We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Despite the Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #49 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edmonton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Despite the Location”
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Out of 6 hotels we stayed in during our trip, the Moevenpick was the highlight. Since we were only staying one night, we were upgraded to the executive floor, so I’m not sure if all the rooms in the hotel are similar to ours. The room was excellent; very stylishly and tastefully decorated, comfortable, and clean. The room was air-conditioned and had complimentary wifi. The view over the harbour looking at central Amsterdam was absolutely amazing. Definitely a room worthy of the hotel’s 5-star claim. We booked through Priceline, so the room was excellent value considering the price.

From desk staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel offers a free shuttle to Amsterdam Centraal Station every half-hour. This was very convenient, although Amsterdam Centraal is a quick 12-15 minute walk if you decide to skip the shuttle.

The only downside to this hotel is the location; while still centrally located, there is not much of anything near the hotel in terms of restaurants and shops. If you don’t want to eat at the hotel restaurant or the café in the concert hall next door, you’ll have to walk or take the tram or shuttle to nearer Amsterdam Centraal to find anything. This isn’t a huge issue if the weather is decent, but in the cold or rain it could be an issue since much of that walk is quite exposed to the elements.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robs4219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,148
    2,158
    526
    166
    82
See reviews for
1,023
2,602
207
1,145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This hotel is stunning. The rooms are very spacious, and offer you views to die for. The food was also excellent. You are only 5 min from central station and the hotel has a free shuttle service to the central station and the tram is also right in front of the hotel. This hotel was quite, peaceful, in excellent condition since it was just built 5-6 years ago. The restaurant serves excellent food and customer service is top of the line. The only issue I had was that the blow dryer provided in the room was broken and the hotel did not have extra ones to replace the broken one with. So, for the four days we stayed there I could not do my hair. That would be my only recommendation for management and is to make sure you they have extra blow-dryers. I would still give this hotel a rating of excellent, even with the small blow-dryer issue.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MefoandMeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

location-hotel shuttle to central station within minutes; open view. Housekeeping inconsistent quality. Understaffed especially in restaurant and front desk during peak hours. Broadband speed quite slow. Executive Lounge very private. Room amenities sufficient. Complimentary Nespresso and good selection of teas make the room welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirchHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

This hotel includes itself with other hotels claiming to be part of the 'city center.' Technically it may be. However, this particular hotel is a bit remote (on the fringe of the City Center). It is reasonalbe close to the main train station. A 15 minute walk. Mostly unprotected from weather. There is a hotel shuttle that runs every 30 minutes from/to train station. Also a city tram/train. Walking is quickest. But it is a 15+ walk to reach most all areas of Amsterdam. That is why you may have read complaints from others about hotel not being in the City Center. Again, I would say it is on the fringe.
What a wonderful hotel. I avoid giving Excellent scores. To me Excellent means I received services far greater than expected. Rare!!! We had an11th floor corner room over looking water/train station/amsterdam. Closing, I recommended this hotel to some friends. The best price they could get was no where close to what I paid. Hence, the perfect 5 for Value.
My only complaint is that the bathroom door is frosted glass. When someone is in the bathroom the bathroom light brightens the rest of the room.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isle 'n Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

This was as expected a neat and a clean hotel with everything functioning punctually. Moevenpick is a Swiss-owned chain - even though this one is in Netherlands.

The rooms were very clean, concierge (especially Daniel) was very helpful.

The only nitpick is that the service at the restaurant was very slow - the food was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto,Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We had a 4 day stay at the Moevenpick Amsterdam during a trip across western Europe. The hotel was the best hotel we stayed at and the best price (Through Priceline) Service was friendly, the room was cleaned daily. Shuttle Service was convenient. There is a tram stop across the street that will take you to central station. Otherwise its a 10-15 minute walk. The room service was always available, Decently priced compared to other hotels and we were never disappointed with the quality of food. We also had free wireless internet, a service we paid up to 20 euros for at other hotels

The hotel bar was very nice, It was open 24 hours during the weekend of our stay. Front desk staff were also great. One even gave us his pack of cigarettes when we were out and all local stores were closed.

I would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

There's a lot to be said for efficiency and this was efficient. The views were fantastic. I recommend that you ask for a room facing back towards the city as its more interesting. It's good that you can open the window even though it's airconditioned . The crucial thing is that it is some way to walk from the main commercial centre around Centraal Station and this walk could seem rather desolate in winter. It is right next door to the new concert hall and quite close to the fantastic public library. Breakfast is expensive but there is a Subway in the same block serving the nearby office buildings. Also in the same block is the passenger ship terminal. The concierges run a shuttle service to the station and the tram also stops outside.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballyglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#30 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,415 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing