortable, nice and firm – rather than many of the European beds one tends to sink into and wake up with back pain. Bedding was not top of the line like some other major hotel chains, but perfectly comfortable and very clean. The window seat/couch allowing you to gaze out on the great views was very well placed. I imagine every hotel room must have a good view at this hotel. The rooms had every typical amenity –safe, coffee maker, complimentary water, fridge, iron. The best part for us was the extremely thick door which killed all noise from the hallway. The rooms are built to isolate you away from noise.

Bathrooms:
Wonderful. Thoroughly modern, with great amenities, fantastic hot water, and nice water pressure. Even better, they were always cleaned impeccably. The only thing I would change would be the towel quality.

Lobby: Adequate and modern. There was ice water, apples or various treats available each day at the reception. Nice touch usually found with Moevenpick. (Now if they could get the staff to smile more....)

Internet: Free wireless access in rooms! What more could one ask for!


Negatives:

Staff: While some of the staff were very helpful and nice most seemed cold and unfriendly. Smiling did not seem to be an option. We spent a long time arguing with one such staff member that we would not be paying an additional “fee” on top of our priceline fees. He was adamant in wanting to charge us a nightly fee “unique to Moevenpick” that priceline and “some customers” simply “cannot understand.” The level of condescension toward us could not have been made more clear in this conversation. Needless to say, as per our priceline agreement, we did NOT pay any additional fees.

Location and Access: This is really the only major flaw with this hotel. You definitely cannot walk from this hotel to central Amsterdam – you must take the tram. It comes very regularly but not in front of the hotel. In fact getting to and from the tram stop was quite irritating. You have to either cross a dangerous highway-like street to get to the hotel, or use an overpass that actually takes you to another building -and because of the crazy construction obstructing the way to the front doors, you have two choices – going up a long series of stairs to a platform and then down another series to get to the hotel doors, or walking all the way around the construction. Either way we always found ourselves nearly run over by the bicyclists that use this street while attempting to quickly cross it – and then trying to choose the best route to the hotel. Were the other merits of this hotel less, the location issues would have caused me to give it a lower rating. It is the only reason I am not giving this hotel a rating of 5.

  • Liked — Rooms, bathrooms, quiet and cleanliness
  • Disliked — location and some of the staff
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Matars_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2008

A clean and ultramodern building, the Moevenpick Hotel was a great place to stay in Amsterdam. The rooms are smaller than your average hotel of the same price, but very nicely furnished, with comfortable beds and a great view of the city. A downside was the frosted glass door on the bathroom, which did not shut tight and offered limited privacy. The breakfast, a buffet, was also a bit pricey at 23 Euros. But it was esthetically pleasing, the staff were all very friendly, and the concierge was extremely helpful in booking restaurant reservations, ordering taxis or giving directions. The hotel is also a short walk from Central Station and the Red Light District. I think it's normally pricey, but we got a good deal on Travelocity.
In the parking garage under the hotel is a bicycle shop called Amsterbike. You can rent a "granny bike" - a comfortable and modern two-wheeler - from the friendly shop owner and cycle all over the city, which is the best way to enjoy Amsterdam. The shop also offers city and country tours, but I was there out of season and missed them (though they do offer pre-booked group tours). No matter - you can grab a map of things to see from the shop owner and enjoy them at your leisure. Or, pick and choose what you want to see, and spend the rest of the day just exploring on your own. I really can't express enough that this is the best way to get around and see the sights of Amsterdam.

  • Liked — The modern architecture
  • Disliked — The bathroom door
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheWheelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Spouse and I spent 3 nights in late October at the Movenpick and the view from the 14th floor was spectacular. It was our birthday celebration and they left a Best Wishes Birthday note, a box of cookies and a 72% chocolate bar for us. Very nice.

The reviews here are spot on with comfort zones that will please Americans and English speakers, so I won't repeat them. Seems we heard more English than Dutch while visiting.

The one down side to this visit was taking the first shower. I couldn't figure out the water spout switch between the tub and shower head. As I was bending over the faucets, I inadvertantly used the right handed control which controls the hot/cold water and not the direction of the water. What happened next is that scalding hot water fell from the shower head and burned my back and feet. My spouse had to come in and turn the water off because I was screaming in pain, nearly slipping on the wet floor from the lack of a shower curtain. It took over 30 minutes to recover from the burn and I had marks on my back the rest of the day. I don't understand why scalding water is allowed to the guest rooms or why they insist on these new fangled switches with no instructions on which way to turn them for a shower or tub filling.

The second negative is that we had breakfast in the restaurant at 9am the first morning which was 23 euros each and the hot food was cold which is obscene for the price. Everything was self serve, so the price is way out of the reality of 'typical breakfast service'. We didn't return for another meal.

We hope to revisit Amsterdam someday and we will probably select this hotel to stay in again only if we can get decent room rates. The prices for this hotel were way over the top but considering it is a newer hotel, I guess it's justified.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Price and Scalding Water in Shower
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MuppetExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschlander
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We had looked forward to stay there,when we arrived there was nobody to offer any help with our bags as porters seemed uninterested.Receptionist was very kind.After we were checked in,we picked up our luggage and went towards lifts and again no reaction from porters who were looking on internet.Room was nice,good quality furnishings,comfortable beds.TV had no music channels like Viva or MTV available,strange but no big deal.
Internet also kept dragging and disconecting from time to time,when we called reception we were informed that there is a problem and that`s all they knew.Breakfast was good but then we noticed that following days some items were not available,and people who clear tables try to get you out of there as soon as possible.Have stayed in Movenpicks before but this one lacks the standards and passion that the rest of Movenpick hotels has.Seems like staff there has no motivation or interest I am not talking about everybody but the ones we noticed.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Deutschlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BocaFlorida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Walk or one tram stop from the central rail station. Has free shuttle to/from train station.Over looks the
water. Got it for $ 115.00 a night on Priceline. Next to cruise ship terminal.

Brand new hotel in perfect condition. FREE internet and business center.

Went up late and had ice cream sundae at hthe restaurant.

  • Liked — Newness
  • Disliked — price of breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#30 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,879 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
5,036 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#42 of 368 in Amsterdam
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing