We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More then we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #49 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More then we expected”
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Traveled to Amsterdam with my sister and her 1.5 years old baby.
Chose this hotel because it was new and modern, free internet, and a pretty good deal.

The rooms were big and clean, the staff were incredibly helpful and kind, the breakfast was very good.

The location is not that good, but the hotel offer a free shuttle to the central station, and trams are available just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,198
    2,189
    532
    169
    83
See reviews for
1,051
2,637
209
1,158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (957)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

I stayed here for a business meeting at the end of Nov to early December.

Overall it was ok (average).

Location wise it's not really ideal, there are other hotels in the heart of Amsterdam that you can stay at. This hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Central Train station which can get VERY cold during the winter. Because of it's akward location some nights there arent taxis ready and one night we had to wait over 30 minutes for a taxi to come to go out. The rooms are small (in comparison to Marriotts and Hiltons)- I asked for a double room and had a room with two twin beds. The rooms are clean. The shower has this funky half door. In the mornings there wasnt alot of hot water so I had to get up earlier to get warm water.

There is a buffet breakfast and lunch and it's basically the same thing for lunch every day (and breakfast but most places offer the same thing every morning).

Overall the rooms were ok but not worth the rate they charged us. Next time I am in Amsterdam I am going to pick a hotel in the heart to make it easier to get around.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noush01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerAmsterdam, Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, 20 December 2010
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments. One of the remarks on your stay in the Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam is its location not being perceived as central - city centre. The city centre is quite broad and indeed we are not located on the dam square or Kalverstraat. Our hotel is situated in the Oostelijk Havengebied area, a new and upcoming area in the city centre with great views, location on the water’s edge and designer shops and restaurants. It is a less vibrant area than the dam square but therefore an ideal location to come home after a long day walking around and visiting shops or musea. It is an easy reachable location for guests coming by train from the Central Station, by tram (25 or 26) or by car. As an extra service we provide a free shuttle service to the Central Station every half hour (on request). We do apologize for the possible lack of explanation of these services.

With kind regards,
Albert Rouwendal - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Excellent modern hotel close to the central station. we chose this hotel for a city break of 4 days. we got a deal of 2 nights + 1 night free which was superb. in addition the hotel offered free breakfast and free Internet so we could not hope for more. The hotel offers a free shuttle service every 30 minutes to the central station which we found very usefull. it also served by Trams 25 and 26, so you can go directly to the Dam square and other areas. the room was modern and nice, the view of the Canal is great and the service was excellent. we would highly recommend this hotel if you find a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yossi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I took a last minute internet special via TripAdvisor and felt that the hotel did not deliver the commitments made on their web page and booking agents. I took their "Executive Suite" option and was promised an "Executive Breakfast" which turned out to be my choice of coffee or orange juice. Additional 23E for the real breakfast. I was also promised a complimentary stocked mini-bar - the fridge was empty... It is a tram ride to anywhere open at night. The "Free Wi-Fi Internet" turned out to be throttled. Basic email OK, but Hulu and YouTube was a non-starter. I will keep looking for my Amsterdam home away, this was not it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCountryKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

The Amsterdam Moevenpick is a nice hotel, business class style. Our room on the 14th floor faced West, which was a breathtaking view. We booked a twin room. Was pleased to get a sofa like bench for sitting on and putting our personal items. The beds were just ok. We felt they could have been more comfortable. The bathroom was nice and bright. Only issue was the temperature, where the water would feel hot, then cold, the hot, etc.
The breakfast buffet, at 23 euros I believe, was wonderful. Lots of variety, including an omelette station and various kinds of hot breakfast meats. When we arrived, only the main seating area was opened, so we had a bit of a wait in finding a place to sit for two.
We did not have a car so we took the tram to/from Centraal. Walking to the station in the winter was not our ideal situation, but we can definitely see this being a good option during
better weather. Being our 3rd visit to Amsterdam, we would prefer to be near the city center, Dam Square, as there are restaurants and shops right at the doorsteps. Amsterdam is such a fun and beautiful city that we would rather be close to the action and the quaint canals.

We would definitely consider staying again at this hotel, but clearly it would not be among our first choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejava2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed with a large group at the Hotel and when we went down to breakfast it was extremely difficult to find a place to sit because staff had not cleared away from previous diners and this was very frustrating. People were milling around the food and there did not seem to be sufficient staff to ask directions of what to do.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrieluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

This was a very pleasant hotel. It does, of course,depend what you're after.If you want the full clogs-and-windmill experience in the centre of the city, this is not for you.I like these things in the daytime. However,between the hours of 11pm and 9 am I want chrome-and glass surroundings, with a king-sized bed, large room and a good shower. And this is what you get.
The hotel is on the water (and the Queen Elizabeth was moored alongside for part of our stay).We were on the 18th floor with terrific views.The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the station (from which nearly all trams leave) and two trams stop right by the hotel -one goes into the city and one just to the station. The hotel shuttle will pick you and your bags up from the station when you arrive and return you when you leave.
A ,peaceful, convenient and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#97 of 367 in Amsterdam
71 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#25 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing