We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, stylish and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #53 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Stayed here for 1 night while passing through Amsterdam. I previously lived just outside of Amsterdam and was not too familiar with hotels (having been a resident) I am glad I chose the Moevenpick. The hotel is very new and stylish, the bar downstairs serves a large menu of cocktails and drinks. The room had a great view of the city and had a couch which was nice to sit and read.

The decor of the hotel is very modern and all common areas are kept spotlessly clean. My one gripe- the lobby is quite small and it can seem like the concierge and desk staff are staring you down as you walk though- a bit overbearing for my tastes.

The hotel also has underground parking which is very convenient (and rare to find in central Amsterdam).

I would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassportandVisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,509 - 4,515 of 6,582 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2009

friendly staff, spacious room, beautiful breakfast. Close to everything. A bit of a walk around the canal but they offer free transfers during day

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mons11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Just visited the Movenpick Hotel for a two night stay as a birthday treat and it was brilliant. After a harrowing start, nearly missing our flight i was so pleased that on arrival early at the hotel the receptionist checked us into our room and we could start to relax.
All the staff were extremely friendly and professional and very helpful. The room was clean and stylish with a fabulous view. The barman was hilarious although i dont think he ment to be but it was a pleasure after a long walk around Amsterdam. The tram conveniently stopped opposite the hotel so access to Centraal Station was really good.
Chocolates and biscuits with a birthday card in our room was a lovely touch.
Overall a very good standard of hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

A great newer hotel with an easy walk to downtown. The tram station is only one block away and the walk to town is only ten minutes. Modern large rooms with great views of the city. Large bathroom. Refrigerator in room.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We stayed here for a weekend city break to Amsterdam. We had a room on 18th floor with a great view. The location is a bit of a walk from the hustle and bustle of the city centre but we were very glad of this because we were able to get away from the craziness when we had enough. The staff in the hotel are wonderful and very helpful. There is free internet access in the lobby. The shuttle to the train station was also very useful to save those tired feet in the evening. A few people have mentioned the high cost of breakfast. This applies to the restaurant. If you order room service the prices are quite reasonable €5/6 for a la carte main course of eggs and no service charge - this is quite unique!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublingirlabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

This hotel exceeded our expectations. A fantastic room on the 18th floor therefore we had an amazing view. After booking we telephoned the hotel and asked if it was possible to have a waterside view- they were very accommodating. The hotel is a 10 min walk from the city centre but it runs a free shuttle service as so as long as you're booked on there's not extra walking involved. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was luxury with bath robes and underfloor heating. Cleanliness was exceptional and we didn't hear another person the whole time we were there. It's apparent that it's a business hotel but there are plenty of tourists there. We did treat ourselves to breakfast one morning although I would say this is the only negative-it's very expensive at 23 euros each! However, it was very tasty and a lovely restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeanneEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

my wife and i stayed here while competing in the amsterdam marathon,and it really made our weekend.the hotel was fabulous,the room was superb,clean and modern,in fact it was that good,we even stayed in and watched strictly come dancing instead of going out.the hotel is situated a bit off the beaten track,but the trams run from outside the hotel every ten minutes,if you can figure out how to open the tram door when it stops.the only gripe we had was the price of breafast,at £46 for the two of us,we opted for the tram down to the local lidl.the bar was relaxing and the service was excellent.the bar staff are also very observant,as we found to our cost when we accidentally left without paying! if you book the free shuttle into town,make sure you are on time,and not 3 minutes late as we were,as they dont hang around.all in all its a fabulous hotel,and we would reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithwhiteley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#32 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,045 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,283 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £126 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing