We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and clean hotel close to centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #48 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern and clean hotel close to centre”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed there for 2 nights in August 2010, chose this hotel due to reviews and preferred a hotel that was more confortable for the short stay and away from the hustle and bustle of the centre. The hotel location is just a bit out of the main shopping and nightlife area of Amsterdam but well within walking distance. About 10-15mins walk who wasn’t too bad, the hotel also provides a shuttle service from the main train station every 30mins, it’s worth booking it before arriving as it

The rooms are pretty well equipped and clean, the hotel being pretty new so all the item are still in good condition, room size is pretty good too as we had 3 people in our room and didn’t feel cramped at all. There is also free wifi in the rooms so checking up on emails or where to eat isn’t a problem.

The staff all spoke good English and helpful, wasn’t too impressed with the concierge staff. Not too friendly, wasn’t too helpful when enquiring about leaflets on excursion in the lobby. But they seem to be more than happy to provide service with a smile if you’re a female!!

Overall this is a good hotel close enough to enjoy the city but not too close that you can’t get a good night sleep, transportation is very convenience by tram, walking or taxi.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gecentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,085
    2,124
    515
    163
    80
See reviews for
996
2,558
205
1,123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (933)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Just returned from a stay at the Movenpick during the recent Sail Festival. Hotel was the ideal location for this event.

Hotel is only about a 15 min walk from Centraal Station. Alternatively, there is a tram stop just across the road from the hotel and the hotel also offers a free shuttle bus service to Centraal Station every half an hour.

Was upgraded on arrival to a junior suite, which was a nice surprise. Room was good and staff were both friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Dear Mr. Fair,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam. Also, thank you for your kind words concerning our location and hotel in general. We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel, before or during the next Sail event. Assuring you of our very best attention at all times.

With kind regards,
Albert Rouwendal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stigs17
Level Contributor
126 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed two nights on the 16th floor.

Pros: Gorgeous rooms are congruent with the elegant lobby. Met with welcoming letter from hotel GM, a very nice touch. Comfortable beds, modern furniture, stylish artwork and a (small) plasma TV highlight the room, which is also a good size for Amsterdam. Great views of the harbor from almost any floor. Breakfast buffet was superb, with an impressive variety of hot and cold items. Away from the main road, there is no exterior noise to contend with. Oversized, well-lit bathroom with a large mirror, good shower pressure with immediate hot water. Top-quality toiletries, as one would expect here. Two fast internet PCs in the lobby with free internet and printing services was definitely appreciated. Nice card insert concept upon room room entry to activate lights; this energy preservation initiative should be adopted in North America. For a fast meal, there's a Subway restaurant about 200m east of the hotel.

Cons: Key card given upon arrival to room did not work. After 36 hours up and a long flight, this was annoying. Office chair and sinking sofa in the room were not terribly comfortable. Quality of staff is hit and miss, though the front line staff are evidently well-trained. Most working the breakfast were cold and indifferent. Upon check-in, they will try to sell you upgraded rooms; I felt the Glengarry Glen Ross 'ABC' mentality was pervasive here, and somewhat deceptive. For example, rooms with a "fully stocked bar" actually receive two cans of coke and two Heinekens for the entire duration of your stay, which is worth about $5 U.S., so be warned. For non-Europeans, you will find stepping in/out of the elevated shower rather awkward, but get used to it in Europe.

Unsure: Hard to assess the effectiveness of the soundproofing as I never saw anyone on my floor.

Overall, a pleasant experience with a couple areas for improvement.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stigs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to share such detailed comments. We sincerely regret the inconsistency of service that you encountered during your recent stay with us. Normally our mini bars in the Suites or Executive Rooms are stocked with 2 beers, 1 cola light, 1 coca cola, 1 orange juice, 1 apple juice, 1 water and 1 sparkling water. Unfortunately this was not the case during your stay. Luckily it did not influence the rest of your stay with us.
This valuable feedback strives us to further improve our quality and consistency of service and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you back in order to demonstrate it on the occasion of your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Albert Rouwendal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volos, Greece
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My family (husband and three adult children) and my friends family ( 9 people in total )stayed in this certainly 4 stars hotel..
Most of the tripadvisor members have pointed out the spacious rooms , breathtaking view , sumptuous breakfast and of all them are right !!We enjoyed all these services in a bargain price , since we have made our four rooms resrvation two months in advance and we had a '' stay 3 nights and pay 2 '' breakfast included!!
The problem is the hotel policy related to staff unfriendly attitude !!
Every member of the staff was in her / his position to help you , but the majority of them were so stiff and cold !!
Another problem was the issue with the card : they blocked in our Mastercard an amount 50% higher than the payment , in advance , for security reasons !!!
That means , in our case , two thousand euros !! this was outrageous!!
As far as parking , I appreciate info in Movenpick site about the parking area close to the hotel , beacause the hotel parking is very expensive.
The breakfast area is too small for such a big hotel , always crowded .The staff were trying their best to keep it clean and fill empty plates .
The distance from Central station is 10 minutes walng and Dam square 20 minutes walking .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyriaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We chose the Movenpick after looking through dozens of hotel and vacation rental choices. Don't know how some of the others would have turned out, but we were very happy with this choice. This was somewhat of a compromise in that we were thinking about staying in one of the canal front hotels in the center of town, but decided ultimately to go for a more modern room with the accompanying amenities.

It's only one tram stop away from the Central Station, and the trams run quite frequently. We never waited more than a few minutes. While you can't just walk out of the hotel and be on a busy pedestrian street, you also don't have to put up with the accompanying noise and congestion.

We paid about $150 per night for a pretty good sized room, one king and one sleeper sofa. Free wifi was a plus, but our deal didn't come with breakfast, which would have been nice. There's a hotel shuttle service to the train station, which we took advantage of when we left, as we had some bulky luggage.

Room was nicely furnished with modern touches throughout. A pleasant place to rest your head after a long day out in the city.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siam Rep
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

when i arrived, the room was never vacuumed and there were hair from the previous guests in the bed. the drinking glasses were filthy. and they made me wait for it to be cleaned instead of being given a different room. very unprofessional.
on a rainy day they run out of umbrellas. my key card did hardly ever work and i had to do runs back to the lobby all the time.
on sunday the whole lobby of the hotel was transformed into a huge storage area. very ugly. the staff was definitely not very courteous or helpful. higly unprofessional.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peter_90212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We would like to apologize on the less than satisfactory housekeeping issues as well as the lack of courtesy you experienced from our staff.

We have reported the hair to our linen company. It does not come from a previous guest however the clean linen should have been better checked by our housekeeping personnel. The hotel was booked to capacity during the period of your stay which explains that we could not offer you an alternative room at the time and had to request a room attendant to check the room. All umbrellas were indeed already in use due to the bad weather, we can have up to 800 guests in the hotel and do not keep 800 umbrellas.

Concerning the luggage, the hotel had to face an unusual request for luggage storage from an unusual amount of early arriving guests as well as guests not leaving Amsterdam right away after checking out. We do apologize for the inconvenience, luggage have been moved to a banquet room at a later stage, the hotel tries to satisfy all requests for storage, even on busy days, and that day this resulted in an unsightly scene in the lobby. We have taken the needed measures to prevent that in the future.

We have forwarded your comments to the staff with regards to your appreciation on service in general although we would value a more detailed description on their lack of courtesy. On a last note our magnetic cards get deactivated in contact with mobile phones or magnets, sometimes in wet environments, which could explain why you had to re-activate them.

Hopefully this answers your comments, please do not hesitate to contact us on your next stay, we will make sure to make up for this negative experience.

With kind regards,
Albert Rouwendal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool, merseyside
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

great hotel by the port terminal15min walk from central station. they offer mini bus pick up and drop off to and from central station..geat breakfasts.good bar. located in a quiet area. rooms are good, clean and comfy. staff are very friendly.
amsterdam is amazing. would visit again and stay here

amsterbikes are located below the hotel and are great for guided bike tours and hiring

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oovavoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#30 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing