We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place - Romantic & Charming”
Review of Prinsenhuis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prinsenhuis
Ranked #100 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 July 2006

Highly recommended, we would go back for sure...

We recently spent 4 beautiful nights in the Mandarin apartment - perfect for a couple. As promised, the kitchen was stocked with breakfast foods and equipped enough to prepare full meals. There was a full stove/oven/micro, full sized fridge and dishwasher - all state of the art. The grocery store is was right around the corner so getting those extras was easy.

The description on the web site "Understated" the elegance of this apartment. The decor of this apartment is exquisite and as the name suggests everything had a Mandarin tone, right down to the towels and linens. The owner, Brick, was very attentive as well restocking breakfast items immediately. He even ran out and bought some fans, as it was unusually hot when we were there.

There is a lovely little courtyard for your morning coffee or if you prefer, you can swing open the front windows and enjoy the views of the canal.

We also spent 3 nights at the Grand Soffitel and Prinsenhuis wins, hands down. So if you're spending anytime in Amsterdam, forget the overpriced hotels and check out Prinsenhuis.

Ted & Sandra

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheMurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 103 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
13
Reviewed 21 June 2006

I really can't say enough about my experience at this fine establishment. The apartment's location is absolutely perfect. Around the corner is a well stocked grocery store where you can fill your state-of-the-art fridge with everything you'll need for your stay. Overlooking a beautiful canal, the living room is a great place to relax and sip on a glass of wine while you watch people enjoying their canal rides. There is nothing average about Prinsenhuis.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2006

We have returned from a week at the Prinsenhuis a month ago. The "Mandarin" apartment was our happy finding in terms of location service and lovely hosts - we have never experienced such friendly service before. It was so divine that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the room. In fact we didn't bother ourselves with touristy activity, having been before here and just did a few trips to the museums to see Caravaggio and Rembrandt exhibit. We’ve being able to buy tickets on Internet what helps us not to spend the whole day in line, waiting to get in, and printed it at the printer/fax machine located in our room. Viva technology! I am recommending to all my friends to stay in Prinsenhuis and now I am afraid after my advertising I could not be able to rent it again …

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MusaDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York City, NY.
12
Reviewed 5 May 2006

Just spent a really nice week staying in the "coral" apt. at the Prinsenhuis. I was very pleasently surprised by how nicely the apartment had been renovated. How warm and welcoming the hosts, Brick and Lena were. Also, i was continually impressed at all the little details they thought of in relation to their guests' comforts. I would highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to Amsterdam. The location was completely conveniant and beautiful, and the apartment was always a pleasure to return back to. The hosts went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, and we really did appreciate it.
Thanks again,
Paul.

Stayed: April 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2006

Just returned after a fantastic long weekend at the Mandarin appartment in Prinsenhuis.

It is a beautiful modern appartment in a wonderful location. A short and scenic walk takes you up to the Rijksmuseum, wonderful delis and restuarants abound within 10 mins walk (if you want to eat in or out) and the tram stop is just around corner if you want to go further afield.

But what really sets this apart is the wonderful welcome from the owners and the concern they have in ensuring that you have a great stay.

Highly recommended. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fin144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2006

WOW!!!! Prinsenhuis was the best place I've ever stayed in Amsterdam! On a quiet tree-lined cobble-stoned street with big windows right on the canal, and walking distance to the center of everything. In fact, it is in the center of everything. The apts are tastefully modern and clean with a luxurious bathroom, bedroom, living room and kitchen. All first class! And the proprietors Brick and Elena were more than helpful. As I said, it was my best stay in Amsterdam by far over 25 years.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tabladaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco
13
Reviewed 5 April 2006

Last autumn, my wife, new born baby and I had the great good fortune to spend a week at Prinsenhuis, in beautiful Amsterdam.
Not only was the apartment luxurious, lovely and convenient, but the Ogdens treated us like special friends from overseas. The apartment combines ultra modernity with a feeling of antiquity and timelessness. Super comforatble beds, great bathroom, high tech coffee machines and digital cable TV!
We hope to return again and again.

Stayed: September 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,443 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 343 in Amsterdam
293 reviews
Hostelle
#34 of 253 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,028 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#68 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsenhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhuis

Address: Prinsengracht 967, 1017 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £141 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prinsenhuis 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinsenhuis is a newly renovated 18th century monument canal house, and home to some of the most beautiful and exclusive apartments in Amsterdam. The location is the famous Prinsengracht, situated in the heart of the old city centre. Guests can choose from a number of fully equipped 5 star apartments, provided with everything they need to live and work in luxury. Each apartment offers sublime views over the Prinsengracht canal and picturesque traditional Dutch houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Prinsenhuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing